美国金融犯罪执法网发现COVID-19疫情对数字货币诈骗的影响

美国金融犯罪执法网(FinCEN)主任肯尼思·布兰科(Kenneth Blanco)表示,FinCEN已经注意到与新冠肺炎相关的数字货币诈骗和利用案件有所增加。

据FINCEN透露,自2013年以来,向其机构报告的数字货币欺诈案件超过70,000起。布兰科在CoinDesk Consensus活动上指出,即使网络犯罪分子没有使用数字货币直接欺骗投资者,虚拟货币公司也会成为犯罪分子用来洗钱的途径。

布兰科表示:“FinCEN已经发现网络犯罪分子主要通过虚拟货币洗钱,购买工具进行恶意活动。FinCEN通过咨询服务和FinCEN交易所计划,向金融机构提供有关非法虚拟货币使用类型的一手信息。”同时,FinCEN还向外界共享网络危害迹象,帮助金融部门检测、报告和防范可能与非法金融活动相关的网络活动。

许多人认为数字货币比法定货币更匿名,因此在某些情况下,犯罪分子试图利用数字资产来隐藏他们的踪迹。金融行动特别工作组(FATF)在最近的一份声明中指出,“滥用线上金融服务和虚拟资产转移和隐藏非法资金”的情况有所增加。这可能是因为新冠肺炎COVID-19的肆虐对网络犯罪存在影响。

新冠肺炎导致金融犯罪增加

根据金融行动特别工作组的报告,自新冠肺炎COVID-19疫情爆发以来,金融犯罪一直在上升。

受疫情影响,许多当地企业包括办公楼都已关门。这导致人们比平常花更多的时间上网,这为网络罪犯提供了完美机会,通过互联网敲诈不知情的个人。

因此,像FinCEN这样的政府机构一直在发布教育材料,好让人们意识到风险并帮助他们避免与数字货币有关的骗局。这不仅限于美国的政府机构;最近,新西兰政府发布了一份新闻稿,提醒该国公民警惕与数字货币有关的诈骗。

小心使得万年船,在这里也给我们的读者提醒,希望大家做好研究,注意任何可疑的活动或噱头,如果未知的个人或公司要求你给他们钱,通常情况下,这就是骗局。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

FinCEN finds strong correlation between COVID-19 and digital currency scams

Kenneth Blanco, director of the Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN), says that FinCEN has noticed an increase in coronavirus related digital currency scams and exploitation.

According to FINCEN, there have been over 70,000 cases of digital currency-related fraud reported to their agency since 2013. Blanco noted at CoinDesk Consensus event that even if cyber criminals were not using digital currency to directly defraud investors, that virtual currency companies are a resource that criminals use to launder money.

“FinCEN has observed that cybercriminals predominantly launder their proceeds and purchase the tools to conduct their malicious activities via virtual currency,” said Blanco. “FinCEN has provided priority information on typologies of illicit virtual currency use to financial institutions through our advisory and FinCEN Exchange programs. FinCEN is also sharing cyber indicators of compromise to help the financial sector detect, report, and defend against cyber activity that may be connected with illicit financial activity.”

Many people believe digital currency is more anonymous than fiat, therefore, there are instances where criminals try to hide their paper trail by using digital assets. In a recent statement, the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) noted an increase in the “misuse of online financial services and virtual assets to move and conceal illicit funds.” This may be because there is a correlation between COVID-19 and cybercrime.

Coronavirus has led to an increase in financial crime

According to the FATF report, since the COVID-19 pandemic began, financial crimes have been on the rise. Due to pandemic, many local businesses have closed their doors, including offices. This has caused people to spend more time than usual online, which makes the internet a perfect attack vector for cybercriminals looking to extort unsuspecting individuals.

As a result, government agencies like FinCEN have been releasing educational materials that make people aware and help them avoid digital currency-related scams. This is not limited to government agencies in the United States; recently, the New Zealand government published a press release warning their citizens of digital currency-related scams.

It never hurts to remind our audience to do their own research and be aware of any suspicious activity or solicitation where unknown individuals or companies are requesting that you send them money—because more often than not, instances like these are a scam.   

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]