《比特币理论》:关于交易的比特币白皮书第二部分

本周,富有启发性意义的《比特币理论》视频讨论系列将继续回顾最初的比特币白皮书。主持人Ryan X. Charles和Craig S. Wright博士回顾了比特币诞生的时代,经常将那些年的期望与当今的现实(好的和坏的)——进行对比。

与前几集一样,这次的讨论并不仅仅是对白皮书进行逐行解释,而是使用白皮书来激发人们关于比特币背后的哲学的更深入的对话——每个人都在探索的比特币的“为什么”。

为什么我们不是无政府主义者?

第4集涵盖了很多关于比特币(或其他“加密货币”项目)是否一种颠覆现有金融/政府模式的工具,或者是试图与之共存的工具。不管我们希望比特币是守法还是违法,实际上它到底有没有可能存在?

比特币的拥护者是“犯错误的一类人”吗?Charles问道,那么,“做出正确做法的人”在哪里?为什么人们认为中本聪是反银行和反政府的?这些年来,这些旧式的争论是如何演变的?

这一集的大部分内容都是基于“我们将电子货币定义为一系列数字签名”这句话,包括这一概念基于纸质的历史,它为什么重要、为什么有价值,以及为什么改变它会从根本上使比特币无法真正成功。

还有一些关于央行、恶性通货膨胀的讨论,一个受信任的央行是否能发挥与比特币相同的功能(剧透:由于人的本性,它办不到),以及为什么央行之间的竞争以及人们使用的货币单位是有益的。和往常一样,Wright博士也在书中加入了一些鲜为人知的法国的和中国的历史。

“唱反调”

Charles向Wright博士提出了一些白皮书中没有涉及的概念,并询问了原因。其中最重要的是比特币脚本,这是一种目前对于构建基于比特币的复杂服务至关重要的语言,但白皮书中没有提到它。这是后来意识到比特币需要改进的结果,比如对其各种输出进行更好的控制,而不是对每种输出使用不同的格式或交易协议。

此外,鉴于加密货币概念在过去是加密无政府主义者和反政府自由意志主义者的领域,他们是在比特币早期第一批被它吸引的人,这真的令人惊讶吗?

例如,“唱反调”,Charles指出Wei Dai,(b-money的发明者)在白皮书中有所提及——Dai似乎是一个无政府主义者。Wright博士的答案似乎是可信的,但也许在某个时候需要更深入的讨论——他只是在看他们的研究以及“Wei Dai是一个真正优秀的计算机科学家”;20世纪90年代,对加密货币的研究在加密无政府主义者中很受欢迎,但在00年代就停滞不前了,这意味着它是“一个无人涉及、无资金支持的领域”。

但这也是Wright博士如此直言不讳的部分原因,尤其是在过去几年里,他一直在呼吁创造一种可以与法律和金融机构共存的比特币。看到比特币在没有中本聪的情况下不知走向何方,他不得不带来一些现实的东西——即使Bitcoiners不喜欢这样。

Wright博士说:“如果我学会了守口如瓶,我的生活会轻松得多。”他提到了变成公众人物给他个人和家人带来的损失。

这一背景也解释了比特币BSV吸引大型企业和政府用户的策略。当有几个基于比特币的增值业务,这些业务使用基于比特币的代币和单位,而不是BSV单位本身时,它变得势不可挡。如果你愿意,你还可以用BSV来买咖啡。

不要让政府使你歇业

Wright博士指出,如果政府愿意,使比特币停止使用是多么容易。有很多关于比特币“抵制审查”和“不可没收”的宣传,但Wright博士表示,政府仅仅通过关闭交易所、没收域名和资产、控制网关来扼杀比特币是微不足道的。因此,关键是它有一些没人愿意去扼杀的东西,因为它是合规且非常有用的。

这反驳了另一种流行的说法,即通过拥有数百万个小的独立节点来保持比特币的“去中心化”。Wright博士说,在任何系统中,即使是使用权益证明,都有一个自然聚合的过程。

“您可能希望所有这些小家伙(小的独立节点)都在那里,但是那样行不通。 节点总是会出现在数据中心。”

其他人对比特币做出的改变,如SegWit和闪电网络,只是试图“建立混淆层”来服务于其他议程,或者如Charles所说,“试图打破签名链,让比特币更难以追踪、更难以审计。”

Wright博士与往常一样不怕指名道姓。请观看最新一集,找出他们是谁,以及他们为什么会被放在在博士看来觉得丢人的名单里。你会再次听到你以前不知道的事情,找到新的观点,完成比你在最一开始更明智的事情。

想要观看《比特币理论》的前几集,请在YouTube上订阅《比特币理论》频道

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Theory of Bitcoin: The Bitcoin White Paper second section on transactions

The enlightening “Theory of Bitcoin” video discussion series continues this week with another look at the original Bitcoin whitepaper. Hosts Ryan X. Charles and Dr. Craig S. Wright take a look back to the time of Bitcoin’s creation, often contrasting expectations of those years with today’s realities—good and bad.

As with previous episodes, this discussion isn’t simply a line-by-line explanation of the whitepaper, but rather uses the whitepaper to inspire deeper conversation on the philosophies behind Bitcoin—the “why” of Bitcoin that everyone is searching for.

Why aren’t we anarchists?

Episode 4 covers a lot on whether Bitcoin (or any other “cryptocurrency” project) is a tool that subverts existing financial/government models, or seeks to coexist with them. And regardless of what we want Bitcoin to be—law-abiding or law-breaking—is any of it actually possible?

Were Bitcoin’s advocates the “wrong kind of people”? Charles asks, and where were the “right” ones? Why did people assume Satoshi Nakamoto was anti-banks and anti-government? And how have those old arguments evolved over the years?

Much of this episode is based on the sentence “We define an electronic coin as a chain of digital signatures,” including the paper-based history of this concept, why it’s important and why it has value, and why altering it fundamentally changes Bitcoin into something that can’t really succeed.

There’s also some discussion of central banks, hyperinflation, whether a single trusted central bank could perform the same function as Bitcoin (spoiler: it can’t, due to human nature) and why competition between central banks, and the currency units people used, is beneficial. True to form, Dr. Wright also adds some lesser-known French and Chinese history into the mix.

‘Playing devil’s advocate’

Charles challenges Dr. Wright by suggesting a few concepts that aren’t covered in the whitepaper, and asks why. A big one is Bitcoin Script, a language now essential for building complex Bitcoin-based services, but which isn’t mentioned in the paper. This is a result of realizing later on that Bitcoin needed improvements like a better set of controls for its variety of outputs, rather than having a different format/transaction protocol for each.

Additionally, given that cryptocurrency concepts were the domain of crypto-anarchists and anti-government libertarians in the past, is it really surprising that these people were among the first drawn to Bitcoin in its earliest days?

For example, and “playing devil’s advocate,” Charles points out that Wei Dai (inventor of b-money) gets a reference in the whitepaper—and Dai seems to be an anarchist. Dr. Wright’s answers are plausible, but probably warrant a deeper discussion at some point—he was only looking at their research and “Wei Dai is a really good computer scientist”; and research into cryptocurrencies was popular among crypto-anarchists in the 1990s, but had stalled by the early 00s, meaning it was “a no-go, no-fund area.”

But it’s part of the reason Dr. Wright has been so vocal, especially in the past few years, about creating a Bitcoin that could coexist with laws and financial institutions. Seeing the direction Bitcoin was headed without Satoshi Nakamoto, he had to bring a dose of reality—even if Bitcoiners didn’t like it.

“My life would’ve been a lot easier if I’d learned to keep my mouth shut,” he says, noting the cost to him personally and his family by going public.

This background also explains a lot about Bitcoin BSV’s strategy to attract large enterprise and government users. When there are several value-adding businesses built on Bitcoin, using tokens and units built on Bitcoin rather than the BSV unit itself, it becomes unstoppable. And you can still use BSV to buy a coffee, if you want.

Don’t make governments want to shut you down

Dr. Wright points out how easy it would be for governments to shut down Bitcoin, if they wanted. There’s a lot of propaganda around about Bitcoin being “censorship resistant” and “unconfiscatable,” but Wright says it would be trivial for governments to stifle it simply by shutting down exchanges, seizing domains and assets, and controlling gateways. The key, therefore, is having something no-one wants to shut down, because it’s compliant and too useful.

This counters all arguments that keeping Bitcoin “decentralized” by having millions of small individual nodes, another popular myth. There is a natural progression towards aggregation in any system, Dr. Wright says, even when using proof-of-stake.

“You may want all these little guys out there, but it doesn’t work that way. It will always end up in data centers.”

Others’ alterations to Bitcoin, like SegWit and Lightning Network, are only attempts to “build layers of obfuscation” to serve other agendas, or as Charles puts it, “trying to break the chain of signatures to make Bitcoin less traceable, less auditable.”

Dr. Wright, as always, is not afraid to name names. Watch the latest episode to find out who they are, and why they’re in his hall of shame. You’ll once again hear things you didn’t know before, find new perspectives, and finish somewhat wiser than you were at the beginning.

To watch previous episodes of the Theory of Bitcoin, subscribe to the Theory of Bitcoin YouTube channel here.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.