Tether公司的调查裁决让布洛克·皮尔斯(Brock Pierce)再受关注

美国最高法院上诉法庭于2020年7月9日公布一则意见,准许纽约州总检察长进一步调查Tether公司的稳定币以及其背后的一众企业投资商。此消息引发了更多针对Tether公司联合创始人布洛克·皮尔斯(Brock Pierce)的负面报道。依托其涉足于科技产业的商人身份,尤其是大力提倡区块链技术的鲜明形象,布洛克·皮尔斯最近宣布他将以独立候选人身份竞选美国总统。

Tether公司于2014年发行了首款“稳定币”,它作为一种区块链数字资产,其价格波动性低于市场上现有的各种数字资产。最初的设想是每一枚泰达币(USDT)以现有美元储备对应的一美元为支撑,并且能够等值赎回。这(理论上)解决了两大问题:交易者在市场动荡时期将拥有一种更为稳定的资产来“锁定”数字资产的价值,交易所则能够更轻易地处理与客户之间的美元汇款。

Tether面临的问题

泰达币的真实结构错综复杂,长期以来一直有人声称其以美元储备支撑纯属子虚乌有,大量新USDT是被Tether公司铸造出来的,且总是在BTC价格突然上涨前被送往交易所,这些质疑给其形象蒙上了阴影。该资产本身(其也可以与欧元或日元挂钩)作为一种原生资产或代币存在于多个区块链平台。发行商Tether Holdings Limited公司与拥有Bitfinex交易所的iFinex公司的母公司是Digifinex Inc.公司。Tether Holdings旗下则拥有Tether Limited、Tether Operations Limited以及Tether International Limited。

在纽约总检察长办公室詹姆斯(James)针对iFinex Ltd调查一案中,该案并未对任何人提出指控,但寻求取得更多有关Tether公司真实资产储备及其治理结构的信息。USDT的总市值约为98亿美元,Tether Limited的律师在2019年声称只有74%的市值是按实际美元计价的。Tether公司从未发布正式的审计报告(尽管已经做出承诺),也未对剩余价值是由何种资产支撑作出解释。

上述公布的意见本身并未指控Tether公司或其关联公司有任何不当行为,而Tether公司作为詹姆斯针对iFinex Ltd.诉讼案的被告方,试图请求限制调查人员审查其公司运营的权力。上诉法庭的声明驳回了该项请求。

这与布洛克·皮尔斯何干?  

尽管皮尔斯是Tether公司的联合创始人,且仍以顾问的身份在网站上列出,但上诉法庭公布的意见中并未提及他。不过,在近期他与彭博社进行的一次访谈中,皮尔斯表示自2015年以来他就与泰达币没有任何瓜葛了,他将泰达币形容为“加密货币领域最重要的创新之一,但似乎也是高风险业务之一。”

童星出身的皮尔斯是数字资产行业里最负盛名的人物之一,也是大力提倡数字货币的脸孔之一。他的名字出现在许多项目之中,常常会给他自己,也给这些项目带来问题。

皮尔斯目前是比特币基金会(Bitcoin Foundation)的主席,在该基金会的官方介绍中,他是创始人、顾问以及GoCoin、Tether、ZenBox、Blade Financial、Expresscoin、Noble Markets、BitGo、ChangeTip、BlockStreet、Coin Congress、Plug and Play等公司的董事会成员。他也是Block.one的联合创始人,该公司从皮尔斯的Blockchain Capital公司脱离出来,并创造了EOS区块链项目和资产。

几天前,在数字资产数据汇总网站上,EOS掉出了十大榜单,让位于币安币(该币在上个月的排名也下降了好几个名次)。智能合约平台EOS面临与以太坊类似的问题,如发展乏力,以及因无法扩容以满足大规模使用需求而备受质疑。

2018年3月,喜剧演员约翰·奥利弗(John Oliver)在一档电视节目中指责数字资产行业,还特别点名皮尔斯,随后Block.one经过“相互协议”与皮尔斯撇清关系。奥利弗在节目中提到了一桩与皮尔斯有关的丑闻,并建议观众们在谷歌上搜索相关信息。

2000年,彼时20岁的皮尔斯面临数起诉讼,诉讼人是他在上世纪90年代创立的科技公司Digital Entertainment Network(DEN)的三名前雇员。皮尔斯公开否认了其中一起诉讼对他的指控,称该指控是“敲诈阴谋的一部分”。他最终支付了21000美元了结其中一起诉讼,剩下两起诉书则被撤回了。

这些往事对于Block.one而言仍是不可承受之重,该公司作出声明“我们意识到企业通讯机制健全的重要性。我们视专业标准为首要之重,并且在公司从起步阶段转向积极成长的过程中始终注意提高自我要求。”在Block.one发表该声明后的几个月,皮尔斯每次接受采访都表示自己仍然支持EOS及其生态系统。

皮尔斯及其众多关联项目之间的关系(无论是过去式或是现在式的关系,以及不管任何对他或项目的指控是真是假)。这些话题在他展开更多总统造势活动之际,继续被众人议论纷纷。

受到关注有好的一面,也有坏的一面。比特币行业面临其自身的法律困境,不过最近几周法庭的证词给予公众听取更多有关比特币历史的详细证据,以及辟除媒体谣言的机会。同时也使得人们更加关注比特币(也就是现在的BSV)的本质和用途。因此,更多人现在更清楚地了解谁创造了比特币,以及比特币旨在成为一种安全且可审计的区块链账本,其有能力处理数字支付和海量数据。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Tether probe ruling puts another spotlight on Brock Pierce

An appellate division of the U.S. Supreme Court published an opinion on July 9, 2020, giving the New York State Attorney General approval to further investigate the Tether “stablecoin” and its web of corporate backers. The news generated more bad press for entrepreneur Brock Pierce, a Tether co-founder who announced recently he would launch an independent campaign for President of the United States based on his image as a businessman in the tech industry and as a blockchain advocate in particular.

Tether launched in 2014 as the first “stablecoin“, a blockchain digital asset designed to be less volatile in value than existing ones. The initial idea was that each Tether unit (USDT) would be backed by one dollar in existing USD reserves, and would be redeemable for the same. This (in theory) solved two problems: traders would have a more stable asset in which to “park” digital asset value in volatile times, and exchanges could more easily transfer USD value between themselves and customers.

The problem with Tether

Tether’s exact structure is complicated and its image has long been clouded by claims it isn’t backed by USD at all, and that fresh supplies of USDT are “minted” and sent to exchanges right before sudden BTC price rises. The asset itself (which may also represent EUR or JPY value) exists on multiple blockchain platforms as a native asset or token. Issuer Tether Holdings Limited shares a parent company (Digifinex Inc.) with iFinex, which owns the Bitfinex digital asset exchange. Tether Holdings includes the companies Tether Limited, Tether Operations Limited, and Tether International Limited.

New York’s investigation concerns the case James v. iFinex Ltd, which does not accuse anyone of wrongdoing, but seeks more information on the exact nature of Tether’s real asset reserves and its governance structure. USDT has a market cap of around US$9.8 billion, though Tether Limited’s lawyers said in 2019 only 74% of that was in actual U.S. dollar. No official audit has ever been released (despite being promised) and details of exactly what assets back the remaining value have been vague.

The published opinion does not accuse Tether or its associated companies of wrongdoing per se, though as respondents to the James v. iFinex Ltd. suit they had attempted to limit the authority of investigators to examine their operations. The appellate court’s statement overrules that attempt.

What does this have to do with Brock Pierce?  

Pierce is not mentioned in the appellate court’s opinion, though he was a Tether co-founder, and is still listed on its website as an advisor. However, in a recent interview with Bloomberg, he said he hadn’t been involved with Tether since 2015 and described it as “one of the most important innovations in currency, but it also seemed like one of the higher risk businesses.”

Pierce, a former child actor, is one of the digital asset industry’s most well-known names and faces, as well as one of its most public advocates. His name appears in association with numerous projects, often causing problems for both Pierce and the projects in question.

Pierce is the current chairman of the Bitcoin Foundation, where he is described as a “founder, advisor, board member of GoCoin, Tether, ZenBox, Blade Financial, Expresscoin, Noble Markets, BitGo, ChangeTip, BlockStreet, Coin Congress, and Plug and Play.” He was also a co-founder of Block.one, which grew out of Pierce’s company Blockchain Capital and produced the EOS blockchain project and asset.

A few days ago, EOS dropped out of the top 10 list (by market cap) on digital asset data aggregator sites, losing its place to Binance Coin (which itself had fallen several places in the past month). A smart contract platform, EOS has faced similar problems to that of Ethereum—including underwhelming development activity and accusations that it cannot scale to the levels required to see mass usage.

Block.one disassociated itself from Pierce in a “mutual agreement” in March 2018 following a TV segment in which comedian John Oliver skewered the digital asset industry, singling out Pierce in particular. Oliver had referred to a past scandal involving Pierce and asked his audience to Google it.

In 2000, then 20-year-old Pierce had faced lawsuits from three former employees of his 1990s tech startup Digital Entertainment Network (DEN). Pierce has publicly denied the allegations made in one of the lawsuits, describing them as “part of an extortion scheme.” He eventually paid US$21,000 to settle one suit, and the remaining two were dropped.

That was still too much for Block.one, which stated “we are conscious of the importance of robust corporate communications. We take professional standards seriously and are always focused on raising the bar as our company transitions from startup to aggressive growth.” In interviews months after Block.one’s statement, Pierce described himself as still a supporter of EOS and its ecosystem.

Associations between Pierce and his many associated projects—whatever past or current connections, and whether any accusations against him or the projects are true or untrue—will only continue to air publicly as he ramps up his new presidential campaign.

Attention can have both negative and positive effects. The Bitcoin industry has faced its own legal hassles, though in recent weeks court depositions have served mainly to give the public a chance to hear more detailed evidence of its history, and discredit media rumors. It has also drawn more attention to the nature and purpose of Bitcoin (as it now exists, as BSV). As a result, more people now have a much better idea of who created Bitcoin, and that it was intended to be a secure—and auditable—blockchain ledger capable of handling digital payments and processing massive amounts of data.



New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.