以太坊经典实验室打算起诉NiceHash

以太坊经典实验室(Ethereum Classic Labs)计划与执法人员和全球监管机构合作,要求算力租赁服务商遵守《了解你的客户》(Know Your Customer)和《反洗钱》法规。

ETC Labs在最新发布的博客文章中将以太坊网络上发生的51%攻击归咎于NiceHash。ETC Labs声称:

“许多交易所和其他数字资产服务提供商都实施了强大的“了解你的客户”和反洗钱计划,但是,NiceHash等算力租赁平台往往声称自己不受监管,而这可能会为洗钱和其他非法活动提供便利。”

“如果很少或根本不依照“了解你的客户”和反洗钱法规,或者不进行加密地址审查,那么客户就可以租用哈希率,从而可能为没有历史记录的新铸造代币进行加密货币洗钱。鉴于哈希率对于工作量证明类区块链的安全性极为重要,所以这对整个区块链生态系统来说是严重的安全隐患。”

在这篇博文的大部分篇幅中,将以太坊经典上个月遭遇的三次51%攻击归咎于NiceHash。博文中还声称NiceHash是在灰色地带运营,公司的创始人也是个惯犯。

NiceHash联合创始人的犯罪记录

NiceHash的联合创始人兼首席技术官马特亚兹·斯科尔扬克(Matjaz Skorjanc)曾在2011年因牵涉进蝴蝶僵尸网络案件而被捕,据报道,该病毒感染的计算机数目约为100万台,造成的损失约为400万美元。除了制造蝴蝶病毒,斯科尔扬克还与创建网络犯罪平台Darkode有关。

2015年,斯科尔扬克因上述罪名被起诉,在斯洛文尼亚监狱服刑4年10个月。随后在2019年,由于美国司法部签发了对斯科尔扬克的逮捕令,他在德国被捕。美国政府正准备起诉斯科尔扬克,罪名是参与了“2008年至2013年发生的几起计算机诈骗案”,以及属于“导致受害者损失数百万欧元的犯罪集团的成员”,美国政府希望将斯科尔扬克引渡到美国接受指控。

尚未证明NiceHash公司从事了任何非法行为,但是ETC Labs表示NiceHash没有依照“了解你的客户”和反洗钱法规,因此很容易通过NiceHash为犯罪行为提供便利,这些都是很公正的说法。目前尚不清楚适用于现金服务业务的法律是否也适用于交易分布式计算能力的公司。

不管怎样,ETC Labs似乎都会起诉Nicehash,ETC Labs表示,“为了保护以太坊经典的网络,ETC Labs和合作伙伴将采取一切必要措施,包括对从事或助长恶意攻击行为的人采取法律行动。ETC Labs目前正与相关司法管辖区的机构合作,近期将分享更多信息和最新进展。”

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Ethereum Classic Labs looking to sue NiceHash

Ethereum Classic Labs is planning to work with law enforcement officials and global regulators to get hash rental services to comply with the Know Your Customer and Anti-Money Laundering laws.

In its latest blog post, ETC Labs blames NiceHash for the 51% attacks taking place on the Ethereum network. It claimed:

“Many exchanges and other digital asset service providers have implemented robust KYC and anti-money laundering programs, however, hash rental platforms such as NiceHash often purport to be unregulated, potentially facilitating money laundering and other illegal activities.

“With little or no KYC, AML, or crypto address screening, customers have the ability to rent hash rate to potentially launder cryptocurrency for freshly minted tokens with no history. Considering how important hash rate is to the security of Proof-of-Work blockchains, this is a serious vulnerability for the blockchain ecosystem as a whole.”

The majority of the post blames NiceHash for the three 51% attacks that Ethereum Classic has experienced in the past month. The post also claims that NiceHash is operating in a grey area and that the company’s founder is no stranger to crime.

NiceHash co-founder’s criminal record

NiceHash co-founder and CTO Matjaz Skorjanc was arrested in 2011 in connection with the Mariposa botnet, which reportedly infected roughly 1 million computers and resulted in roughly $4 million in damages. Aside from creating Mariposa, Skorjanc was also linked to the creation of cybercrime forum Darkode.

In 2015, Skorjanc was charged for these crimes, and served 4 years and 10 months in a Slovenian jail. However, in 2019, Skorjanc was arrested in Germany because the U.S. Department of Justice had issued a warrant for his arrest. The U.S. government is looking to prosecute Skorjanc for his involvement “in several computer frauds between 2008 and 2013” and for being “a member of a criminal group in which the victims were damaged by several million euro,” and are hoping that Skorjanc will be extradited to the U.S. to face charges.

NiceHash, as a company, has not been proven guilty of any illicit conduct; although ETC Labs makes fair points regarding there being no KYC or AML on NiceHash, and therefore, it being easy to facilitate crime via NiceHash, it remains unclear whether the laws that apply to money service businesses apply to a company that deals in distributed computing power.

Regardless, it looks like ETC Labs will be pressing charges against Nicehash, ETC Labs says that, “ETC Labs and its partners will take all steps necessary to secure the Ethereum Classic network, including legal action against those who conduct or facilitate malicious attacks. ETC Labs is currently working with authorities in relevant jurisdictions and will share more information as well as progress updates shortly.”

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]