比特币从大问题中看到大机遇

历史学家玛格丽特·麦克米伦(Margaret MacMillan)在本周的《经济学人》中写道:“从灾难中走出的人们对彻底的变革持开放态度,”她不是第一位将“永不浪费好危机”,(温斯顿·丘吉尔多次引用)的旧观念应用于这次大流行。麦克米伦认为新冠肺炎在多个方面“挑战旧秩序”,从政治到生态,和经济等。

麦克米伦期待大变化肯定是正确的。你不再听到很多关于“恢复正常”的声音了。正如第二次世界大战促成了1945年联合国成立、1949年北约成立,全球领导权从英国转移到美国一样,人们猜测今天的危机将把我们带向何方。毕竟,它在全球范围、死亡率和社会动荡方面堪比世界大战。

任何危机都会带来希望。每个人都认为,无论他们希望的是什么,都已经发生。无论是气候变化、普遍基本收入、更新大学制度还是改革金融市场,现在看来都是好主意,并且最终势必通过。

那么,这将会是科技巨头运用线上世界主宰线下的机会?我们是否变成了皮克斯《机器人总动员》中的屏幕成瘾、个别孤立的人群,他们无所事事,只坐在椅子上不活动,盯着“巨购”(出现在该电影中的一家公司)的促销(口号:“你需要快乐的一切”)。

对于比特币SV的支持者来说,这场危机意味着可能进一步推进他们已经在积极推进的项目。对于一些人来说,健康与BSV之间的联系是切实的:EHR Data希望将个人健康记录在BSV区块链上。如果这种情况已经发生,测试和跟踪的效率可能会为个人和社会带来更好的结果。

对另一些人来说,BSV的机会不是那么真实。在此之后,国家货币将负债累累。在某个时候,太多的金钱将追逐越来越少的商品和服务供应,根据传统的经济理论,结果将是通货膨胀。

由于供应有限,比特币经常被认为是通货紧缩,这意味着它的稀缺将导致价值上升,使得它有可能随着时间的推移,以一定数量的比特币购买更多的东西。从理论上讲,这听起来不错,但如果它让人们死守自己的资金,等待它升值,这对迫切需要交易活动的经济体来说不是一件好事。

可以说,这场危机展示了传统货币体系的一些好处。事实上,政府可以凭空创造资金,尽管他们的国家在未来负债累累,这意味着人们可以获得休假(有新假期),并且可以购买基本物品和服务。随着通货膨胀开始浮出台面,个体会发现,他们的储蓄价值变低,但政府债务的负担将相应减少。

那么,危机是否让传统的货币体系看起来比比特币更可信?答案是否,原因如下。

首先,克雷格·怀特博士(Dr. Craig Wright),作为中本聪,在他的白皮书的标题中,将他的创作定义为“点对点电子现金系统”。比特币一直以来被设计成在现有的国家法律和政府框架内工作。他从未想过要把它当作钱囤积作投机目的。(在过去几年里,任何试图这样做的人想必非常失望。)

那么比特币是故意进行通货紧缩吗?这也许只是更重要的优先事项的副作用:在2月的CoinGeek会议上,怀特博士向乔治·吉尔德(George Glider)解释说,他希望有限地供应,以消除任何权威机构对比特币拥有权力的必要性。如果可以增加比特币的供应的可能性存在,那么某人,或某些机构将有权做出这些决定。他想要的是一个没有人能拥有这种影响力的系统。

无论经济学家说什么(而且有些人预测,与其说走向通货膨胀,我们正迈向停滞,因为太多人买不起东西),“稳定货币”这个概念具有一定常识性的,它绝不会被政客搞砸。

其次,当今BSV世界的能量是围绕在区块链上构建应用程序,应用程序允许以互联网上无法实现的方式进行微支付。“Bit”和“币”正在正确集成。这一切都涉及创建一个能够容纳更交易的系统。这是一种使用资金的方式,它与巨额政府债务和长期财政债务的世界就像是两个世界。无论是企业还是个人,这都是关于效用。从这个意义上说,比特币根本不是宏观经济辩论的一部分。

最后,整体而言,危机引发了一些关于货币的基本问题,这可能增加比特币的接受度。虽然自雇人士和其他许多人突然发现自己面临财政困难,但政府却满怀信心地称要拿出数十亿来拯救他们。那么,钱从何而来,为什么政府可以如此容易操纵呢?它真的可能吗?

当您试图向一个毫无概念的人解说比特币时,他们往往会停留在“相信”它。如果只是计算机上的代码,它真的是钱吗?那么,将2,100万个比特币与无限量的美元、英镑或政府捏造的任何东西进行比较。在什么程度上,比特币比一群惊慌失措的政客试图应对危机讨论得出的货币单位真实程度要低?

2008年的金融危机恰逢比特币的出现。当时,关注重点是比特币的货币属性。冠状病毒危机与其说是金钱,不如说是公共卫生、工作、交通和现实世界的其他方面有关。那么,强调现实世界效用的比特币再次并行运行是在恰当不过。

对于这场危机,BSV是与硅谷的竞争,而非华尔街。硅谷不一定面临危机。与其说跟踪应用程序拯救大众,病毒或许正在暴露谷歌、苹果以及民选政府之间,谁有权获取我们数据的矛盾关系

那么,当这场恶劣的战争结束时,我们将在哪里?是否会接受世界卫生组织等国际机构需要重建?这是否会被视为世界权利中心从美国转向中国的时候?在技术方面,是否会以其笨拙的支付方式,用其独特的收费和奖励最小行动的能力,标志着从互联网过度向Metanet

如果资金短缺,它肯定会发生,那么BSV的愿景,即能够以极小(小到您几乎注意不到)的数量进行支付的优势,这一点在它的支持者看来肯定会比现在更加明显。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

From big problems come big opportunities for Bitcoin

“People coming out of a calamity are open to sweeping changes,” writes the historian Margaret MacMillan in this week’s Economist. She’s not the first to apply the old idea of ‘never waste a good crisis’, often attributed to Winston Churchill, to the pandemic. MacMillan sees COVID-19 as “challenging the old order” on many fronts, from the political to the ecological and economic. 

Macmillan is surely right to expect big changes. You don’t hear much about ‘getting back to normal’ any more. Just as World War II led to the creation of the United Nations in 1945, NATO in 1949 and the transfer of global leadership from Britain to the United States, there’s speculation about where today’s crisis will take us. After all, it’s comparable to a world war in global reach, mortality and social disruption.

There’s a pattern to the hopes that any crisis raises. Everyone thinks that whatever they already wanted to happen—whether it’s action on climate change, Universal Basic Income, updating the university system or reforming the financial markets—is now so obviously a good idea that it must finally come to pass. 

Is this, for instance, a chance for the tech giants to make the online world dominate the offline? Are we morphing into versions of the screen-addicted, individually isolated population of Pixar’s WALL-E who do nothing but sit inactive in their chairs, staring at offers from Buy n Large (slogan: “everything you need to be happy”).

For supporters of Bitcoin SV, the crisis suggests possibilities to push forward the project in ways they were already pursuing. For some, the connection between health and BSV is a concrete, literal one: EHR Data wants to put individual health records on the BSV blockchain. If that had already happened, efficiencies in testing and tracking might have led to better outcomes for individuals and society. 

For others, the opportunities for BSV are not so literal. National currencies will be horribly in debt after this. At some point, too much money will be chasing a reduced supply of goods and services and the result, according to classical economic theory, will be inflation. 

With its limited supply, Bitcoin is often said to be deflationary, meaning that through scarcity, its value rises, making it possible, in time, to buy more things with a certain number of Bitcoin. That sounds good in theory, but if it makes people hang on to their money, waiting for it to be worth more, that won’t be good for economies that urgently need activity. 

Arguably, the crisis has demonstrated some advantages to the traditional money system. The fact that governments can simply create money out of nothing, albeit putting their countries in debt for the future, means that people can be furloughed (paid for not working), and essential goods and services can be bought. As inflation works its way through the system, individuals will find, to their distress, that their savings are worth less but government debt will become correspondingly less burdensome. 

So, does the crisis make traditional monetary systems look more credible than Bitcoin? Well, no, for several reasons. 

Firstly, Dr. Craig Wright, as Satoshi Nakamoto, defined his creation in the title of his whitepaper as “A Peer-to-Peer Electronic Cash System”. Bitcoin was always designed to work within existing frameworks of national law and government. He never envisaged it as money to be hoarded for speculative purposes. (Anyone trying to do that in the past couple of years will have been sorely disappointed.) 

So is Bitcoin deliberately deflationary? That may just be a side-effect of a more important priority: Dr. Wright explained to George Gilder at the CoinGeek Conference in February that he wanted a limited supply in order to remove the need for any authority to have power over Bitcoin. If it were possible to increase the supply of Bitcoin, then someone, or some body of people, would have the power to make those decisions. He wanted a system over which nobody has that kind of influence. 

Whatever economists say (and some predict that far from leading to inflation, we’re heading for stagnation because too many people won’t be able to afford to buy things), there’s a common sense appeal to the idea of ‘stable money’ which can’t be messed with by politicians. 

Second, the energy in the BSV world today is around the building of applications on the blockchain—apps that allow micropayments in ways that have not been possible on the Internet. “Bits” and “coins” are being properly integrated. It’s all about creating a system that will accommodate more and more transactions. This is a use of money that’s a million miles from the world of huge government debt and long-term financial obligations. It’s all about utility for users, whether in business or as individuals. In that sense, Bitcoin is simply not part of the macroeconomic debate.  

Finally, and more generally, the crisis has prompted some basic questions about money which could lead to more acceptance of Bitcoin. Whilst the self-employed and many others suddenly find themselves in financial difficulties, governments talk with confidence about whisking up billions to bail them out. So where does money come from and why is it so easy for governments to manipulate? Is it even real?

When you try to explain Bitcoin to someone who is new to the idea, they often get stuck on ‘believing’ in it. If it’s just code inside a computer, can it really be money? Well, compare the 21 million Bitcoin that will ever exist with the infinite numbers of dollars, pounds or whatever that governments are conjuring up. In what sense is Bitcoin less real than units of currency that only exist as a result of a meeting of panicked politicians trying to cope with a crisis?

The 2008 financial crisis coincided with the emergence of Bitcoin. Back then, the emphasis was on Bitcoin’s monetary properties. The Coronavirus crisis is less about money and more about public health, work, transport and other aspects of the real world. How fitting then that Bitcoin is running in parallel again, with its emphasis on real world utility.

For this crisis, BSV is more in competition with Silicon Valley than with Wall Street. And Silicon Valley is not necessarily having a good crisis. Far from saving the day with tracking apps, the virus may be exposing the fraught relationship between the likes of Google and Apple and elected governments over who has the right to our data. 

So where will we be when this lousy war is over? Will there be an acceptance that international bodies such as the World Health Organisation need rebuilding? Will it be seen as the time when the centre of world power shifted from the United States to China? And in technology, will it mark the transition from the Internet, with its clumsy payment methods, to the Metanet, with its unique ability to charge and reward the smallest actions? 

If money is in short supply, as it surely will be, then the advantage of the BSV vision of being able to pay for things in quantities that are so small you will hardly notice, will surely seem even more obvious than it already did to its supporters.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.