Kleiman诉Wright案庭审第8天回顾:中本聪案庭现场的陪审员中的一人得了新冠肺炎吗?

Kleiman诉Wright案庭审第8天回顾:中本聪案庭现场的陪审员中的一人得了新冠肺炎吗?

Kleiman诉Wright案(中本聪案)庭审的第8天提前结束,因为陪审团的一名成员感到不适,据称她发烧了。Beth Bloom法官向原告律师和被告律师提出了两个选择:

  • 解除该陪审员的职务,让庭审继续进行。
  • 提前结束当天的庭审,并在周一继续进行庭审。

被告律师Andres Rivero提出,法庭应该让该陪审员离开,理由是我们不知道她是否患有新冠肺炎,如果她生病了,那么可能会对庭审和法庭重新开庭的日期产生多米诺效应。

最终,Beth Bloom法官决定中本聪案的审理应该休庭一天,并比美国东部时间下午5点的预定结束时间提前大约三个小时结束庭审。

那么在法庭上发生了什么?

不幸的是,没有什么。

每天庭审大约在上午10点开始,然后在11:30左右进行20分钟的 “舒适休息”,然后在下午1点之前,法庭休庭了一小时,进入午休时间。也就是说,我们今天只看到了2小时40分钟的庭审过程,而不是像我们在法庭上看到的典型的5小时20分钟的全过程。

但在开庭期间,原告的律师Vel Freedman继续对Wright博士进行询问。Freedman继续出示新旧文件,鉴于Wright博士之前提供的证据,试图证明Wright博士在其证词中做出了一些矛盾的陈述。

但Wright博士继续辩称,他不承认所提交的文件,一些文件上的电子邮件地址不是他的电子邮件地址,Freedman继续向法庭不准确地表达文件的内容,Freedman向法庭展示的文件也不是真实的。

在大多数情况下,Wright博士很好地牵制了原告,确保他们的论点从未深入到表面以下。但今天有两次Freedman似乎把Wright博士逼到了绝境。

在Wright博士不断表示澳大利亚税务局(ATO)出示的证据不真实后,Freedman再次提交了Wright博士的公司DeMorgan的律师Andrew Sommers的证据,称Sommers的律师事务所不得不终止与客户DeMorgan的关系,因为他们认为Wright博士捏造了发给律师事务所以及ATO的文件。

Freedman还介绍了一份支持Sommers说法的证据,该证据显示:

“ATO的记录显示,这些电子邮件要么从未被发送过,要么电子邮件的内容与最初发送或接收的内容相比有所改动,从而用于支持纳税人(Wright博士)以及相关实体的观点。”

Wright博士反击说,法院很快就会知道ATO被黑了,因此与ATO有关的文件都不会被认为是有效的。

下一个Freedman几乎让Wright博士倒下的例子是,Freedman试图向Wright博士表明,他在关于Dave Kleiman不会编程的声明的这一方面是自相矛盾的。

“不,Dave没有创造软件,他编辑软件……Dave一生中从未写过一行C语言代码。” Wright博士说。

对此,Freedman拿出了一个证据——Wright博士在MetaNet ICU slack频道中的对话,其中一个人问Wright博士。

“Dave有着非常好的编程技巧,对吗?”

Wright博士回答说:“他(Dave)还行,Hal编程很好。”

之后,Freedman拿出了证据,即Wright博士的一条信息,上面写着:

“Dave把我在2010年的200万行代码拿出来,并把这些代码转化为一套超过600万行的文件。”

然后,Freedman出示了一份文件,显示Wright博士的公司是6,088,555行代码的所有者,这暗示着Dave可能在编写600万行代码中发挥了作用。Wright博士回应说,他总是喜欢在公开交流中为Dave造势,其他开发者(而不是Dave)增加了许多行的新代码。Wright博士说,由于Dave是他的好朋友,他想让Dave在公众面前看起来不错,同时也是出于对Dave家人的尊重。

这一切将走向何方?

这一点仍不清楚,法庭期待着原告在午餐前完成对Wright博士的询问——但这并没有发生。当我们接近午餐时间休庭时,Freedman拿出一块白板,他在上面写了几个日期,这似乎是他为进行最后论证而在时间表上写的日期。

Freedman开始争辩说,W&K重组、ATO调查和Wright博士接触Kleiman的家人都是相继发生的,在ATO调查事件的仅仅五天后,Wright博士接触了Dave的父亲Louis Kleiman。

Freedman说,Wright博士之所以接触Kleiman一家,是因为他知道Dave的家人可以让他摆脱ATO的麻烦。

然而,当Freedman似乎想通过推动这一点来结束其对Wright博士的审查工作时,他似乎退缩了——然后,庭审因到了午餐时间而中断,并且因为一名陪审员发烧而没有再开庭。

总结

今天,Wright博士继续出色地拖住了原告,尽管有几次原告律师似乎把Wright博士逼到了绝境,但Wright博士继续巧妙地摆脱了他。

今天所发生的真正的故事是那名生病的陪审员导致庭审提前结束了。如果这名陪审员确实患有新冠肺炎,这可能会使整个庭审的日程安排失调,从而拖延Kleiman诉Wright中本聪案的审理。我们将在周一重新开庭时知道发生了什么。

CoinGeek的Kurt Wuckert Jr.将会在每天的回顾报道中出镜,该回顾报道将于美国东部时间下午6:30在我们的YouTube频道进行现场直播。

请于此处观看Kleiman诉Wright案庭审特别报道第八天的内容:

请您于Kleiman诉Wright案的YouTube播放列表中查看所有的CoinGeek特别报道。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Kleiman v Wright Day 8 recap: Does one of Satoshi Nakamoto trial jurors have COVID?

Kleiman v Wright Day 8 recap: Does one of Satoshi Nakamoto trial jurors have COVID?

Court ended early on Day 8 of the Kleiman vs Wright (Satoshi Case) trial because one member of the jury was feeling ill and reported that she had a fever. Judge Beth Bloom presented the plaintiff and defendant legal counsel with two options:

  • Dismiss the juror and let the trial continue
  • End court early for the day and resume where we left off on Monday

The defendant’s counsel Andres Rivero proposed that the court should let the juror go, citing that we don’t know if she has COVID or not and that if she is ill, then it could have a domino effect on the trial and the date that the court returns to session.

Ultimately, Judge Beth Bloom decided that the Satoshi Nakamoto trial should be adjourned for the day, and dismissed the court roughly three hours before its scheduled end time of 5 p.m. EST.

So what happened in court?

Unfortunately, not much.

Each day court begins at approximately 10 a.m., and then takes a 20-minute “comfort break” around 11:30 a.m., and then by 1 p.m., the court takes a one-hour recess for lunch. That being said, we only saw two hours and 40 minutes of action today as opposed to the typical five hours and 20 minutes that we see when court runs its full duration.

But in the time that court was in session, plaintiff’s lawyer Vel Freedman continued his examination of Dr. Wright. Freedman continued to produce documents, both old and new, to try to prove that Dr. Wright has made some contradictory statements during his testimony given the previous evidence that Dr. Wright provided.

But Dr. Wright continues to argue that he does not recognize the documents being presented, that the email address on some of the documents is not his email address, that Freedman continues to inaccurately express the documents to the court, and that the documents Freedman is showing the court are not authentic. 

For the most part, Dr. Wright has done a good job holding the plaintiffs off, making sure their arguments never penetrated more than the surface. But there were two instances today where it looked like Freedman had Dr. Wright against the ropes.

After Dr. Wright continuously expressed that the evidence being shown from the Australian Taxation Office (ATO) was not authentic, Freedman reintroduced the evidence from Andrew Sommers, the lawyer for Dr. Wright’s company DeMorgan, that stated Sommer’s law firm had to terminate their relationship with their client DeMorgan because they believed Dr. Wright had fabricated documents that were sent to the law office as well as to the ATO.

Freedman also introduced a piece of evidence supporting the claim from Sommers that said:

“ATO records show that these emails were either never sent, or that the content of the emails has been altered from what was originally sent or received to support the contentions of the taxpayer (Dr. Wright) and related entities.” 

Dr. Wright fought back by saying the court will soon learn that the ATO was hacked and that none of the documents related to the ATO will be considered valid for this reason. 

The next instance where Freedman almost had Dr. Wright down for the count was when Freedman tried to show Dr. Wright that he is contradicting himself in regards to a statement he made about Dave Kleiman not being able to code.

“No, Dave did not create software, he edited software…Dave has never written a line of C code in his life,” Dr. Wright said.

To which Freedman produced a piece of evidence—a conversation from Dr. Wright in the MetaNet ICU slack channel in which one individual asked Dr. Wright:

“Dave had very great coding skills right?”

To which Dr. Wright responded, “He (Dave) was ok, Hal was good.”

Afterward, Freedman produced evidence, a message from Dr. Wright that stated:

“Dave took my 2 million lines of code that I had in 2010 and transformed these into a documented set of over 6 million lines of code.”

Then Freedman produced a document that showed that Dr. Wright’s companies were the owner of 6,088,555 lines of code, implying that Dave may have played a role in writing 6 million lines of that code. Dr. Wright responded by saying he always liked to build Dave up in public communications and that other developers (not Dave) added the massive amounts of new lines of code. Dr. Wright says that since Dave was his good friend, he wanted to make Dave look good in the public eye as well as out of respect for Dave’s family.

Where is this all going?

This remains unclear, the court was expecting the plaintiffs to finish their examination of Dr. Wright before lunch—but it didn’t happen. As we approached the lunch recess Freedman brought out a whiteboard and wrote several dates on it which appeared to be dates he was putting on a timeline to make his final argument.

Freedman began to argue that the W&K restructuring, the ATO investigation, and Dr. Wright reaching out to Kleiman’s family all occurred in succession of each other, with Dr. Wright reaching out to Dave’s father, Louis Kleiman, only five days after the ATO investigation incident. Freedman says Dr. Wright only reached out to the Kleimans because he knew that Dave’s family could get him out of trouble with the ATO.

However, Freedman seemed to back away from this argument just when it looked like he was looking to wrap up his examination of Dr. Wright by driving that point home—and then, the court broke for lunch and never went back into session because a juror felt feverish.

In conclusion

Today Dr. Wright continued to do a great job holding the plaintiffs off, although there were instances when it appeared the plaintiff’s lawyers had Dr. Wright against the ropes, Dr. Wright continued to skillfully escape. 

The real story today was the juror that got sick causing the court to dismiss early. If this juror does have COVID, it could throw the entire court schedule out of whack, delaying the Kleiman v Wright Satoshi case. We will find out what happens on Monday when the court is back in session.

CoinGeek will feature Kurt Wuckert Jr. in daily recap coverage which will be livestreamed on a daily basis at 6:30 p.m. EST on our YouTube Channel.

Watch our Day 8 Special Report from the Kleiman v Wright trial here:

Check out all of the CoinGeek special reports on the Kleiman v Wright YouTube playlist.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]