Elon Musk and twitter

Elon Musk收购Twitter后,主张言论自由的粉丝纷纷涌回Twitter

在亿万富翁Elon Musk成功收购该公司之后,Twitter目前正在经历“柏林墙倒塌”的时刻。 “言论自由绝对主义者”马斯克承诺恢复社交网络上的言论自由,并锁定Twitter的源代码以防止员工篡改。

距离马斯克支付26.4亿美元成为Twitter的最大股东后才过了几周时间,他就提出了以每股54.20美元或总计约440亿美元的价格收购该公司的全部股权。Twitter的董事会最初有些犹豫,并谈到部署“毒丸”措施以防止收购。然而,事实证明,迫于股东和马斯克粉丝的压力,董事会昨晚一致批准了这一提议。董事会的批准意味着所有公开交易的股票将自动以所标注的价格出售给马斯克。

Twitter在被收购后会再次成为私营企业,其股票将不会被公开交易。这意味着Twitter将不再需要满足相同报告的要求和受制于激进主义股东的束缚,而正是这些事物使得Twitter的性质自2013年首次公开募股(IPO) 以来发生了变化。

马斯克收购Twitter的消息促使人们瞬间改变

数千名先前被禁的用户涌入平台庆祝这一消息,发表了数千条先前被禁止发布的声明。但是,大多数用户的帐户都是新创建的,而不是用户恢复先前的帐户继续用。尽管有些是真实账户,但也有一些充满骗局和诱惑的虚假帐户等着狂热的Twitter追随者落入圈套。

在过去五年中,大多数在Twitter上被禁言的人都属于政治领域的保守派或右派。Twitter和主流媒体上进步派或自由派的一些负面回应也证实了这一说法,许多受欢迎的账户和Twitter员工威胁道要在马斯克接任后辞职。

现在说Twitter能否恢复它曾作为一个言论自由的免费平台的辉煌岁月还为时过早。

2016年唐纳德·特朗普当选美国总统后,对推特(和其他社交网络)的审查达到了高潮。最初被删除Twitter账号的是那些具有更“极端”政治立场的人,以及那些被认为观点过于极端的流行媒体人物,例如Milo Yiannopoulos和Alex Jones。然而,随着岁月的流逝,成千上万的普通用户的Twitter账号也遭到了禁用,然而他们只是表达了被认为在主流可接受范围之外的观点,或者反驳了官媒关于新冠肺炎大流行、选举公平和性别平等问题的观点。

在前首席执行官和原创始人Jack Dorsey的统治下,围绕区块链和数字资产的讨论也受到了审查。自称是言论自由支持者的Dorsey也是BTC最大化主义者。他进行的领导工作包括负责监督删除包括比特币系统发明者Craig S. Wright博士在内的Twitter账户,许多BSV支持者声称他们的账户已被“暗中封禁”。

在Dorsey于2021年11月离职后,与区块链相关的话题发生了显著的变化。Wright博士回归Twitter,尽管使用了一个新的帐号,而不是使用先前被禁止的帐号,并且他已承诺使用该帐户发布公告和官方声明,而不是使用过去那种更加自由和充满意识流的帖子。

Twitter能否重拾昔日的自由精神?

据报道,2021年唐纳德·特朗普本人在担任现任总统期间Twitter账号被封,他对这一消息的回应是祝马斯克一切顺利,但补充说他不会再用Twitter。特朗普最近试图推出属于自己的“言论自由社交网络”,名为Truth Social。

Truth Social和其他Twitter替代品(如Gab、Gettr和Parler)作为被其他网络禁止的社交媒体账户的避风港而受到了一些关注。然而,他们也面临着对流行应用商店的审查和禁令的指责,以及支持者和批评者的批评,因为这些社交媒体倾向于关注局限于狭窄话题范围的单一文化。

凭借其主张即时自由地发表言论的特点,Twitter在过去十年中广受欢迎,其网络效应意味着其拥有满足所有口味和兴趣的讨论话题。然而,它也难以从其广告模式中获利,其股价已从之前的高位回落,这些因素可能使得马斯克的慷慨收购要约更具吸引力。

Twetch使用BSV区块链存储帖子和小额支付以供人们使用,它受到了BSV粉丝和NFT交易者的欢迎。该公司表示如果小额支付能够发挥作用,那么社交媒体就有一种新的商业模式,就像它们在BSV上很容易做到的那样。

虽然有些人对Twitter的新归属感到兴奋,就像青少年拥有他们的第一辆车一样,但其他人仍然对此保持谨慎。该网络仍然面临来自政府和主流媒体(他们认为这是对其言论所占据的主导地位的威胁)以及会因压制异议而受益的社会正义活动家的巨大压力。马斯克没有说明他将对“言论自由”施加什么(如果有的话)限制,而且人们还需观察一个人——即使他是世界上最富有的人——是否真的有能力将互联网文化转变回原来的样子。

另请观看:CoinGeek纽约大会小组讨论,使用区块链获得更好的互联网体验

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Elon Musk and twitter

Free speech fans flock back to Twitter after Elon Musk takeover

Twitter is currently experiencing a “fall of the Berlin Wall” moment following billionaire Elon Musk’s successful takeover of the company. Musk, a “free speech absolutist,” has promised to restore open discussion on the social network and lock Twitter’s source code to prevent employee tampering.

Just weeks after paying US$2.64 billion to become Twitter’s largest shareholder, Musk assembled a takeover offer for 100% of the company for $54.20 per share or around US$44 billion total. There was some initial hesitance from Twitter’s board and talks of deploying “poison pill” measures to prevent the buyout. However, pressure from shareholders and Musk fans proved too great, and the board unanimously approved the offer last night. The board’s approval means all publicly traded shares will automatically be sold to Musk at the price offered.

Following the takeover, Twitter will become a privately-owned company again, and its shares will not be publicly traded. This means Twitter will no longer be subject to the same reporting requirements and shareholder activism that have changed its nature since its initial public offering (IPO) in 2013.

Musk takeover news prompts instant change

Thousands of previously banned users celebrated the news by flooding back to the platform, making thousands of previously banned statements. However, most are in the form of newly created accounts rather than reinstated ones. Although some are genuine, there are also several scams and honeypot accounts waiting to trap enthusiastic followers.

Most of those removed from Twitter in the past five years fall on the conservative/right side of the political spectrum. And some negative responses from progressive/liberal voices on Twitter and mainstream media lend credence to this claim, with many popular accounts and Twitter employees threatening to quit once Musk takes over.

It’s too early to say whether Twitter can rediscover its glory days as a free-for-all open discussion platform.

Censorship on Twitter (and other social networks) had reached a crescendo following the 2016 election of Donald Trump to the U.S. presidency. Initial removals represented those with more “extreme” political stances, as well as popular media figures with opinions considered too outre, such as Milo Yiannopoulos and Alex Jones. As the years went on, however, the ban-hammer also fell on thousands of ordinary users who merely expressed views considered outside the window of mainstream acceptability or who had countered official media narratives on topics like the COVID-19 pandemic, election fairness, and gender issues.

Under the reign of previous CEO and original founder Jack Dorsey, there was also censorship surrounding blockchain and digital asset discussions. Dorsey, who claims to be a free speech supporter himself, is also a BTC maximalist. His leadership oversaw the removal of accounts, including Bitcoin creator Dr. Craig S. Wright, and many BSV supporters claimed their accounts had been “shadowbanned.”

Following Dorsey’s departure in November 2021, there was a notable shift in blockchain-related conversation. Dr. Wright returned to Twitter, though under a new account name rather than his banned one, and he has pledged to use the account for announcements and official statements rather than his more free-form and stream-of-consciousness posts of the past.

Can Twitter recapture its old free spirit?

Donald Trump, himself was banned from Twitter in 2021 while he was still the sitting President, reportedly responded to the news by wishing Musk well but added that he wouldn’t be returning. Trump has recently attempted to launch his own “free speech social network,” called Truth Social. 

Truth Social and other Twitter alternatives, such as Gab, Gettr, and Parler, received some buzz as havens for social media accounts banned from other networks. However, they have faced their own accusations of censorship and bans from popular app stores, as well as criticisms from both supporters and detractors for their tendency to become mono-cultures restricted to narrow topic ranges.

Free, fast speech made Twitter wildly popular over the past decade, and its network effect meant there were discussion topics to suit all tastes and interests. However, it also struggled to make a profit from its advertising model, and its share price has slumped from previous highs, factors that likely made Musk’s generous takeover offer more appealing.

Twetch, which uses the BSV blockchain for storing posts and micropayments for usage, has been popular with BSV fans and NFT traders. The company demonstrated there is a new business model for social media if micropayments can function, as they do quite easily on BSV. 

While some are excited about Twitter’s new ownership, like a teenager in their first car, others remain cautious. The network still faces heavy pressure from governments and the mainstream media (who see it as a threat to their narrative dominance), as well as social justice activists who had benefitted from having dissenting voices silenced. Musk has not stated what (if any) limits he will place on “free speech,” and it’s yet to be seen if one man—even if he’s the richest man in the world—actually has the power to shift the internet’s culture back to the way it was.

Watch: CoinGeek New York panel, A Better Internet Experience using Blockchain

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]