Simple^2和分层的隐患

Simple^2和分层的隐患

本文首发于Elas.Digital网站,经原作者Brendan Lee同意后再次发布。

之前,当我正在开发Elas Token系统的基础专利时,很荣幸与Cerian Jones共事,她是比特币区块链领域最有经验的专利律师之一。她非常清楚从哪些地方对我的想法提出异议,这一点很重要。

当我提出,在某种假设之下,事物总是按某种特定方式发展,她的第一步总是对该假设提出异议。就在我面前,揭示我所认为的最佳部分是多么粗糙,并进行删除、分离和重新定义,从而体现核心结构的功能。通过这种方式,我们能够将一个整体构思削减到其绝对核心的部分——即创造一种未花费输出形式的Token,并且可以通过花费,将它转移到一个新的未花费输之上。这个转移的动作会影响该Token的状态变化,这意味着所有权的更改、参数的变更、数据库中的新操作等一系列的动作都可以在Token上进行。发行者在该系统中拥有完全的控制权,并且可以在他们的系统中为Token添加任何他们想要的定义。

我们已经在赠送的比特币纪念Token中展示了所使用的静态Token,但是还有很多用于不同目的的其它Token类型,所有这些都是基于我们核心的Token创建方法而开发。

分层

我观看了最近CoinGeek直播大会上关于Token的圆桌讨论,以及关于第0层、第1层和第2层等的讨论。我可以做出如下总结:

第0层:脚本中的Token,其管理逻辑在花费操作之上执行,通过检查输入和在输出中添加强制条件来管理之后的Token行为。

第1层:UTXO中携带的一个或多个Token,但其中Token的值由共识网络评估之外的数据来表示。

第2层:由代理或智能合约控制的Token,使用在False Return脚本中发布的指令。

Elas的Token处于其原始比特币协议的核心。我们不需要面向未来的脚本,没有脚本模板、数据传输、不可花费的输出或第三方代理,但是我们可以(并计划)利用以上这些元素来提高我们所提供的价值。

Elas是一个Token系统,它无需这些约束,但是可以在必要时应用其中的某些甚至所有元素。它可以没有这些层级,也可以有几层或者是拥有全部的层级…

我可以如下这样定义层级:

层级是由平台来添加的,而不是Token系统所要求的。

如果你所构建的Token系统依赖于一个或多个这些元素,而你的平台却不依赖这些元素,那么你就必须对这些元素进行管理和构建,这是一种负担。这不仅花费时间,还增加了项目的复杂性。

我们的Token有一些用户必须遵守的规则,这些并非网络的共识规则,但如果不遵守,可能导致Token在流通中被移除。诸如此类的问题很容易解决,并可以通过适当的钱包集成来管理。当与不需要处理BSV付费的系统配对时,几乎不会对可用性造成影响。

那么,这个系统如何运作?

在为期三天的CoinGeek大会上,我们利用一个简单的网络钱包,向来自世界各地的观众发放了大约1200张具备收藏价值的纪念性比特币卡,我们将其集中到一起来测试我们的Token。这个实验非常成功,有几个人来找我,他们表示不解,因为只有一个常规的P2PKH脚本来保存Token。我认为,我们系统的一部分魔力在于,Token交易实际上与比特币交易没有区别。

Token被保存在一个激活的UTXO里,可通过追溯机制被识别,能够一直追溯到Token被创建的时点。这种机制不受任何与脚本、数据或代理相关的约束,允许将Elas的Token以代表私人现金的形式释放到经济中。

使用我们开发的后端,可以管理用户钱包的Token识别和验证,平台性能因此得到增强。后端允许即时传输,也将是大多数系统实施长期运作的方式。与Metastreme付费API连接意味着,用户不必获取BSV来收付款,同时保证了交易的安全、简单和即时。

很快,我们将开始对新的Token铸造层进行内部测试,这将提升我们的Token账本的性能,使其能够更便捷、更简单地进行长期管理,并提供一些急需的可用性提升,来加速和简化复杂的子账本结构和Token的创建。

Simple^2 以及如何实现KISS原则

作为一名工程师,我的职业生涯一直都在与复杂性打交道。它几乎没有任何好处,也没人想要复杂性,而且通常会造成巨大的负担,特别是在项目开始时就未得到很好的理解时。保持“简单愚蠢(Keep It Simple Stupid)”,KISS原则在整个工程世界被吹捧,而我看到的是该原则要么应用得非常好,要么根本不用……

Elon musk对此说得最好:

最好的过程是没有过程。最好的部分是没有部分之分(The best process is no process. The best part is no part.)。

有了Elas,所使用的都只是必需的,因此系统可以在不牺牲实用性或安全性的情况下,将总体复杂性保持在尽可能低的状态。

假设一个简单的东西难度系数为1(简称简单系数Simple),一个复杂的东西难度系数为2(简称复杂系数Complex)。如果你必须使用一个现有的平台,并在其上建立你的应用,我们可以这样说:

在简单的平台上构建简单的应用是简单系数乘以简单系数(即Simple^2),即1 x 1=1。

在复杂的平台上构建简单的应用是简单系数乘以复杂系数(即Simple x Complex),即1 x 2 = 2。

在复杂的平台上构建复杂的应用是复杂系数乘以复杂系数(即Complex^2),即2 x 2 = 4。

当基本系统具有内在的复杂性功能时,在该系统上构建的所有东西都会愈发复杂。这种复合的复杂性提高了部署系统所需的成本和时间,并使其在未来更加难以维护和扩展。

总结

在评估Token系统时,如果供应商已经为您定义了一个运行框架,那么您必须确保您的平台可以在该框架之中运行。Token的应用方式多种多样,我认为,人们实际上才刚开始思考各类不同的新型实用范例。Elas很高兴将我们的系统推向市场。我相信,Elas已经成功找到了一种方法,通过这种方法,可以创建和部署完全符合KISS原则的Token,从而加速开发并确保最佳的用户结果。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Simple^2 and the hazard of layers

This post originally appeared on Elas.Digital site and we republished with permission from its author, Brendan Lee.

While I was developing the Elas token system’s base patent I had the pleasure of working with Cerian Jones who is one of, if not the most experienced patent attorneys in the Bitcoin and Blockchain space. And this was so important because she knew exactly where to challenge me on the idea.

When I put forward that things were a particular way because of an assumption her first move was always to challenge that assumption. Before my very eyes what I thought were the best parts of the idea were unmasked as cruft, excised and re-defined as embodiments that demonstrated a function of the core structure. Working in this way we were able to pare the whole idea down to its absolute core—a token that is created as an unspent output and which is transferred by spending it to a new unspent output. This transfer action effects a state change on the token, meaning anything from a change of ownership, a change to a parameter, new activity in a database or any other of a number of actions that could be performed on a token. The issuer has complete control in this system and can add whatever definition they like to the tokens within their system.

We have demonstrated Static tokens, which were used in our Commemorative Bitcoin token giveaway, but we have many different token types coming for many different purposes, and all are built upon our core token creation method.

Layers 

I watched the recent CoinGeek Live panel on tokens and the discussions on layer 0 vs 1 vs 2 etc. I would summarise it thus:

Layer 0 – A token held in a script which performs all token management logic within the spending action, looking at the input and forcing conditions into the output to manage future token behaviour.

Layer 1 – A token or tokens that are carried in a UTXO but where token values are represented by data carried outside of what is evaluated by the consensus network

Layer 2 – Tokens controlled by an agent or smart contract using instructions published in False Return scripts

Elas tokens are at their core raw Bitcoin protocol. There are no requirements for scripts that look forward, no script templates, data carriage, unspendable outputs, or third-party agents, however we can (and plan to) make use of all of these things to enhance our value offering. 

Elas is a token system that has none of these constraints as a requirement, but where some or all of these elements can be applied, but only if they are needed. It is none, some or all of these layers at once…

I would thus define layers as follows:

Layers are for the platform to add, not for the token system to require.

If you’re building on a token system that depends on one or more of these things when your platform does not, they become a burden that you must manage and build around. This takes time and adds a complexity burden to any project.

Our tokens have a few rules that users must follow which aren’t part of the consensus rules of the network and which can lead to tokens being removed from circulation if not followed. Problems like this are simple to fix and can be managed through proper wallet integration. When paired with a system that removes the need to handle BSV to pay fees with results in almost no impact to usability. 

But how does it work?

Over the three days of the CoinGeek conference we handed out an estimated 1200 collectible commemorative Bitcoin cards to people from all over the world using a simple web wallet we put together to test our tokens. The experiment was a great success and I had several people coming to me perplexed that there was just a regular P2PKH script holding the tokens. I think part of the magic of our system is that token transactions are practically indistinguishable from Bitcoin transactions.

Tokens are held in a live UTXO and can be recognised through a tracing mechanism that follows the token back to when it was created. This mechanism is free of any constraint relating to scripts, data or agency, allowing Elas tokens to be released into an economy in a form representative of private cash. 

The platform is enhanced using a back end that we have developed to manage token identification and validation for user wallets. This allows for instant transfers and will be how most implementations of the system will work long term. A connection to the Metastreme fee payment API means that users don’t have to touch BSV to send or receive payments while keeping transactions safe, simple and instant.

Soon we will begin internal testing of a new token minting layer that will enhance our token ledgers, making them much easier and less complex to manage longer term and give us some much-needed usability enhancements we need to accelerate and simplify the creation of sophisticated sub-ledger structures and tokens.

Simple^2 or how to KISS

As an engineer I have spent my career working around complexity. It is almost never helpful or wanted and usually creates a huge burden, especially when it is not well understood at the beginning of a project. Keep It Simple Stupid, or the KISS Principle is touted throughout the engineering world and is something that I’ve seen applied both beautifully and not at all…

Elon musk says it best:

The best process is no process. The best part is no part.

With Elas, only exactly what is needed is used, and as such the overall complexity of the system is kept as low as possible, without sacrificing utility or security. 

Say that a simple thing has a difficulty quotient of 1, and a complex thing of 2. If you must take an existing platform and build your application on top of it, we can thus say:

Simple on top of Simple is Simple^2, or 1 x 1 = 1.

Simple on top of Complex is Simple.Complex, or 1 x 2 = 2. 

Complex on top of Complex is Complex^2, or 2 x 2 = 4

Where a base system has an inherent complexity function, everything you build on top of that system compounds that complexity. That compounded complexity increases the cost and time it takes to deploy a system and makes it far harder to maintain and extend in future.

To summarise…

When evaluating token systems, if the vendor has already defined the box that you need to operate out of, you must be sure that your platform can function from within that box. Tokens can be applied in many ways and I think people have really only begun thinking about new and different use cases. We at Elas are excited to bring our system to market. I believe that Elas has managed to find a means by which tokens that fully embrace the KISS principle can be created and deployed in a way that accelerates development and ensures the best possible user outcomes. 

Watch Brendan Lee’s presentation at CoinGeek Live 2020 Day 2.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.