Verdict Law

判决结果出炉:诽谤罪成立,Peter McCormack负有完全法律责任

判决结果已出:Peter McCormack的言论已构成诽谤罪,他需要为此承担法律责任;此前他在社交媒体上宣称,Craig Wright博士称自己是中本聪的这一行为具有欺诈性。此外,就McCormack发出的所有15篇收到投诉的发言,Wright博士认为其诽谤性的推文严重损害了他在英国的声誉,法官对这一说法表示认可。

对Wright博士来说,这是为自己平反的时刻。自Wright博士2015年以中本聪的身份出现之后,他便一直饱受诋毁和骚扰,McCormack是这一系列反对声音中的主力军。Wright博士不想在社交媒体上与这些批评者们纠缠,而是想在法庭上与他们对线。在法庭上,他可以按照他的想法,以明确、具体的方式为自己辩护——并给McCormack一个选择的机会,要么收回他的言论,要么在法庭上宣誓坚持自己的陈述和立场。

他们还是选择了对簿公堂。法院审判结果已出,该判决结果相当于对Wright博士的最终绝对认可,也是对任何想碰碰运气来质疑他中本聪身份的人的一个警告。

一开始,McCormack似乎等不及要被Wright博士起诉。在诉讼中涉及的一条推文中,McCormack称Wright博士是个骗子,然后问道:“我什么时候会被起诉?” 然而,在提起诉讼后,随着审判的临近,McCormack又失去了勇气。在双方即将通过证据开示来交换他们将在法庭上提供的证据之前,McCormack于最后一刻提出了一项动议,要求推迟交换证据。这一请求遭到了否决,并且,在证据开示结束、双方都已看到了摆出的证据之后,McCormack和他的资助人们都有了答案,他们认为他们将没办法再为这个案子辩护了。

McCormack确实在最后一刻重启了他的这一官司,但辩护力度却大幅减弱了。这位博主不再辩称自己的推文内容是真实的,这一说法本来会为他提供全面有效的辩护,以应对Wright博士的说辞。

尽管Wright大获全胜,但这个结果可能还是会让这位比特币系统的发明者感到失望。这本来是一个让他能够在法庭上与诋毁他的人对线的绝佳机会。在法庭上,他的证据可以得到合理评估——McCormack本人也承认,证据的数量多“疯”了。McCormack放弃了对真相进行辩护,这一决定抢占了先机,使审判的重点转移到Wright博士的声誉是否真的有因为他的推文而受到损害这一问题上。

尽管如此,在看到Wright博士所给出的证据之后,McCormack还是放弃为他的真相进行辩护了,并且他失去了资金支持——这为事情的进展指明了方向。

至于对Wright博士的赔偿,除了已经支付的100,000多英镑的费用外,法官裁定McCormack还应向Wright博士支付1英镑的名义上的损害赔偿金。根据判决,作出名义损害赔偿的主要原因是,法官对于Wright博士提供的据称他因McCormack的诽谤推文而未受邀参加会议的证据尚不确定。因此,尽管承认Wright博士已就McCormack的所有15篇推文表明了自己的观点,但法官仍将损害赔偿金降低至1英镑。

Wright博士患有阿斯伯格综合征这一点是有据可查的,并且在他所出庭的各种法律诉讼中,这件事一直都是争论的焦点。顾虑到美国的陪审团会如何考量他所经受的痛苦,Wright博士在与Kleiman的官司中成功地从专家那里争取到了心理学方面的证据,以证明他的阿斯伯格综合征会影响人们对他的理解。Ami Klin博士提供的证据清楚地表明,Wright博士的病情意味着他的陈述往往会过于精确,这有时会让其他人感到有些困惑。法庭接受了他们的证词,虽然这个问题并没有在英国法庭上被提出来——但鉴于Chamberlain法官对Wright博士所给出的证据的评论,这一点可能是在其必然会提起的上诉中提出的。

下一步便是确定费用:Wright博士已经从McCormack那里收回了近11万英镑的审前费用。至于审判本身,胜诉方通常有权从败诉方那里追讨回全部费用。但是,McCormack对这一说法提出了异议。

接下来他们可能将要面临的是漫长而艰难的上诉程序。尽管Wright博士没有提起任何实质性的上诉,但他似乎很有可能就Chamberlain法官大幅减少损害赔偿金一事提出上诉。

不管怎样,Wright博士能够在McCormack诽谤他为骗子的这一案件中得到完满的裁决,这应该会给他带来一些安慰,同时,这也是对其他潜在攻击者的警告——谎言在法庭上是站不住脚的。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Verdict Law

VERDICT: Peter McCormack liable for defamation on all counts

The verdict is in: Peter McCormack is liable for defamation over his social media campaign claiming that Dr. Craig Wright’s claim to the Satoshi Nakamoto name is fraudulent. Further, the judge agreed with Dr. Wright’s case that McCormack’s defamatory tweets had caused serious harm to his reputation in the United Kingdom with respect of all 15 publications complained of.

For Dr. Wright, it’s a moment of vindication. He has battled against a wave of disparagement and harassment following his outing as Satoshi Nakamoto in 2015, a wave in which McCormack played a sizeable role. Rather than meet these critics on social media, Dr. Wright wanted to face them in court, where he’d be free to defend himself in a definitive, concrete way—and give McCormack the opportunity to either retract his statements or attempt to stand by them under oath and in a courtroom.

That having happened, the verdict amounts to a decisive stamp of approval for Dr. Wright and a warning to anyone who wants to try their luck in attacking his identity as Satoshi Nakamoto.

Initially, McCormack appeared eager to get sued by Dr. Wright. In one of the tweets included in the lawsuit, McCormack called Dr. Wright a fraud before asking: “when do I get sued?” However, after the lawsuit was filed and as the trial drew closer, McCormack lost his nerve. Before the parties were due to exchange the evidence they would be relying on in court via discovery, McCormack filed a last-minute motion to push the exchange back. This was denied, and after discovery concluded and both parties had seen the evidence on the table, McCormack and his funders decided they would no longer be able to defend the case.

McCormack did revive his case at the last minute, but with a vastly reduced defense. The blogger would no longer argue that his tweets were true, which would have provided him a complete defence to Dr. Wright’s claim.

Though a total victory for Wright, the outcome may still be a disappointment for Bitcoin’s inventor. This would have been a prime opportunity to face his disparagers in a court of law where his evidence can be properly assessed—evidence which McCormack himself admitted there was a ‘crazy’ amount of. McCormack’s decision to drop his defense of truth pre-empted that, forcing the trial to focus on whether Dr. Wright’s reputation had really been harmed by his tweets.

Nonetheless, the timing of McCormack abandoning his truth defense and losing his financial backing—coming after having seen Dr. Wright’s evidence—points in one clear direction.

As for reparations toward Dr. Wright, the judge ordered that McCormack is liable to pay a nominal amount of £1 in damages toward Dr. Wright, on top of the more than £100,000 worth of costs already paid. According to the judgment, the chief reason for the nominal damages was the judge’s uncertainty over the evidence Dr. Wright had given over conferences he had allegedly been disinvited from as a result of McCormack’s defamatory tweets. Thus, despite acknowledging that Dr. Wright had made out his case with respect to all 15 of McCormack’s publications, the Judge reduced the damages to £1.

That Dr. Wright has Asperger’s is well-documented and has been a constant point of contention in his various legal battles. Concerned about how his affliction might be perceived by a jury in the United States, Dr. Wright successfully fought to have expert psychological evidence testifying to how his Asperger’s can affect how he is understood admitted in Kleiman v Wright. The evidence, given by Dr. Ami Klin, was clear that Dr. Wright’s condition means that he has a tendency to be over-precise in his statements which sometimes leave others confused. The testimony which was accepted by the court, though the issue was not put before the U.K. court here—but given Justice Chamberlain’s comments regarding Dr. Wright’s evidence, it might be something raised in the inevitable appeal.

The next step is to ascertain costs: Dr. Wright has already recovered almost £110,000 from McCormack in pre-trial costs. As for the trial itself, the prevailing part will generally be entitled to recover their full costs off the loser. However, this presumption is open to challenge by McCormack.

What’s more likely to happen next is a long and arduous appeals process will kick off. Though there is nothing substantive for Dr. Wright to appeal, it seems likely that an appeal relating to Justice Chamberlain’s vast reduction in damages will be forthcoming.

Regardless, that Dr. Wright was able to come away with a complete ruling that Peter McCormack defamed him by calling him a fraud should offer some comfort, and serve as a warning to other potential attackers that lies will not stand up in court.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]