据报道:推特黑客攻击事件中超过50%的BTC已被发送至BTC代币混合器

区块链分析公司Elliptic报道称,黑客通过推特骗局所收敛的BTC赃款,已有56.5%被发送到了ChipMixer和Wasabi钱包这两个数字货币混币服务商处。

黑客将他们的BTC发送到数字货币混币服务商,从而使得旁人难以追踪他们将赃款转移到何处;还使得黑客更容易将赃款变现,同时不被执法部门发现。

 “混币服务使得进一步追踪区块链资金的去向充满了挑战性(即使并非不可能),这种服务使得调查人员难以识别被盗资金的使用或兑现地点。”Elliptic公司的联合创始人兼首席科学家汤姆·罗宾逊博士(Dr. Tom Robinson)说道,“同样地,这意味着,如果这些资金流入交易所或其他受监管的服务提供商,这些企业也将无法识别这些资金来自推特骗局。”

over-50-of-btc-from-twitter-hack-sent-to-btc-coin-mixers-report

据Elliptic报告显示,共计56.5%的被盗资金被发送到了数字货币混币服务商,2.8%已通过交易所、商户和赌场兑现,另外还有40.7%尚未移动。

推特对此次攻击事件的解释

推特在最新通报中说,这次事件是由非常复杂的社会工程学攻击导致的。推特解释,黑客先攻击了推特员工,从而获得了进入推特内部网络的权限,而且也获取了员工的账号凭证。接着,黑客使用内部网络和员工凭证进入了更多的推特内部资源,最终找到了可以访问每个推特账户的工具。

 “不是所有最先被攻击的员工都有账户管理工具的使用权,但黑客使用他们的员工凭证访问了我们的内部系统,并获取了有关我们流程的信息。”推特在通报中解释道,“然后,黑客凭借这些信息,攻击了另外一些有账户支持工具使用权的员工。 黑客利用这些员工的凭证进入了这些工具,随后锁定了130个推特账户,最终用45个账户发了推文,访问了36个账户的私信收件箱,并下载了7个账户的推特数据。”

至少已有3人被指控涉嫌此次推特黑客攻击事件。7月31日,17岁的格雷厄姆·伊万·克拉克(Graham Ivan Clark)在佛罗里达州被捕,面临30项重罪指控,而另外两人面临加利福尼亚州联邦指控。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Over 50% of BTC from Twitter hack sent to BTC coin mixers: report

Blockchain analytics firm Elliptic has reported that 56.5% of the BTC collected by hackers during the Twitter scam has been sent to two digital currency mixing services—a ChipMixer and Wasabi Wallet.

The hackers are sending their BTC to digital currency mixing services because it makes it nearly impossible for onlookers to locate where they are sending the stolen funds to; this makes it easier for the hackers to liquidate their illicit funds without being detected by law enforcement.

“Mixing services make it challenging, if not impossible, to follow the blockchain money trail any further, preventing investigators from identifying where these funds are spent or cashed-out,” said Elliptic co-founder and Chief Scientist Dr. Tom Robinson. “Similarly, it means that if the funds are subsequently sent to an exchange or other regulated service provider, the businesses would not be able to identify that they came from the Twitter scam.”

over-50-of-btc-from-twitter-hack-sent-to-btc-coin-mixers-report

According to Elliptic, a total of 56.5% of the stolen funds has been sent to digital currency mixing services, 2.8% has been cashed out via exchanges, merchants and gambling services, and 40.7% of the stolen BTC remains unspent.

Twitter explains what happened

In an update, Twitter said the attack took place due to very sophisticated social engineer efforts. Twitter says that the hackers targeted Twitter employees to gain access to Twitter’s internal network as well as to obtain employee credentials. Afterward, they used their internal network access and employee credentials to gain access to even more of Twitter’s internal resources, and that the hackers were eventually able to come across the tools that gave them access to every account on Twitter.

“Not all of the employees that were initially targeted had permissions to use account management tools, but the attackers used their credentials to access our internal systems and gain information about our processes,” said Twitter in their update. “This knowledge then enabled them to target additional employees who did have access to our account support tools. Using the credentials of employees with access to these tools, the attackers targeted 130 Twitter accounts, ultimately Tweeting from 45, accessing the DM inbox of 36, and downloading the Twitter Data of 7.”

At least three people have been charged in connection with the Twitter hack. Graham Ivan Clark, 17, was arrested in Florida last July 31 on 30 felony charges, while two other individuals were facing federal charges in California.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.