新研究发现罪犯更喜欢BTC

美国非营利智库兰德公司(Rand Corporation)最近进行的研究发现,“尽管创建了几种更注重隐私的加密货币,比特币[BTC]仍然被视为暗网上非法或犯罪活动的主要加密货币。”

兰德的发现与The Block此前进行的暗网市场研究一致,该研究指出,在31个暗网市场中,有93%的市场支持BTC。

兰德的加密货币报告

兰德的研究题为“探索将Zcash加密货币用于非法或犯罪目的”,是受电子代币公司(Electric Coin Company)委托,该公司创建了匿名数字货币Zcash。

该报告发现,“尽管大多数使用虚拟代币的交易是合法的,但加密货币也被各种各样的恶意行为群体用于各种非法或犯罪目的。”

它列出了数字货币的三个“最突出的非法用例”:洗钱、非法商品和服务贸易以及恐怖主义融资。

并非所有数字资产都是为非法和犯罪活动而创造的,例如,比特币受到监管、完全透明,在暗网市场并不存在。但是,有一些数字货币,如BTC和隐私币门罗币(XRM)等被公认为是用于非法或灰色市场活动的首选数字资产。

该报告发现Zcash几乎与暗网市场没有联系或被使用。但是,言外之意这并不意味着Zcash没有用于犯罪或非法活动。

Zcash哪里出了问题

Zcash被视为“真正的匿名”;“不像比特币”这本身就是一个危险信号。当交易在黑匣子中进行时,它会使你停下来去猜测谁在使用数字货币,以及他们使用的数字货币是为了什么。

守法的公民没有什么可隐瞒的,他们不需要像Zcash这样的匿名货币。匿名货币往往吸引罪犯和那些希望从事非法或灰色市场业务的人,因为他们的身份在整个非法活动过程中被屏蔽。

你还必须问为什么Zcash背后的实体正在委托对Zcash进行研究。你一直希望研究是由一个独立的第三方完成的,而不是由具有特定利益和优惠结果的团体支付的公司进行。

尽管兰德的研究表明,“Zcash在暗网中仅占很少的比例,这表明Zcash被视为对暗网用户的吸引力较小,与其他加密货币(尤其是比特币和门罗币)相比,使用频率较低。”

你不应该被愚弄,以为Zcash不是犯罪货币。其匿名性质不仅允许罪犯使用它,而且实际上鼓励他们这样做。这就是为什么过去一些加密货币交易所被迫将Zcash和其他匿名数字资产除名的原因,也是今后还有更多人这样做的原因。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

New research finds that criminals prefer BTC

Recent research conducted by U.S. non-profit think tank Rand Corporation has found that “Bitcoin [BTC] is still perceived to be the dominant cryptocurrency for illicit or criminal activities on the dark web, despite the creation of several more privacy-focused cryptocurrencies.”

Rand’s findings are in line with previous darknet market research conducted by The Block, which noted that out of the 31 darknet marketplaces, 93% of those marketplaces supported BTC.

Rand’s cryptocurrency report

Rand’s research, titled ‘Exploring the use of Zcash cryptocurrency for illicit or criminal purposes,’ was commissioned by the Electric Coin Company–the entity that created the anonymous digital currency Zcash.

The report found that “While most transactions made with virtual coins are legitimate, cryptocurrencies are also used for a wide range of illicit or criminal purposes by a diverse group of malicious actors.”

It listed the three “most prominent illicit use-cases” for digital currencies: money laundering, trade in illicit goods and services, and terrorism financing.

Not all digital assets were created for illicit use and criminal activity, for instance, Bitcoin is regulated, fully transparent, and has zero presence on darknet markets. However, there are digital currencies like BTC and privacy coin Monero (XRM) that are known to be the preferred digital asset to use for illegal or grey market activities.

The report found that Zcash had little to no ties/use on darknet marketplaces. However, when you read between the lines, this does not mean that Zcash is not criminal or being used for illicit activities.

Where Zcash goes wrong

The fact that Zcash is marketed as “truly anonymous; unlike bitcoin” is a red flag in itself. When transactions take place in a black box, it makes you stop and wonder who is using the digital currency and what they are using it for. 

Law-abiding citizens don’t have anything to hide, they have no need for an anonymous currency like Zcash. Anonymous currencies tend to attract criminals and those looking to do illegal or grey market business because their identity is 100% shielded throughout their illicit endeavors.

You also have to ask why the entity behind Zcash is commissioning research about Zcash. You always want research to be done by an independent third party, not a company that was paid by groups with specific interests and preferentially outcomes.

Although Rand’s research shows that “Zcash has only a minor presence on the dark web, indicating that Zcash is seen as a less attractive option to dark web users and is used less often compared to other cryptocurrencies, particularly Bitcoin and Monero.” 

You should not be fooled into believing that Zcash is not a criminal currency. Its anonymous nature not only allows criminals to use it, but it practically encourages them to do so. This is why several cryptocurrency exchanges have been forced to delist Zcash and other anonymous digital assets in the past, and the reason that many more will be doing the same in the future.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.