Craig Wright博士的比特币被盗案:事情的经过是这样的

随着Craig Wright博士被盗比特币案中的三名被告的诉状本周被正式送达,关于该诉讼的更多细节也已经浮出水面。

特别是,原告律师提交了一份30页的证词,这份与本案有关的证词由Wright博士提供。在证词中,Wright博士对2020年导致他失去11.1万枚比特币的黑客攻击事件以及比特币本身的起源进行了更多的阐述——自2020年黑客攻击的消息传出以来,这两个问题一直是(大家)猜测的对象。

郁金香贸易公司持有的资产

Wright博士在2020年6月最初发给几个协议开发人员的信中提到了这些地址——由于黑客攻击,他再也无法访问这些地址。这些是所谓的1Feex和12ib7地址,由郁金香贸易有限公司合法拥有,该公司由Wright博士所有,它是当前诉讼的正式原告。

自2015年曝光Wright博士为中本聪以来,围绕Wright博士持有比特币的猜测一直很猖獗。因此可以预见,这些地址吸引了相当多的公众关注。

尤其有传言称,1Feex地址与2014年曝光的臭名昭著的Mt.Gox黑客有关。这些传言从未得到证实。后来,(人们可以)很明显看出,谣言的唯一来源是Mark Karpeles与Jed McCaled之间的一段据称是(通过)Skype(进行的)对话的纯文本日志。该日志被埋没在了起诉呈件中,这是多年来针对Mt. Gox提起的众多诉讼之一。

无论如何,Wright博士的最新证词包含了他在2020年6月对Mt. Gox传言的回应中阐述的相同事实,只不过(这份证词)更加详细。

2011年2月,Wright通过一家俄罗斯数字资产交易所WMIRK购买了1Feex币。他是使用Liberty Reserve中的美元购买的,这是一种与现在臭名昭著的Liberty Reserve公司相关联的已不复存在的数字货币。Wright博士收到了Liberty Reserve中的美元,比特币的购买量由他用这些美元可以换取的金额来决定。这笔交易受到了一份订单的支持,这份订单很可能会成为Wright案件的一部分,尽管Wright博士承认这份订单不是他创建的,其中包含一些不准确因素。无论如何,Wright持有的大量比特币,包括那些2011年购买的比特币,在他与澳大利亚税务局的大量互动中都被提及。这次在2011年的购买应将它放到Mark Karpeles收购Mt. Gox以及该公司被黑客入侵之前。

根据声明,这两个地址中包含的资产都是作为投资买入的,因此在2020年2月的黑客攻击之前“多年”都没有被访问过。

正如Wright博士在2020年6月的回复中所说的那样,Mt. Gox或当局从未就1Feex地址与他或他的律师联系过。尽管Wright博士和他的律师一直公开邀请任何想要维护1Feex币所有权的人前来(进行商讨),但这种情况仍然存在(即没有任何人就此事与他们联系)。

黑客攻击事件

黑客可以使用存储于Wright博士在萨里郡的家中的家用电脑上的密钥来控制对郁金香贸易公司的币的访问。密钥储存在加密的wallet.dat文件中,该文件被包含在受密码保护的RAR文件中。wallet.dat文件本身也受到算法屏蔽方案的保护,作为附加的保护层。

Wright博士发现,2020年2月8日(周六)发生了一起黑客攻击事件,当时他注意到三笔交易(其中两笔金额巨大)将比特币从一个与1Feex和12ib7地址无关的钱包中转移出来。这也让他发现RAR文件不见了,(黑客还)从云存储中删除了37GB的文件,其中包含“大约50份”白皮书及相关研究数据。放在另一个钱包里的价值110万美金的BSV也被盗走了,还有在一家受欢迎的交易所中得到的0.333的BTC也被盗走了。至关重要的是,由于失去了RAR文件,Wright博士失去了控制1Feex和12ib7地址中巨额财产的所有方式。

Wright博士坚持说,他不能确定黑客入侵是如何发生的。但有趣的是,他说,他认为黑客是通过一个神秘的无线路由器实施这次入侵的,他后来在家里发现了这个路由器,他的家人中也没有人知道它:

“我相信它一定是被黑客放在我们家的,也许是技工在我们家(检修)的时候放置的亦或是非法入侵。这是警方和我在后续调查中考虑的一点。”

黑客攻击之后的事

在发现黑客攻击之后,Wright博士清除了他电脑的硬盘数据。据他所说,这样做是出于谨慎考虑:“我的电脑包含大量机密信息(以及其他信息)。我清除了我的硬盘数据,以确保所有恶意软件和其他威胁都已从我的网络中清除,复制这些硬盘是不切实际的。”

根据声明,Wright博士一发现黑客攻击就报警了。这应该(可以)为那些仍在猜测黑客攻击从未发生的人提供一个答案;他在声明中提到了犯罪活动的参考编号和对投诉做出回应的调查官员的姓名(Wright博士在声明中简要地谈到了这一猜测:“我还注意到了一个讽刺,我被指控“发明”了一个黑客。这正是当时的BTC开发者所做的……在Gavin Andresen承认我是中本聪之后,他们删除了他的网站访问权限。)

至于黑客的身份或资产本身的状况,我们仍然只能进行猜测。当然,每个人都可以看到1Feex和12ib7地址中储存的资产发生了什么,除了从受欢迎的交易所和Electrum钱包中取出的资产之外,被盗的币一直没有被动过。采取措施保护wallet.dat文件,这样的行为并不奇怪——人们可能会想象黑客能够自己获得文件,但(他们)仍然无法克服现有的保护措施。此外,Wright博士在证词中推测,黑客们可能是在等待外界对他的关注平息后才开始接近他的资产,鉴于至少从2020年6月起Wright博士失去访问权的事就广为人知,黑客并不会急于处理资产。

这是一起财产盗窃的案件

正如Wright博士坚持认为的那样,自从郁金香贸易公司开始启动这一诉讼程序以来,这是一起关于追回被盗财产的案件。对区块链负责的开发商有权重新分配数字资产,这些资产是他们知道已经被盗或失去合法所有者控制的数字资产。占有不是指拥有所有权:这是一个基本的法律观点,也是白皮书在比特币背景下公认的概念。中本聪没有从占有的角度来进行写作,他写道:所有权是一个独特的概念,这个概念可以用占有来表示,但不能由占有来决定。

唯一的问题是,根据这些事实,法律赋予区块链开发商哪些责任。可以说,法律已经(表示)很明确了:这些开发商对依赖他们适当行使权力的许多人负有既定的法律责任。这是Wright博士和郁金香贸易公司正在争论的问题,毫无疑问,像Wright博士一样失去数字资产访问权的人数不胜数。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Dr. Craig Wright Stolen Bitcoin: Here’s what went down

With three of the defendants in Dr. Craig Wright’s Stolen Bitcoin case being formally served this week, more details about the lawsuit have emerged.

In particular, counsel for the plaintiff filed a 30-page witness statement provided by Dr. Wright in connection with the case. In it, he sheds more light on the 2020 hack which led to his losing access to 111,000 Bitcoin and the origin of the coins themselves—both matters which have been the target of speculation since news of the hack broke in 2020.

Tulip Trading’s holdings

Dr. Wright included the addresses—which he can no longer access as a result of the hack—in letters which initially went to several protocol developers in June 2020. These are the so-called 1Feex and 12ib7 addresses, and are legally owned by Tulip Trading Limited, a company owned by Dr. Wright and which is the formal plaintiff in the current lawsuit.

Speculation around Dr. Wright’s Bitcoin holdings has been rampant since being outed as Satoshi Nakamoto in 2015, so predictably these addresses drew a fair amount of public attention.

In particular, there were rumors that the 1Feex address was linked to the infamous Mt. Gox hack which came to light in 2014. These rumors were never substantiated, and it later became apparent that the sole source of the rumors is a plain-text log of an alleged Skype conversation between Mark Karpeles and Jed McCaleb which was buried in submissions for one of the many lawsuits filed against Mt. Gox over the years.

Regardless, Dr. Wright’s latest witness statement contains the same facts he set out in his June 2020 response to the Mt. Gox rumors, only with more detail.

In February 2011, Dr. Wright purchased the 1Feex coins via WMIRK, a Russian digital asset exchange, using Liberty Reserve Dollars, a defunct form of digital currency associated with the now-infamous Liberty Reserve company. Dr. Wright had received the Liberty Reserve Dollars as payment for work done for online casinos, and the amount of Bitcoin bought was determined by whatever amount he could get in exchange for those Dollars. The transaction is supported by a purchase order which will presumably form part of Wright’s case, although Dr. Wright admits that the purchase order was not created by him and contains some inaccuracies. In any case, the vast amounts of Bitcoin held by Wright, including those purchased in 2011, is referenced throughout his well-publicized interactions with the Australian Tax Office. A purchase in 2011 would place it before Mark Karpeles purchased Mt. Gox and before the company that would go on to get hacked was ever incorporated.

According to the statement, the assets contained in both addresses were purchased as an investment and as such, had not been accessed for ‘many years’ prior to the hack in February of 2020.

As Dr. Wright maintained in the June 2020 response, neither he nor his lawyers have ever been contacted by anyone from either Mt. Gox or the authorities about the 1Feex address. This has remained the case despite an open invitation by Dr. Wright and his lawyers for anyone wanting to assert ownership of the 1Feex coins to come forward.

The hack

Access to Tulip Trading’s coins was controlled using keys stored on Dr. Wright’s home computer in Surrey. The keys were contained in encrypted wallet.dat files, which were contained within a password-protected RAR file. The wallet.dat files themselves were also protected by an algorithmic masking scheme as a layer of added protection.

Dr. Wright discovered that there had been a hack on Saturday, February 8, 2020, when he noticed three transactions (‘two of them substantial’) transferring Bitcoin out of a wallet unrelated to the 1Feex and 12ib7 addresses. This led him to find that the RAR file was also missing, together with 37GB of files which had been wiped from cloud storage and which contained ‘approximately 50’ white papers and associated research data. £1.1 million worth of BSV, held in a separate wallet, had also been drained, and a further 0.333 BTC held on a popular exchange had been taken, too. Crucially, by losing the RAR file, Dr. Wright had lost any means to control the enormous holdings in the 1Feex and 12ib7 addresses.

Dr. Wright maintains that he can’t be sure how the hack happened, but intriguingly, says that he believes the hack was in part effected via a mysterious wireless router which he had subsequently found in his home and which no one in his family recognize:

“I believe that it must have been planted there by the hackers, either when tradesmen were in our home or by breaking in. This is being considered by the Police and me in the context of the ongoing investigation.”

After the hack

After discovering the hack, Dr. Wright wiped the hard drives of his computers. According to him, this was done out of caution: “My computer contained a great deal of confidential information (among other things). I wiped my hard drive in order to ensure all malware and other threats were removed from my network and it was simply not practicable to take a copy of any of these drives.”

According to the statement, Dr. Wright reported the hack to the police as soon as it was discovered. This should provide an answer for those still speculating that the hack never took place; he includes the crime reference number and the name of the investigating officer who responded to the complaint in his statement (Dr. Wright addresses the speculation briefly in the statement: “I also note the irony that I am being accused of “inventing” a hack. That is precisely what the then-BTC developers…did when they removed Gavin Andresen’s site access right after he acknowledged me as Satoshi.”

With regard to the identity of the hackers or the status of the assets themselves, we can still only speculate. Of course, everyone can see what happens to the assets contained in the 1Feex and 12ib7 addresses, and other than the assets taken from the popular exchange and Electrum wallet, the stolen coins have been left untouched. This isn’t necessarily surprising given the steps taken to protect the wallet.dat files—one might imagine hackers were able to gain possession of the files themselves but remained unable to overcome the protections in place. In addition, Dr. Wright speculates in the witness statement that the hackers might be waiting for the attention surrounding him to subside before accessing the assets, and given that Dr. Wright’s loss of access has been widely known since at least June 2020, there would be no rush for the hackers to deal with the assets.

This is a case of stolen property

As Dr. Wright has maintained since Tulip Trading began the process of launching this litigation, this is a case about recovering stolen property. The developers responsible for blockchains have the power to reassign digital assets which they know to either have been stolen or otherwise taken out of the control of their rightful owners. Possession is not ownership: this is a rudimentary point of law, and is a concept that was itself recognized in the White Paper in the context of Bitcoin. Satoshi Nakamoto did not write in terms of possession, he wrote of ownership as a distinct concept which may be indicated by possession, but not determined by it.

The only question is which responsibilities the law attributes to blockchain developers in light of those facts. Arguably, the law is already clear: those developers owe already-established legal duties toward the many people relying on them to exercise their powers appropriately. This is what is being argued by Dr. Wright and Tulip Trading, and no doubt by the uncountable number of people who, like Dr. Wright, have lost access to their digital assets.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]