Kleiman v Wright Day 15

Kleiman诉Wright案“即将”作出判决:佛罗里达州中本聪案庭第十五日回顾

Kleiman诉Wright案的审判即将结束,我们离判决还有不到24个工作小时的时间。当观众、媒体代表、律师和实习生热切地观看两位法律顾问的结案陈词时,法庭已座无虚席。许多人甚至期待陪审团在周二做出裁决,但到了最后,陪审团仍然没有做出裁决。

Freedman的结案陈词

原告律师Vel Freedman给出了当天的第一个结案陈词。Freedman的论点突出了原告希望法院从他们的案件中观察到的所有关键点。他首先告诉法庭原告希望从案件中得到什么:据称这是由Dave Kleiman和Craig S.Wright博士共同开采的110万比特币的一半。

Freedman辩称,Wright博士告诉新南威尔士州警方,他和Dave Kleiman自2004年以来一直在研究比特币。Wright博士伪造Dave Kleiman的签名,以欺诈方式将属于Dave Kleiman的资产转让给自己,而且Wright博士伪造了提交给澳大利亚税务局(ATO)及其律师的文件。

Freedman强调,法律不要求合伙企业达成书面协议,合伙企业所需的一切是共同目的、共同或专有权益以及对合伙企业的共同控制。原告律师还辩称,合伙企业也不需要正式的注册文件,然后引用了Lynn Wright的证词,她说Wright博士经常做非正式的生意,她唯一一次看到他拿出正式的商业文件是在与律师合作和雇佣新员工时。

Freedman试图强调Dave Kleiman和Wright博士有意保密的想法,这也是没有大量书面记录的另一个原因。Freedman说,Wright博士和Dave Kleiman故意删除了比特币被创造的所有证据,并引用了许多暗示Wright博士和Dave Kleiman合作的证据。

Freedman继续质疑Wright博士的自闭症诊断,并说Wright博士在50岁时被诊断为自闭症很奇怪,他发现做出诊断的医生被被告的法律顾问支付了一大笔钱为本案工作,这很有趣。

Freedman结束了他的结案陈述,他向陪审团讲解了他希望他们如何回答陪审团裁决表上的每个问题。有趣的是,Freedman在此时介绍了Wright博士知识产权的评估——在15天的庭审中,几乎没有讨论过这个话题。Freedman认为,鉴于Wright博士的知识产权价值2520亿美元,Dave Kleiman应该有权获得其中的一半,从而将本案涉及的股份从330亿美元增加到1500亿美元左右。

为了结束他的陈词,Freedman提醒陪审团,他们正在考虑Dave Kleiman和Wright博士是否有合作关系来共同开采110万比特币,以及Wright博士是否从Dave那里偷了财产。

Rivero的结案陈词

辩护律师Andres Rivero在结案陈词时提出了一个微妙的观点,即原告依靠的是他们所谓的Wright博士伪造或说谎的证据;因此,原告的论点极其不可信。

Rivero继续提醒陪审团,他们正在考虑Dave Kleiman和Wright博士是否有合作伙伴关系来以中本聪的身份发明比特币和挖矿;然后提醒法庭,在成立W&K Info Research Defense LLC之前,Wright博士和Dave Kleiman没有合伙关系。

Rivero提出了许多证人证词,这些证人在证词中表示,他们从未听Dave Kleiman说过任何关于比特币、比特币采矿或与Wright博士就比特币相关事宜建立合作关系的事情。

他还强调,除了Wright博士要求Dave编辑比特币白皮书的电子邮件信函之外,原告提交的证据都是在Dave Kleiman去世之前提供的;而最有意义的证据可能来自Dave还活着的时候。

当Rivero开始总结他的结案陈词时,他争辩说Dave Kleiman病得太重,无法对大规模挖矿工作进行必要的维护;要想建立伙伴关系,必须明确伙伴之间的所有权和百分比。

Freedman的反驳

Freedman对Rivero的结案陈词进行了简短的反驳。Freedman告诉法庭,Wright博士是一位亿万富翁。然后,他提醒法庭,并在反驳结束时说,Dave Kleiman和Wright博士故意对比特币相关事宜保密,然后引用了法庭上出现的大量证据,暗示Dave Kleiman和Wright博士故意秘密进行操作。

Pat的观点

每一个结案陈词都强调了每一位法律顾问在整个案件中向法院展示的要点。

Vel Freedman的结案陈词非常有力,有很好的表达方式和说服力来支持它。他的主要观点是Wright博士不是一个可信的人,他伪造了许多文件,Wright博士和Dave有一个秘密合作关系,他们在其中做着比特币相关的工作。

Rivero的结案陈词还可以;这是非常真实的,他提出了强有力的信息,但它的表达方式是非常草率的,Rivero的团队与他们的演示技术方面的斗争,这对Rivero是否能向陪审团展示的东西产生了明显的影响。雪上加霜的是,Rivero一走到麦克风前,就把一杯水洒在了他的演讲笔记上。

Rivero的主要观点是,没有证据或文件明确说明Wright博士和Dave Kleiman在处理比特相关币事宜上有合作关系,有几项证据和证人证词支持这一说法,原告依赖于他们所谓的欺诈性文件,因此他们实际上在破坏自己的案件表述。

在听取了这两个结案陈词之后,我个人的看法是,原告的胜算要比辩方大一些。不过,我认为目前其中还没有明确的胜利者;支持这一观点的是,陪审团今天未能做出裁决,这表示对于裁决应该是什么,他们还没有达成完全一致的意见。

预计陪审团将于11月29日星期一作出裁决。

CoinGeek的Kurt Wuckert Jr.将会在每天的回顾报道中出镜,该回顾报道将于美国东部时间下午6:30在我们的YouTube频道进行现场直播。

请于此处观看Kleiman诉Wright案庭审特别报道第十五天:

请您于Kleiman诉Wright案的YouTube播放列表中查看所有的CoinGeek特别报道。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Kleiman v Wright verdict Coming SoonTM: Satoshi Trial in Florida Day 15 recap

Kleiman v Wright verdict Coming SoonTM: Satoshi Trial in Florida Day 15 recap

The Kleiman v Wright trial is coming to a close and we could be less than 24 business hours away from a verdict. The courtroom reached full capacity as spectators, media representatives, lawyers, and interns eagerly watched both legal counsels deliver their closing arguments. Many people were even anticipating the jury to return a verdict on Tuesday—but at the end of the day, the jury had still not returned with their decision.

Freedman’s closing argument

Plaintiff lawyer Vel Freedman gave the first closing argument of the day. Freedman’s argument highlighted all the key points that the plaintiffs wanted the court to observe from their case. He began by telling the court what the plaintiffs are looking to get out of the case: half of the 1.1 million Bitcoin that Dave Kleiman and Dr. Craig S. Wright allegedly mined together.

Freedman argued that Dr. Wright told the New South Wales Police that he and Dave Kleiman had been working on Bitcoin since 2004. That Dr. Wright forged Dave Kleiman’s signature to fraudulently transfer assets that belonged to Dave Kleiman over to himself, and that Dr. Wright forged documents that he submitted to the Australian Taxation Office (ATO) and his lawyers.

Freedman emphasized the idea that the law does not require a written agreement for a partnership to be formed, and all that is needed for a partnership is a common purpose, joint or proprietary interest, and joint control over the partnership. The plaintiff’s lawyer also argued that a partnership does not require formal documents of registration either, and then cited Lynn Wright’s testimony where she said that Dr. Wright often does business informally and that the only time she saw him break out formal documents for business was when working with lawyers and bringing on new employees.

Freedman tried to highlight the idea that Dave Kleiman and Dr. Wright intentionally operated in secrecy, and that is another reason why there is not a large paper trail. Freedman said that Dr. Wright and Dave Kleiman purposefully deleted all evidence of Bitcoin being created and cited many of the pieces of evidence that implied that Dr. Wright and Dave Kleiman partnered.

Freedman went on to question Dr. Wright’s autism diagnosis and says that it’s odd that Dr. Wright was diagnosed with autism at the age of 50, and that he finds it interesting that the doctor who made the diagnosis was paid a significant amount of money by the defendant’s legal counsel to do work for the case.

As Freedman’s brought his closing argument to an end, he walked the jury through how he wanted them to answer each of the questions on the jury verdict form. Interestingly, Freedman introduced the valuation of Dr. Wright’s intellectual property at this point in time—a topic that was hardly discussed throughout the 15 days of the trial. Freedman argued that since Dr. Wright’s intellectual property is worth $252 billion, that Dave Kleiman should be entitled to half of that, raising the stakes involved in this case from $33 billion to about $150 billion.                          

To bring his argument to a close, Freedman reminded the jury that they are deliberating over whether Dave Kleiman and Dr. Wright had a partnership in which they mined 1.1 million Bitcoin together and if Dr. Wright stole property from Dave.

Rivero’s closing argument

Lawyer for defense, Andres Rivero, started his closing argument by making the subtle point that the plaintiffs are relying on evidence they say Dr. Wright forged or told lies in; and for that reason, the plaintiffs built their argument on quicksand.

Rivero went on to remind the jury that they are deliberating over whether or not Dave Kleiman and Dr. Wright had a partnership to invent Bitcoin as Satoshi Nakamoto and mine Bitcoin; and then reminded the court that Dr. Wright and Dave Kleiman did not have a partnership together before the formation of W&K Info Research Defense LLC.

Rivero brought up the many witness testimonies in which the witnesses said they never heard Dave Kleiman say anything about Bitcoin, Bitcoin mining, or having a partnership with Dr. Wright regarding Bitcoin-related matters.

He also emphasized the fact that none of the evidence that the plaintiffs presented—besides the email correspondence where Dr. Wright asks Dave to edit the Bitcoin white paper—were produced before Dave Kleiman died; and that the most meaningful evidence would probably come from when Dave was still living.

As Rivero began to wrap up his closing statement, he argued that Dave Kleiman was too ill to do the necessary maintenance on a large-scale mining operation; and that for a partnership to exist, ownership and percentage ownership between the partners needs to be clear.

Freedman’s rebuttal 

Freedman had a very short rebuttal to Rivero’s closing argument. Freedman told the court that Dr. Wright is a multi-billionaire. Then he reminded the court—and ended his rebuttal—by saying that Dave Kleiman and Dr. Wright deliberately kept Bitcoin-related matters a secret, and then cited numerous pieces of evidence that came up in court that would imply that Dave Kleiman and Dr. Wright intentionally operated in secrecy.

Pat’s opinion

Each of the closing arguments highlighted the key points that each legal counsel set out to show the court in the entirety of their case. 

Vel Freedman’s closing argument was very strong and had great delivery and persuasive presentation to support it. His main ideas were that Dr. Wright is not a credible individual, that he forged numerous documents, and that Dr. Wright and Dave had a secret partnership in which they did Bitcoin-related work.

Rivero’s closing argument was OK; it was very factual, he presented strong information, but the delivery of it was very sloppy and Rivero’s team struggled with the tech side of their presentation which had a noticeable impact on what Rivero was and wasn’t able to show the jury. To add insult to injury, Rivero spilled a glass of water all over his presentation notes the moment he walked up to the microphone. 

Rivero’s main points were that there is no evidence or documents that explicitly state that Dr. Wright and Dave Kleiman had a partnership in which they worked on Bitcoin-related matters together, that several pieces of evidence and witness testimonies support that claim, and that the plaintiffs are relying on the documents they say are fraudulent and therefore they are actually damaging their own case.

After hearing both closing arguments, my personal belief is that the plaintiffs have a bit more wind in their sails than the defense. However, I do not think that there is a clear winner in the case yet; what supports this idea is that the jury was not able to return a verdict today, which suggests to me that there was not full consensus on what the verdict should be.

The jury is expected to return a verdict on Monday, November 29.

CoinGeek features Kurt Wuckert Jr. in recap coverage which will be livestreamed daily at 6:30 p.m. EST on our YouTube Channel.

Watch our Day 15 Special Report from the Kleiman v Wright trial here:

Check out all of the CoinGeek special reports on the Kleiman v Wright YouTube playlist.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]