Craig Wright on TBB Special

《The Bitcoin Bridge》特别节目:Craig Wright解决IPv6、区块链集成难题

当大多数人还在琢磨着如何在任何特定时间使用新发布的技术时,发明家们已经在着手他们的下一个大项目了。而nChain首席科学家兼比特币系统创造者Craig S. Wright博士也是如此,在通常情况下,他一般都在创造新专利或是在阅读他5万本藏书中的一本。

在涉及互联网和网络安全等技术时,Wright博士表现出的一个特征是他具备着非凡的远见卓识。Wright博士最近在美国电气与电子工程师协会标准委员会上发表了演讲。该演讲的主题为:IPv6与区块链。

在本期《The Bitcoin Bridge》特别节目中,Wright博士首次分享了他在一个可以决定互联网未来的行业专家小组面前的演讲。主持人Jon Southurst还深入探讨了这位科学家自去年年底在佛罗里达州法院取得历史性胜利以来一直在做些什么。

说到非凡的远见,互联网工程任务组(IETF)早在90年代初就已经开始研究互联网协议第六版(IPv6)了。而当Wright博士还在创建比特币系统的时候,他的脑海中就有了这一系列标准的雏形。

“当我首次发布比特币系统时,讽刺的是,IPv6是该协议的一部分。”他在《The Bitcoin Bridge》上如是说道。“它被剥离开来了,我听了那些人的话,他们告诉我没有人可以管理它,所以目前它存在着安全问题,等等等等。”

事后看来,相信这些人的说法显然是有点失误的。

“我太傻了,我没有想到这些人与我有着不同的议程。”Wright博士说。

这位科学家接着解释了为什么他认为IPv6是与区块链技术配对的合适协议,并列举了多个原因。其中之一是它能够在没有网络地址转换(NAT)的情况下通过防火墙,除非专用网络中的设备发出请求,否则NAT会阻止互联网流量。

另一个原因是IP对IP的转移,他解释说这是比特币系统如何运作、成长和扩容的关键方面之一。Wright博士特别指出了简易支付验证(SPV)的工作原理,这是他在比特币白皮书中所描述的一个概念。

“这并不是说Alice向矿工发送信息,而矿工又将其发送给另一个矿工,后者最终将消息发送给Bob。”Wright博士解释说,“它的意思是Alice直接发送信息给Bob,而Bob和Alice可以进行沟通并设置好他们所需要的任何信息。”

他解释说,在实践中,交易双方可以在更新区块链上已完成的交易之前,就发票达成一致,并交换合约信息。

这种不需要任何中介的场景是决定比特币系统与区块链如何运作的关键概念。

“IPv6在前期会发挥重要作用,它可以使任意数量的机器直接连接。”Wright博士表示,“IPv4在这方面是有问题的,因为虽然IPv4有40亿个IP地址,但实际上其中只有20亿个是可用的。”

“现在基本上都是IPv6了”

虽然IPv6发展得相当早,但Wright博士说,它花了相当长的时间才发展到现在的程度。他指出,谷歌在几年前刚刚举办了IPv6日,而互联网的骨干网络也是在最近才开始向IPv6转移的。

现在,该协议套件终于获得了前所未有的支持与关注。

“现在基本上都是IPv6了。”Wright博士表示,“造成这种情况的原因很多,其中也包括大多数人都没有考虑到的原因。”

nChain首席科学家在IEE面前所讨论内容的一个重要部分是如何使用比特币系统和IPv6,以及如何原生地集成交易。在他的演讲中,Wright博士给出了几个用例作为可以说明集成的可能性的例子。

  • 网络服务器访问

网络服务器可以很容易地集成比特币IP交易功能,以向客户收取访问费用。

  • 本地链接支付

当向您附近或同一本地网络链接上的人付款时,IP交易将会非常有用。

  • IP通讯

该系统可被用于任何类型的通讯,其中包括电子邮件。

  • 公共传输终端

在由电子设备执行自动化任务的场景中,每个电子设备都有一个与之关联的IP地址,直接向IP地址进行比特币支付的概念尤为强大。

总而言之,Wright博士告诉《The Bitcoin Bridge》,他的演讲获得了极高的反响,在场的所有参与者不仅对IPv6与区块链的集成感兴趣,他们还对下一代解决方案感兴趣。

这些“下一代”解决方案包括网状网络、无线网状网络、5G,还记得我们说过的非凡远见吗?参加了Wright博士的演讲的一些公司甚至已经对6G集成感兴趣了,以便在未来有更快的访问速度。

“只有一种协议可以做到这一点。”

当被问及标准委员会对他的建议实际采取行动的可能性有多大时,Wright博士表示,委员会成员们对于集成区块链有着极大的兴趣。

这是因为区块链上有着所有交互的不可篡改的记录以及信息,黑客无法轻易删除这些内容。

“从安全的角度来看,它有很大的意义。”Wright博士解释说,“它在集成物联网、基于工业物联网的设备方面有着很大的意义。”

这位科学家补充道,虽然现在有100多种不同的物联网标准,但人们正在进行的部分工作是尝试集成这些标准,并开始向单一方法论转变。

“就像Wi-Fi和其他方法一样,人们开始向单一的连接方式转变。因此,随着时间的推移,我们将希望看到的是所有这些事物都迁移进来。而我们拥有的好处是,这将带来越来越多的连接,越来越多的访问。说实话,只有一种协议能够做到这一点。”

比特币系统创造者兼nChain首席科学家Craig Wright博士在《The Bitcoin Bridge》上讨论了所有这些话题以及更多内容。您可以在CoinGeek的YouTube频道上观看本期特别节目,查看他面向IEEE的完整演讲,并聆听他对于科技行业中的诋毁者们的确切说法。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Craig Wright on TBB Special

The Bitcoin Bridge Special: Craig Wright tackles IPv6, blockchain integration

While most people are still figuring out how to use newly released technology at any given time, inventors are already working on their next big project. And the same can be said for nChain Chief Scientist and Bitcoin creator Dr. Craig S. Wright, who can usually be found creating new patents or reading one of his 50,000 books.

One trait that Dr. Wright demonstrates is remarkable foresight when it comes to technologies like the internet and cybersecurity. Dr. Wright recently presented before the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Standards Committee. The topic: IPv6 and blockchain.

On this special episode of The Bitcoin Bridge, Dr. Wright shares for the very first time the presentation he gave before a panel of industry experts deciding on the future of the internet. Host Jon Southurst also digs into what the scientist has been up to since his historic win at a Florida court late last year.

Speaking of remarkable foresight, the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) has been working on the Internet Protocol Version 6 (IPv6) as far back as the early 90s. And it is this collection of standards that Dr. Wright had in mind when he was still creating Bitcoin.

“When I first released Bitcoin, ironically, IPv6 was part of the protocol,” he told The Bitcoin Bridge. “It got pulled out, and I listened to people who told me no one can manage it so it’s a security concern at the moment, blah blah blah.” 

In hindsight, trusting these people was apparently a bit of a mistake.

“I was silly enough not to think that these guys had a different agenda to me,” Dr. Wright said.

The scientist then went on to explain just why he believed IPv6 is the appropriate protocol to pair with blockchain technology, citing multiple reasons. One of them is the ability to get through firewalls without Network Address Translation (NAT), which works by blocking internet traffic unless requested by a device within the private network.

Another reason is IP to IP transfer, which he explained is one of the key aspects of how Bitcoin is meant to work, grow, and scale. Dr. Wright specifically pointed out the workings of Simplified Payment Verification (SPV), a concept that he described in the Bitcoin white paper.

“It’s not meant to be Alice sends to the miners who send to another miner who sends eventually to Bob,” Dr. Wright explained. “It’s meant to be Alice sends to Bob, and Bob and Alice can communicate and set up any information that they need.” 

In practice, he explains, the two parties in a transaction can agree on invoices and exchange contract information before updating the blockchain with the completed transaction.

This scenario, which does not require any intermediaries, is a key concept on how Bitcoin and the blockchain work.

“IPv6 was instrumental in that in the early days, allowing any number of machines to connect directly,” Dr. Wright said. “IPv4 is problematic in that because although there are four billion IP addresses in IPv4, only 2 billion of them are actually usable.” 

It’s fairly much all IPv6 now’

While IPv6 developed pretty early, Dr. Wright said it has taken quite a long time for it to get to where it is now. He pointed out that Google held IPv6 day just a few years ago, and it is also fairly recently that the backbone of the internet has started moving towards IPv6. 

Now, the protocol suite is finally gaining more traction than ever. 

“It’s fairly much all IPv6 now,” Dr. Wright said. “There are lots of reasons for this, including ones most people don’t think about.” 

A significant part of what the nChain chief scientist discussed in front of the IEE is how to use Bitcoin and IPv6 as well as how to integrate transactions natively. In his presentation, Dr. Wright gave several use cases as an example of the potential of the integration: 

  • Web Server Access 

Web servers can easily integrate Bitcoin IP transaction functionality to charge clients for access.

  • Local Link Payments 

IP transactions would be useful when making a payment to someone near you or on the same local network link. 

  • IP Messaging 

The system can be used for any type of messaging, including email. 

  • Public Transport Terminals 

The concept of making Bitcoin payments directly to an IP address is particularly powerful in scenarios where automated tasks are performed by electronic devices, that each have an associated IP address.

All in all, Dr. Wright told The Bitcoin Bridge that his presentation was received incredibly well, and all the participants there were interested not only in the integration of IPv6 with blockchain but also in next generation solutions.

These “next-gen” solutions include mesh networking, wireless mesh, 5G, and remember what we said about remarkable foresight? Some companies that attended Dr. Wright’s presentation were even already interested in 6G integration for even faster access way into the future. 

‘There’s only one protocol that does this.’

Asked about how likely the Standards Committee would be to actually act on his recommendations, Dr. Wright says the members are incredibly interested in integrating blockchain.

This is because the blockchain has an unalterable record of all the interactions, information that hackers won’t just be able to delete. 

“It makes a lot of sense from a security point of view,” Dr. Wright explained. “It makes a lot of sense in integrating Internet of Things, Industrial Internet of Things-based devices.” 

The scientist added that while there is over 100 different IoT standards right now, part of the ongoing effort is trying to get that integrated and start moving towards a single methodology. 

“Like with Wi-Fi and other methodologies, people started moving towards a single way of connecting. So over time, what we will hopefully see is all of that migrates in. And the good thing that we have is that’s going to bring more and more connectivity, more and more access. And to be honest, there’s only one protocol that does this.” 

Bitcoin creator and nChain Chief Scientist Dr. Craig Wright discusses all these and more on The Bitcoin Bridge. Watch this special episode on the CoinGeek YouTube channel to see his full presentation to the IEEE and to hear exactly what he has to say about his detractors in the tech industry.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]