以太经典在8月份遭受三次51%算力攻击

8月29日,以太经典(ETC)网络再次遭受51%算力攻击,导致7000个区块出现重组。这是该网络在8月份遭受的第三次51%算力攻击,第一次发生于8月1,第二次发生于8月5

“今天,#ETC网络再次遭受大规模51%算力攻击,导致7000多个区块出现重组,大约相当于2天的挖矿量。丢失的所有区块将从未成熟余额中移除,我们将核对所有已丢失交易的支付情况。”

——Bitfly(@etherchain_org),2020年8月29日

唾手可得

ETC网络之所以再三遭受51%算力攻击,是因为对其发起攻击相对容易且成本低。当Crypto51网站计算了对区块链发动攻击的每小时成本时,人们发现可能只需要5332美元即可对ETC发起51%算力攻击,除非ETC社区能够找到降低发生51%算力攻击率的解决方案,否则发起攻击的成本将变得越来越低。

为什么攻击成本只会变得越来越低

每次遭到51%算力攻击后,以太经典数字货币矿工都会停止对该网络的支持。针对ETC网络的算力越少,则越容易遭受51%算力攻击;尤其是你还可以从算力提供商NiceHash处购买攻击ETC网络所需的算力。

自8月29日遭到攻击后,ETC算力暴跌约20%,从2.88 TH/S降至攻击后的2.28 TH/S。

如何化解?

以太经典实验室提出了一份51%算力攻击保护计划,包括防御挖矿策略以及潜在的共识算法修改,但该计划目前尚未执行。

而在解决方案实施之前,数字货币服务提供商不得不增加完成ETC交易所需的确认时间。

“鉴于近期以太经典频频遇袭,我们将其提交至Coinbase & Coinbase Pro交易所的确认时间延长至2周。我们将积极关注事态发展,并酌情提供最新消息。

— Coinbase Support(@CoinbaseSupport),202088

在8月29日发生攻击后不久,Coinbase将ETC交易的确认时间大幅延长至2周(336个小时!)。但在找到解决方案之前,预计越来越多的服务提供商将采取与Coinbase类似的做法,或者将ETC除名,例如,因8月1日ETC遭受攻击而导致其交易所损失560万美元后,OKEx曾威胁对ETC除名。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Ethereum Classic experiences third 51% attack in August

The Ethereum Classic (ETC) network suffered yet another 51% attack on August 29, resulting in a 7,000 block re-org. It marks the third 51% attack on the network in August, with the first taking place on August 1 followed by another on August 5.

Low hanging fruit

The ETC network is repeatedly being 51% attacked because it is relatively easy—and cheap—to attack. On the Crypto51 site, which calculates how much it would cost to 51% attack a blockchain for one hour, it was found that it would only cost $5,332 to 51% attack ETC—and it is only going to get cheaper unless the ETC community comes up with a solution to mitigate the chance of a 51% attack taking place.

Why is it only going to get cheaper?

After each 51% attack, Ethereum Classic digital currency miners have been discontinuing their support for the network. The less hash there is pointed at the ETC network, the easier it becomes to 51% attack the network; especially since you can purchase the hash power you need to 51% attack the ETC network from the hash provider NiceHash.

ethereum-classic-experiences-third-51-attack-in-august
Source: 2miners

After the August 29 attack, the ETC hash rate plummeted roughly 20%, dropping from 2.88 TH/S to 2.28 TH/S post-attack.

The solution?

Ethereum Classic Labs proposed a 51% attack protection plan that includes a defensive mining strategy and a potential change in consensus algorithm, however, it has not been implemented yet.

Until a solution is implemented, digital currency service providers are encouraged to increase the number of confirmations that they require for ETC transactions.

Shortly after the August 29th attack, Coinbase increased the confirmation time for ETC transactions to a whopping 2 weeks (336 hours!). But until a solution is discovered, you can expect more service providers to follow in the footsteps of Coinbase, or to delist ETC, like OKEx threatened to do after their exchange experienced a $5.6 million loss due to the August 1st ETC attack.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.