Zach Resnick of Unbounded Capital on CG livestream

《CoinGeek每周直播》:Unbounded Capital的Zach Resnick谈论比特币的交易与投资机会

Unbounded Capital联合创始人Zach Resnick身兼数职。众所周知,他是比特币领域的一名成功的投资者、企业家和创新者。但在拥有这些身份之前,他在青少年时期还是一名狂热的在线扑克玩家。

Zach在玩在线扑克游戏时第一次接触到比特币,他从中看到了比特币带来的商机。他在玩游戏时注意到玩家可以在几个扑克网站上选择提出和存入比特币。在看到其他玩家从他们赚取的比特币中获利后,Zach对此很感兴趣。

2016年,Zach在特拉维夫生活时再次想起了数字货币。他在以色列遇到了Bits of Gold的创始人Yuval Roth,Bits of Gold是一家将比特币转换为谢克尔的公司。两人就比特币这个话题聊了几个小时,这促使Zach进一步探索这项技术。

作为一家打折商务/头等舱航班礼宾服务Fly Flat公司的创始人,Zach决定利用他的创业经历成立另一项业务,这一次此项业务涉及比特币。具有犹太血统的Zach开始与布宜诺斯艾利斯的一些犹太社区成员合作,建立阿根廷外汇账户。为什么是阿根廷呢?因为该国的通货膨胀率高,Zach发现阿根廷交易所的比特币价格通常比其平均价格高出40%至50%左右。

他还注意到将比索带出阿根廷十分困难,并发现了通过迎合该国的比特币买家来获利的商机。他出售了从美国或其他交易所购买的低价比特币,从阿根廷银行账户中提出了比索,并等了几天才收到国外银行的电汇。对于阿根廷人来说,购买比特币是一种成本更低的选择,而且周转速度也更快——这对Zach和他的客户来说是一个双赢的局面。

Zach搬到旧金山湾区后,他的比特币之旅继续前行,在那里,他沉浸在比特币和区块链社区中。他在本期的《CoinGeek每周直播》中告诉Kurt Wuckert Jr.,他在交易和理财领域的成功促使他走上了一条截然不同的道路:进军投资领域。

“我意识到,成为一名投资者这件事情有很大的创新空间。”他说。

成立Unbounded Capital

在投资接连获得成功后,Zach与志同道合的企业家于2018年创立了Unbounded Capital。Unbounded Capital将其定义为是一家“由了解创业历程的技术创始人建立的区块链投资公司;其创始人是一名知道如何分析风险的前扑克高手;并且是一名了解早期投资不是一种被动活动的投资者。”

公司刚成立时,Zach承认资金短缺。“我们没有足够的资金,但我们有很多想法,很多精力。”他说。他和他的合伙人Jack Laskey以及David Mullen-Muhr投入了大量时间将他们的想法用文字的形式表达出来,而Zach又把这些想法用于销售宣传。

Zach解释道,他过去的演讲常常专注于比特币的卓越能力和可扩容性。但对他而言,讨论数字货币市场等因素已被证明是非常有效的。在经过改进后推出的新宣传中,他热衷于指出绝大多数人在投机性“加密货币”市场中的风险敞口并不总是令人满意的。他解释道,“风险敞口起起伏伏,要么您直接通过代币产生风险敞口,要么您通过这些与交易所、主要经纪人和矿工等加密货币市场中的人或物相关的杠杆率低下的赌注产生风险敞口。”他说,与投机性投资不同,Unbounded Capital专门支持那些试图解决重大问题的创始人。

Unbounded Capital目前正在以更传统的风险投资基金结构筹集第二支基金。“我们计划将在明年筹集大约7000万美元的资金,然后我们计划将在大约三年内将其部署到一些基于比特币SV的顶级初创企业。”Zach透露道。

对于那些感兴趣前来咨询的人来说,获得风投的资格的主要标准是什么?Zach指出:“我们希望支持那些具有长远规划并致力于解决重大问题的人才。”

Zach还为寻求风险投资的初创企业提供了一条建议。

“您真的应该花费功夫去了解什么是投资组合,以及他们的愿景……我认为您要确保他们并不支持您的竞争对手。”他说。

至于Zach对风投的看法,他说:“风险投资为世界上一个非常庞大的需求服务,这一需求基本上来说是从非常富有的投资者和机构那里获得更多的资金,这些投资者和机构的资金多得不知道该怎么花。但这些资金并不会被投入到成熟的公司中的,而是会被投入到下一批将改变世界的创新企业中。”

另请观看:CoinGeek 纽约大会小组讨论,投资于区块链风投

此外,不要错过5月24日至26日在迪拜君悦酒店举行的首届BSV全球区块链大会。快来预订门票吧

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Zach Resnick of Unbounded Capital on CG livestream

CoinGeek Weekly Livestream: Unbounded Capital’s Zach Resnick talks trading, investing opportunities in Bitcoin

Unbounded Capital co-founder Zach Resnick is a man who wears many hats. He is known to be a successful investor, entrepreneur, and innovator in the Bitcoin space. But before taking on these roles, he was an avid online poker player in his teenage years.

Zach’s first encounter with Bitcoin during his online poker days opened his eyes to opportunities he can do with Bitcoin. While playing, he noticed several poker sites that gave players an option to withdraw and deposit in Bitcoin. Zach was intrigued after seeing other players profit from their Bitcoin earnings.

Zach was again reminded of the digital currency in 2016 while living in Tel Aviv. He met Yuval Roth of Bits of Gold, a company that converts bitcoins to Shekels in Israel. The two chatted about Bitcoin for hours, which prompted Zach to explore the technology further.

As founder of Fly Flat, a discounted biz/first class flight concierge service, Zach decided to utilize his entrepreneurial background to form another business, this time involving Bitcoin. Zach, who is of Jewish descent, set out to partner up with some members of the Jewish community in Buenos Aires to establish Argentinian exchange accounts. Why Argentina? Due to the country’s high inflation rate, Zach saw the price of Bitcoin routinely average to about 40% to 50% higher in Argentinian exchanges.

He also noticed the difficulty of taking pesos out of Argentina, and saw an opportunity to profit by catering to Bitcoin buyers in the country. He sold lower-priced Bitcoin, which he obtained from the United States or other exchanges, withdrew the pesos from Argentinian bank accounts, and waited several days before receiving a wire transfer from banks abroad. It was a cheaper alternative for Argentinians to acquire Bitcoin, and with a much quicker turnaround—a win-win situation for Zach and his clients.

Zach’s Bitcoin journey continued to unfold after moving to the San Francisco bay area, where he immersed himself in the Bitcoin and blockchain community. As he tells Kurt Wuckert Jr. on this episode of CoinGeek Weekly Livestream, his success in trading and managing people’s money led him to a rather different route: investing.

“I realized that, you know, there’s lots of room to innovate on being an investor,” he says.

Launching Unbounded Capital

After continued success in investing, Zach launched Unbounded Capital in 2018 along with like-minded entrepreneurs. Unbounded Capital describes itself as “a blockchain investment firm built by technical founders that understand the entrepreneurial journey; former poker pros that know how to analyze risk; and investors that understand that early-stage investing is not a passive activity.”

When the firm first started, Zach admits funds were scarce. “We didn’t have a lot of capital, but we had a lot of ideas, a lot of energy,” he says. He and his partners, Jack Laskey and David Mullen-Muhr, invested a lot of their time putting their ideas into writing, which in turn were used in Zach’s sales pitches.

As Zach explains, his pitch used to focus on Bitcoin’s superior powers and scalability. But for his part, discussing factors like the digital currency market has proven to be very effective. In his new and improved pitch, he is keen to point out the vast majority having exposure to a speculative ‘crypto’ market is not always ideal. As he explains, “Exposure to these things going up and down either directly in tokens or you have exposure with these poorly levered bets on the crypto market like exchanges, prime brokers and miners.” Unlike speculative investments, he says Unbounded Capital exclusively backs founders trying to solve big problems.

Unbounded Capital is currently raising its second fund with a more traditional venture capital fund structure. “We’re going to raise around $70 million over the next year and then we’ll deploy that over about three years into some of the top startups that are building on Bitcoin SV,” Zach reveals.

What are the main criteria to qualify for a VC, for those asking? Zach notes, “We want to back folks that are building for the long term and that are solving big problems.”

Zach also offers a piece of advice for startups looking to consider taking venture capital.

“You should really do your diligence and what that portfolio looks like and what that says about their vision… I think you want to make sure that they’re not backing competitors,” he says.

As far as Zach’s view on VC, he says, “Venture capital serves a really great need in the world, which is basically getting more capital from incredibly rich investors and institutions that have more money than they know what to do with. And putting that rather into mature companies, but into kind of the next innovative wave of companies changing the world.”

Watch: CoinGeek New York panel, Investing in Blockchain Ventures

Also, don’t miss out the first ever BSV Global Blockchain Convention taking place at the Grand Hyatt in Dubai on May 24 – 26. Book your tickets today!

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]