将比特币应用程序融入现实世界,Walter Wang博士在The Bitcoin Bridge节目中谈论物联网

将比特币应用程序融入现实世界:Walter Wang博士在The Bitcoin Bridge节目中谈论物联网

Walter Wang博士致力于研究比特币区块链上“有形的”应用程序。也就是说,作为一名物联网研究员和企业家,他希望看到现实世界的设备与区块链数据交互,进而改善我们的生活。在本周的The Bitcoin Bridge节目中,我们将了解他打算采用的一些方式。

王博士拥有新加坡国立大学计算生物学博士学位。他不久前还在中国珠海的比特币SV训练营待了一周,(目前)这是一个非常罕见的线下活动,在训练营中,比特币的技术人员聚集在一起分享想法,探索什么事情是可能发生的。

Walter在训练营中的所见所闻启发了他,在节目中他向我们讲述了一些他个人的精彩经历。当然,其中他最关注的还是sCrypt和SensibleContract等公司的合约方面的进展。

几年前,Walter开发了一项服务,以挑战AirBnB在房屋共享市场的主导地位。这家名为PopulStay的公司承诺,通过取消一些中介服务,例如AirBnB仍在使用的集中式服务,使房客和房东的房屋之间共享的价格更加便宜、流程更加简化。

另一个想法是使用基于区块链的身份作为“钥匙”来获得进入房间的许可,而不是依赖于密码锁(通常需要重新编程)或者隐藏实体钥匙。虽然PopulStay还在,但Walter意识到最好先关注它的某些组成部分。

通过简化流程,PopuLife得以发展(他们更加专注于智能锁)。这与我们上周和MetaID的Sunny Fung讨论过的一些概念有关,即一个关于便携身份确实可以打开大门的想法。

Walter说,因为他与sCrypt创始人刘晓晖的友谊来到这场活动,并且在开发者活动上听到的许多关于该技术的信息,使他相信比特币SV是图灵完备的(Turing Complete)。这种跨多个交易区块仍能够保持恒定“状态”的能力,对基于区块链的应用程序和合约的运行很重要。他表示,这一知识为他打开了许多新的可能性。

P2P的应用程序是未来的趋势,他说:“中介有价值,但也应该是在过去有价值。”房屋共享、游戏、支付——一切都可以通过使用比特币系统(BSV)完成(并自动完成)。而且它不仅限于互联网服务,也就是说,只要有远见的人来建设这些系统,这个区块链的益处就可以很轻松地延伸到现实世界之中。

请您于此处在Streamanity上观看The Bitcoin Bridge的前几期节目

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Moving Bitcoin apps into the physical world The Bitcoin Bridge talks IoT with Dr. Walter Wang

Moving Bitcoin apps into the physical world: The Bitcoin Bridge talks IoT with Dr. Walter Wang

Dr. Walter Wang is all about “tangible” applications that live on the Bitcoin blockchain. We mean that literally—as an IoT researcher and entrepreneur, he wants to see real-world devices interacting with blockchain data to improve our lives. Find out some of the ways he intends to do this in this week’s episode of The Bitcoin Bridge.

Dr. Wang has a PhD in Computational Biology from the National University of Singapore. He’s also just spend a week at the Bitcoin SV Bootcamp in Zhuhai City, China, an all-too-rare (these days) in-person event where Bitcoin’s technical minds got together to share ideas and learn about what’s possible.

Walter was inspired by what he saw there, and tells us some of his personal highlights. Naturally, contract developments from the likes of sCrypt and SensibleContract captured his attention the most.

A few years ago, Walter developed a service to challenge AirBnB’s dominance of the room-sharing market. It was called PopulStay, and it promised to make room-sharing even cheaper and more streamlined for guests and hosts alike by eliminating several of the middleman services a centralized service like AirBnB still uses.

Another idea was to use blockchain-based identities as “keys” to gain admission to rooms, rather than relying on combination locks (which often need to be reprogrammed) and hiding physical keys. While PopulStay is still around, Water realized it might be better to focus on some of its components first.

From that simplification grew PopuLife, which focuses on smart locks. It ties in with some of the concepts we discussed with Sunny Fung of MetaID last week; the idea of a portable identity that can literally open doors.

Walter says it was his friendship with sCrypt’s Xiaohui Liu, and hearing more about the technology at the developer events, that convinced him Bitcoin SV is Turing Complete. The ability to maintain a constant “state” across several transaction blocks is important for blockchain-based applications and contracts to work, and he says this knowledge opened up a lot of new possibilities for him.

P2P apps are the future, he says: “A middleman has value, but it should be in the past.” Room-sharing, games, payments—everything can be done (and automated) using Bitcoin. And it doesn’t need to stop at internet services, the benefits of the blockchain can easily reach into the real world as well. As long as there are smart people with vision to build those systems, that is.

Check out previous episodes of The Bitcoin Bridge on Streamanity.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.