Ty Everett

《CoinGeek每周直播》:Ty Everett探讨了使用Babbage项目在比特币系统上进行构建的详情

在主持了几周关于Kleiman诉Wright案的节目后,Kurt Wuckert Jr.将在本周回归主持定期的《CoinGeek每周直播》。本次节目将在他的新工作室进行广播, Kurt采访了Babbage项目的创办者Ty Everett, Ty Everett谈到了他的平台是如何让开发者轻松地在比特币系统上进行构建的,他与中本聪互动的内容,并且他声称由于他的项目是一个Layer2平台,他受到了一些人的反对。

Everett于2016年加入比特币系统领域,与许多其他的人一样,BTC价格的上涨吸引了他的注意。他向Kurt透露,他很快就迷上了BTC,并开始探索比特币系统的其他机遇。在比特币内战以及硬分叉之后,他便跟随中本聪进入比特币SV领域,比特币SV无限的区块大小提供了巨大的机会。

对Everett来说,他注意到的第一个机会是比特币系统的小额支付。

“如果我写了一篇文章,然后读过这篇文章的人可以把小额支付发送给作为作者的我,然后下一笔小额支付不仅会发给我,还会支付给之前给过我小费的人?”Everett说。

随着Everett的开发技术越来越好,他对开发工具的兴趣也越来越大,这些工具可以帮助更多的人进入比特币系统领域。这在Babbage项目中达到了顶峰,Everett向Wuckert Jr.描述该项目为“构建比特币应用程序的框架”。

我们需要在比特币系统上构建应用程序——这一点很清楚。根据Everett的说法,这么做的其中一个原因是,在当前的互联网系统中,其他每一家公司都有其隐蔽的数据孤岛,这种情况的结果就是用户有几十个账户、密码以及身份需要维护。

“如果应用程序能够登录用户,而不是用户登录应用程序,那么数据就可以归个人所有,而不是归所有这些平台所有。”一旦你围绕这点引入小额支付激励机制,你就为现有的应用程序提供了一个转向比特币系统的绝佳理由。许多人认为,这种按次付费的设想会回到互联网形成时期。

无论目的多么崇高,任何基于比特币系统的协议或应用程序都必须有一种产生收入的方式。对于Babbage项目来说,收入来源在于运行Bridgeport的服务器。

他说:“我作为运行Bridgeport服务器的人,一个应用程序的团队可以来找我,并且付钱让我运行跟踪区块链(任何)特定子集的网桥,并以特定的方式将其放到数据库中。”

Babbage项目要想成功,就需要用户运行其服务器。像GorillaPoolTAAL Distributed Information Technologies Inc.(CSE:TAAL| FWB:9SQ1 | OTC:TAALF)这样的交易处理器最适合这种情况,但Everett相信整个领域将在适当的时候进入它并运行Babbage服务器。他将这一动态与Amazon Web Services进行了比较,后者似乎事实上垄断了云服务,这一情况一直持续到Google Cloud、Microsoft Azure以及其他公司的出现。

Babbage作为比特币系统的覆盖网络来运行,它类似于Unwriter在退出该领域之前使用的工具。Everett向Wuckert Jr透露,他的作品从Unwriter那里获得了很多灵感。

Everett指出:“事实上,我所研究的一些工具来自于Unwiter的工具集。”

关于如何启动Babbage项目,Everett透露他使用JavaScript来构建了这个平台,这使得该语言成为任何想在Babbage上构进行建的人所必须具备的基本技能。“我喜欢React,但也许我的工具可以与UJS或Angular一起使用[…],但我的安装包位于Node.js安装包管理器的npm上。”

Everett正在运行的Bridgeport节点指向MongoDB。从中期来看,他计划支持SQL作为另一个衍生数据库,在那里用户可以从区块链中提取内容,最终Neo4j也会如此。

他透露,Everett已经与Craig Wright博士进行了互动,并期待着由比特币系统的创造者进行的任何新的开发。他最近给Wright博士发了一篇研究“完整性计算”的论文,这位资深密码学家说,“这真的很酷,但要实现它需要做大量的工作。”

与许多其他比特币系统应用程序以及协议一样,Babbage项目能让你赚取BSV。基于该协议开发应用的开发人员可以设立“佣金”,让他们向使用该应用的用户以聪的方式来收钱。

尽管它是一个相对较新的协议,Babbage项目却已经收到了一些来自比特币社区的成员的反对,因为它是一个Layer 2协议。虽然他承认有必要将数据放在链上,但他认为并非所有东西都可以放在比特币系统上,至少从经济角度来看不是这样。然而,Babbage项目让开发人员激励特定的团体提供存储数据的服务,将数据哈希处理,产生一定的值。

正如Wuckert Jr.所指出的那样,这有其缺点,但这一切都取决于数据。例如,如果有人想分享一部电影,他们并不真正关心不可篡改性,也不关心他们可以使用一个链上哈希的存储链下的Babbage模型。然而,无论数据有多大,有些数据都必须存储在链上。一个典型的例子是先前被Jeffrey Epstein囚禁的女性,她在发现没有出版商想出版她的书后,决定使用Canonic将其放到比特币系统上。

另请观看:CoinGeek与TAAL执行董事长兼首席执行官Stefan Matthews的对话

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Ty Everett

CoinGeek Weekly Livestream: Ty Everett talks building on Bitcoin with Project Babbage

After weeks of hosting shows focused on the Kleiman v Wright trial, Kurt Wuckert Jr. is back to hosting the regularly-scheduled CoinGeek Weekly Livestream this week. Broadcasting from his new studio, Kurt hosted Ty Everett, the founding president of Project Babbage, who talked about how his platform is allowing developers to build easily on Bitcoin, his interaction with Satoshi Nakamoto, and claims that he was getting pushback on account of his project being a layer two platform.

Everett joined the Bitcoin space in 2016, and as with many others, the price rise of BTC attracted his attention. He got quickly hooked and started exploring other opportunities in Bitcoin, as he revealed to Kurt. Following the Bitcoin civil war and the hard fork, he followed Satoshi into Bitcoin SV, whose unlimited block sizes offered vast opportunities.

For Everett, the first opportunity that caught his eye was micropayments on Bitcoin

“What if I could write an article and then people who have read that article could send micropayments to me as the author, and then the next micropayment would go not only to me but also the people that have tipped me previously?” said Everett.

As Everett’s developer skills became better, his interest in building tools that helped onboard more people to the Bitcoin space grew as well. This culminated in Project Babbage, which Everett described to Wuckert Jr. as “a framework for building Bitcoin apps.”

We need to build applications on Bitcoin—that much is clear. And according to Everett, one of the reasons is because, in the current Internet system, every other company has its secluded data silos, with the result being users having dozens of accounts, passwords, and identities to maintain. 

“If apps were able to log into people, instead of people logging into apps, then the data could be owned by the individual instead of by all these platforms.” And once you introduce a micropayment incentive around that, you provide existing apps with a great reason to move to Bitcoin. This vision of pay-per-use was what many thought the Internet would grow to be back in its formative years.

No matter how noble the purpose, any protocol or application built on Bitcoin has to have a way of generating income. For Babbage, the revenue stream lies in running the Bridgeport servers. 

“An app can come to me as the person running the Bridgeport server and pay me to run the Bridge that tracks [any] particular subset of the blockchain and puts it on a database in a deterministic way,” he said.

For Babbage to become a success, it needs users to run its servers. Transactions processors such as GorillaPool and TAAL Distributed Information Technologies Inc. (CSE:TAAL | FWB:9SQ1 | OTC: TAALF) are best suited for this, but Everett believes that the entire space will get onto it and run Babbage servers in due time. He compared the dynamic to Amazon Web Services, which seemed to have a de facto monopoly on cloud services until Google Cloud, Microsoft Azure, and others popped up.

Babbage serves as an overlay network on Bitcoin, similar to the tools that Unwriter used to make before seemingly stepping back from the space. Everett took a lot of inspiration from Unwriter in his work, he revealed to Wuckert Jr.

“In fact, some of the tools that I’ve worked on are derived from Unwiter’s set of tools,” Everett noted.

On how to get started on Babbage, Everett revealed that he built the platform with JavaScript, making the language an essential skill for anyone who wants to build on Babbage. “I like React, but probably my tools can be used with UJS, or Angular […] but my packages are on npm on the Node.js package manager.” 

The current Bridgeport node that Everett is running spots MongoDB. In the medium term, he plans to support SQL as another derivable database that users can pull from the blockchain, and eventually Neo4j as well.

Everett has interacted with Dr. Craig Wright and looks to run any new development by the man who created Bitcoin, he revealed. He recently sent Dr. Wright a paper looking into ‘Computing with Integrity’, which the veteran cryptographer said “was really cool but would need a lot of work to make it happen.”

And as with many other Bitcoin apps and protocols, Babbage allows you to earn BSV. Developers who build applications on the protocol can set up ‘commissions,’ which allow them to charge users in satoshis for using the app. 

Despite being relatively new, Babbage has received some pushback from some members of the Bitcoin community on account of it being a Layer 2 protocol. And while he acknowledges the need for having data on-chain, he believes that not everything can be put on Bitcoin, at least not from an economic point of view. However, Babbage allows developers to incentivize particular parties to provide the service of storing data that hashes to a certain value. 

As Wuckert Jr. noted, this comes with its drawbacks, but it all depends on the data. For instance, if someone wants to share a movie, they don’t really care about immutability and can use the Babbage model of off-chain storage with an on-chain hash. However, no matter how big, some data has to be stored on-chain. A prime example is a former Jeffrey Epstein sex slave who, after finding no publisher wanted to publish her book, decided to put in on Bitcoin, using Canonic

Watch: CoinGeek Conversations with TAAL’s Executive Chairman and CEO, Stefan Matthews

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]