A lady doing fire trick on her palm

BSV业务中的自信、蔑视与魔法

人们常说,对立政党之间的敌意与党内个体之间的不满情绪相比算不了什么。最近与比特币SV支持者之间的几次对话引发了我这一感想,他们对自己的项目充满热情,而对与BSV有着不同希望和计划的其他人却充满蔑视。

我既不是传教士也不是老师,我只想告诉大家要和谐相处。但我一直想知道这些敌意是从哪里来的。因为在我早期沉迷BSV这个领域的时候,RelayX的著名人士刘成奇提出了一个对我来说很有说服力的观点,即任何增加比特币SV的使用量的行为,甚至只是增加个人资料的业务,都会让所有对它感兴趣的参与者受益。正如政治上的一句常用语所说:我们都在一条船上。

那么个人为什么会产生不满情绪呢?我怀疑这是因为仍然有很多人对什么是成功这个问题有着截然不同的看法。尽管BSV有很多自信、杰出的企业家,但他们还无法与早期带领消费者互联网革命走向成功的商业榜样相媲美:促使eBay、雅虎或亚马逊成功的原因是什么?还是只像行话说的那样,他们显然拥有“先发优势”?

这不是“网络淘金热”,只有被鄙视的BTC的“数字黄金”——BSV支持者们在这方面至少是达成一致观点,对此反对的。与此同时,新的想法和流行语像烟花一样转瞬即逝,起初绚烂地绽放,随后却被悄悄地遗忘。

成功的企业家本质上是能够去相信普通人持怀疑态度的事物的人,然后风雨无阻地坚持自己的信念。但在领域相对较小的BSV领域中,他们经常追求指向完全不同的方向的想法。成功是否意味着让每个人都拥有比特币钱包,这样他们就可以实时进行低费用交易?难道BSV仅仅是管道,普通用户甚至不需要知道这点吗?比特币SV本身只是BSV区块链上一百万种代币中的第一种吗?它的区块链会取代世界的数据中心吗?它会在存储NFT或CBDC中发挥作用吗?

当然,从逻辑上来说,我们有理由相信所有这些事物都能实现——而且有潜力的企业正朝着每一个方向努力。但从情感上来说,作为一个企业的创始人,如果您正沿着一条路出发,而您看到另一个明显较为睿智的企业家肩负坚定的信念朝着一个完全不同的方向行进,这件事就令人不安了。他们怎么会如此愚蠢?而每当您听到他们鼓励人们去看他们要前往的地方时,您自己的想法似乎就会被毁。所以,人们也会还击回去。

这是我对企业家为什么如此粗鲁地对待彼此作出的最好解释。这是因为其他人代表了一种威胁,这不是因为竞争,而是因为他们对于最终的目的地抱有完全不同的想法。

那么,在这个志向各异的领域,您应该支持谁?您是否有办法通过研究他们各自的竞争目标来区分成功者和无望者?我只提供一个来自PayPal的联合创始人、如今的大风险投资家Peter Thiel的想法。在他的《从零到一》一书中,他说他对支持有望击败竞争对手的企业想法不感兴趣:他正在寻找那些能够通过做一些完全原创的事情来逃避竞争的创业者。

一家初创企业的理想目标市场是一小群特定的人聚集在一起的市场,并且很少或者是根本没有竞争对手提供同类型服务。任何一个大市场对于初创企业来说都是一种糟糕的选择,一个已经被相互竞争的公司占据的大市场对于初创企业来说则更糟糕。这就是为什么当创业者们谈论起获得1000亿美元市场的1%份额时总是一个危险信号的原因。实际上,对于初创企业来说,一个大市场要么没有一个好的起点,要么这些企业就要做好竞争的准备,所以这个比例很难达到1%。即便您成功地在一个小地方站稳了脚跟,您也不得不满足于维持现状:残酷的竞争意味着您的利润将会是零。

这在我看来很有道理。如果您年纪足够大,您会记得人们第一次发现谷歌、脸书或优步时的惊奇反应,然后他们再去告诉朋友这些事物。如果说区块链只是以一种更有效方式的方式来完成已经可以完成的事情,那么(从字面上和隐喻上来说),Thiel在书中表示,这还不够好。他说,如果您的想法是改善一项现有服务,这就需要您能够把完善后的服务做得比现有服务至少好十倍。

您还记得Arthur C. Clarke的名言吗——“任何足够先进的技术都与魔法无异”。我并不比任何人更加清楚BSV领域中的什么事物会起作用。但我非常肯定,如果我开始怀疑它是否会受到魔法驱动,我就会找到BSV领域中将会起作用的事物。
agic.

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

A lady doing fire trick on her palm

Confidence, contempt and magic in BSV businesses

It’s often said that the hostility between opposing political parties is nothing compared to the bad feeling between individuals within one party. I’m reminded of that by a few conversations recently with Bitcoin SV supporters whose enthusiasm for their own projects is matched only by their passionate contempt for others with different BSV-related hopes and plans.

I’m not a preacher or a teacher, wanting to tell everyone to play nicely together. But I have been wondering where all this enmity comes from. Because one of the powerful points made to me early on in my immersion in this world, by Jack Liu, of RelayX fame and more, was that any business that increases the use, or even just the profile, of Bitcoin SV will benefit everyone who has any interest in it. To borrow a political cliché: we’re all in it together. 

So why the bad feeling? I suspect it’s because there are still so many wildly different visions of what success would look like. Although there are plenty of confident, competent entrepreneurs in BSV, there aren’t yet the business role model equivalents of the early successes of the consumer Internet revolution: where are the eBays, the Yahoos or the Amazons, so obviously enjoying, in the jargon of the time ‘first mover advantage’? 

Instead of the ‘dot com goldrush,’ there’s only the despised ‘digital gold’ of BTC—which BSVers are, in this at least, united against. Meanwhile, new ideas and catchphrases come and go like fireworks, burning brightly for a time only to be quietly forgotten. 

Successful entrepreneurs are people who are, by nature, capable of believing in something that ordinary folk look sceptical about—and then sticking to their belief through thick and thin. But in the relatively small world of BSV, they’re often pursuing ideas that point in completely different directions. Does success mean getting Bitcoin wallets into everyone’s hands so they can trade cheaply and instantly? Is BSV merely the plumbing, which ordinary users needn’t even know about? Is Bitcoin SV itself just the first of a million kinds of tokens on the BSV blockchain? Will its blockchain replace the world’s data centres? Will it find its role hosting NFTs or CBDCs?

Of course, logically, there is no reason why all of these couldn’t turn out to be true—and there are promising businesses working towards each of them. But emotionally, as a business founder, if you are setting off down one path and you see another apparently intelligent entrepreneur with great conviction heading in a completely different direction, that’s troubling. How could they be so stupid? And every time you hear them encouraging people to look where they’re going, your own ideas seem to be being trashed. So trash back. 

Well that’s the best I can do for a theory of why entrepreneurs can be so rude about each other. It’s that others represent a threat, not so much through rivalry, but because they have such completely different ideas about the final destination.

So who should you back in this field of diverse ambitions? Is there any way to distinguish the winners from the no-hopers by studying their competing dreams? I’ll offer just one thought, from Peter Thiel, the co-founder of PayPal and today a big venture capitalist. In his book Zero to One, he says he isn’t interested in backing startup ideas that promise to beat the competition: he’s looking for those than can escape competition by doing something completely original: 

The perfect target market for a startup is a small group of particular people concentrated together and served by few or no competitors. Any big market is a bad choice, and a big market already served by competing companies is even worse. This is why it’s always a red flag when entrepreneurs talk about getting 1% of a $100 billion market. In practice, a large market will either lack a good starting point or it will be open to competition, so it’s hard to ever reach that 1%. And even if you do succeed in gaining a small foothold, you’ll have to be satisfied with keeping the lights on: cutthroat competition means your profits will be zero.

That makes sense to me. If you’re old enough, you’ll remember how people reacted when they first found Google, Facebook or Uber—with amazement, and then told their friends about it. If blockchain is just a more efficient way of doing what can be done already, that wouldn’t be good enough in Thiel’s book (literally and metaphorically). If your idea is to improve an existing service, he says, it needs to be able to do it at least ten times better. 

Remember Arthur C. Clarke’s famous quotation: “any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic”? I don’t know what’s going to work in BSV any more than anybody else does. But I’m pretty sure I’ll have found it if I start wondering whether it works by magic.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]