报告: 推特黑客攻击事件中的BTC仍在转移

据报道,最近黑客从推特数字货币诈骗事件中收到的BTC,已经被发送到一个数字货币混合服务程序中。

来自区块链分析公司Elliptic的一份报告显示,2.89 BTC(据称是黑客入侵推特时收到的)已经被发送到了Wasabi钱包中。该钱包有一个名为“CoinJoin”的功能,该公司将其描述为“一种机制,通过这种机制,多个参与者将他们的货币——更确切地说是未花费的交易输出(UTXOs),组合成一笔具有多个输入和输出的大型交易。观察员无法确定哪笔输出属于哪笔输入,参与者自己也不能确定。”换句话说,Wasabi钱包有一个内置的混币器,这个混合器可以混淆BTC交易的来源。

攻击事件是怎么发生的

黑客能够访问数百个高知名度的推特账户,这些账户总共拥有数千万粉丝。黑客们利用他们盗用的账户来推广一个数字货币骗局,要求被入侵账户的粉丝将BTC发送到指定的钱包地址。黑客们表示,他们会将双倍金额的BTC返还给任何向其付款的人,不过当然,他们从未将任何钱返还给原始发送者。

这样,黑客才能够从主要位于亚洲、北美和欧洲的个人那里筹集大约400笔款项,总计(13.1364 BTC)。

btc-from-twitter-hack-on-the-move-report
Location of which the scam proceeds originated (Source: Elliptic)

黑客真正的挑战是兑现BTC

欺骗毫无戒心的人将BTC发送到一个钱包地址是比较容易的部分;黑客会发现清算他们的BTC要困难的多,特别是因为大部分数字货币交易所都要求用户在交易前必须通过KYC(充分了解你的客户)和AML(反洗钱)流程。除此之外,区块链分析公司已经标记了黑客在诈骗过程中使用的数字货币地址,如果被盗资金发送到该公司的平台,他们将通知各个交易所。联邦调查局也对此事展开了调查

采用数字货币混合服务可能是当时黑客想要摆脱困境的一种尝试——但如今黑客的胜算仍然很低。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

BTC from Twitter hack on the move: report

BTC received from the recent digital currency scam on Twitter has been reportedly sent to a digital currency mixing service.

A report from the blockchain analytics firm Elliptic revealed that 2.89 BTC, which hackers allegedly received when they compromised Twitter, has been sent to the Wasabi Wallet. The wallet has a feature called ‘CoinJoin,’ which the company describes as “[a] mechanism by which multiple participants combine their coins (or UTXOs, to be more precise) into one large transaction with multiple inputs and multiple outputs. An observer cannot determine which output belongs to which input, and neither can the participants themselves.” In other words, Wasabi Wallet has a built-in coin mixer that obfuscates the origin of a BTC transaction.

How it happened

Hackers were able to obtain access to hundreds of high-profile Twitter accounts that had tens of millions of followers in summation. The hackers used the accounts that they took over to promote a digital currency scam, asking the compromised account’s followers to send BTC to a specified wallet address. The hackers said that they would send back double the amount of BTC to any individual that sent them a payment, but of course, they never sent the original senders any of their money back.

The hackers were able to collect roughly 400 payments, totaling (13.1364 BTC) from individuals primarily located in Asia, North America, and Europe.

btc-from-twitter-hack-on-the-move-report
Location of which the scam proceeds originated (Source: Elliptic)

The real challenge is cashing out

Defrauding unsuspecting individuals to send BTC to a wallet address was the easy part; the hacker is going to find it much more difficult to liquidate their BTC, especially since a majority of digital currency exchanges require users to go through a KYC/AML process before they can trade. On top of that, blockchain analytics firms have marked the digital currency addresses that were used in the scam and will notify any exchange if stolen funds are sent to their platform. The FBI has also launched an investigation into the matter.

Using a digital currency mixing service may have been the hacker’s attempt of throwing the dogs off of the trail—but the odds are still stacked against the hacker.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.