David and Goliath

BSV对Web3——一场大卫和歌利亚的较量?

如果您一直在比特币SV中钻研,就很容易忽略这个领域之外正在发生的事情。我和其他人一样对此感到内疚,但有时这个领域之外的新闻会通过《经济学人》传到我这里。事实证明,很多BSV支持者的想法和言论也在其他地方引起了争论。这是一个似曾相识的领域。

本周《经济学人》上的一篇题为《web3会重塑互联网业务吗?》的文章让我想起了这一点。这篇文章来自该杂志的旧金山编辑部,此文描述了围绕仍很模糊的web3(一种基于区块链的互联网替代品)概念的狂热者和怀疑者两派对立的阵营。

报道将web3的想法置于技术历史的背景下,这是“支持去中心化者与支持中心化者之间的持续斗争”。因此,计算从主机(中心化)发展到程序计算器(去中心化),然后被微软(中心化支持者)征服,结果受到开源运动(去中心化)的挑战,然后科技巨头们利用开源运动来推动他们自己的技术,例如安卓或AWS(再次专注于中心化)。

作者说,这是有相关性的,因为web3是“对所有最大的中心化的反应:互联网的中心化。”这是不是开始听起来很熟悉了?拥有自己的数据。没有需要被信任的第三方。每个人都可以赚取小额报酬,而不是把个人数据交给科技巨头。BSV的准则轻松地出现在web3的愿景之中。

您听过Craig Wright博士对硅谷的看法吗?硅谷是中心化互联网的核心。说得好听点,他不是粉丝。如果有一件事比风险投资家和科技巨头如何从广告和数据中赚钱更让他厌恶的话,那就是硅谷对区块链的大肆炒作。因此,风险投资公司Andreessen Horowitz(又名a16z)并不在他的好书列表中,据《经济学人》报道,该公司是硅谷“最大的web3冠军”。

来自a16z的Chris Dixon将web1(当时还没有被这样称呼)视为最初的去中心化互联网。那时,每个雄心勃勃的20多岁的人都在创办自己的网络公司,每个互联网服务提供商都为客户提供了建立自己家庭网站的机会。

然后,根据Dixon的说法,出现了以Google和Facebook为代表的web2,他们以前所未有的规模收集用户数据。这是监视资本主义的时代。“曾经”可能还为时过早,但对于web3的支持者来说,我们已经开始了新的时代。

这里是BSV和web3的愿景重叠的地方——甚至是与a16z的愿景重叠。您听过多少次BSV支持者谈论金钱只是区块链技术的第一次应用?嗯,web3已经赶上了:“区块链已经超越了加密货币,这是它们最早的应用。”《经济学人》中写道。“现在,它们正日益成为非金融服务的支柱”。

Chris Dixon呼应了许多BSV企业家的想法,他说,基于区块链的企业很难锁定客户,因为他们不拥有客户的数据:“如果他们的客户不满意,客户可以转向竞争对手提供的服务。”问问Joshua HensleeJack Liu,他们会告诉您这是BSV区块链带来的伟大创新之一。它有什么惊人之处呢?嗯,正如Joshua或Jack,或者Chris Dixon也会告诉您的那样,它“让web3(或BSV)公司更加努力地满足客户,并不断创新。”

如果有人认为,只要人们对彼此更友好,他们就会发现他们的目标是相同的,那么他们就可以和平和睦地生活在一起,这种观点是错误的。Marc Andreessen是a16z中的“a”,一名精通中心化/去中心化发展循环的老手。1993年,还在上大学的他领导了Mosaic浏览器的开发,该浏览器转移到了硅谷,成为网景公司,并推动了消费者互联网的迅速发展,挑战了西雅图的“险恶帝国”微软。后来,作为一名风险投资家,他赚的盆满钵满,包括Twitter、Pinterest和Facebook——这些公司都集中了客户和数据。现在,作为区块链的支持者,他可能会通过第二轮去中心化来威胁他们的权力。

但正如《经济学人》指出的那样,区块链企业能否满足其拥有数据的新客户,并在“赚大钱”的同时做到这一点,还有待观察。BSV企业家和a16z创业者的最大区别在于,BSV企业家把所有的赌注都押在了这种可能性上,而Marc Andreessen则在对冲自己的赌注。他仍然是Meta(Facebook)的董事会成员,作为一名风险投资人,即使他支持的初创公司最终不是新的Facebook,无论如何,结果都会对他有利。

那么,这一切将把BSV带向何方?支持BSV开发的想法得到更广泛的传播肯定是有益的,即使是在不同的商业环境中也是如此。如果BSV领域中的潜在企业家或投资者已经熟悉“拥有自己的数据”和“没有需要被信任的第三方”的概念,那么就可以向听众提出支持BSV的理由,他们将更愿意听到它的特殊优势,如低交易费用和小额支付。另一方面,a16z及其硅谷区块链支持者背后的巨大影响力和势头使它们成为强大的竞争对手。从这个角度来看,这可能感觉像是大卫和歌利亚的较量。但是记住,大卫赢了。因为他拥有有更好的技术。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

David and Goliath

BSV vs Web3—a David and Goliath fight?

If you’ve been ploughing your furrow in Bitcoin SV, it’s easy to ignore what’s happening beyond the horizon. I’m as guilty of that as anyone but sometimes news of the world reaches me via The Economist. It turns out that much of what BSVers think and talk about is also being debated elsewhere. It’s a strangely familiar world out there.

I was reminded of this by an article in this week’s Economist titled, “Will web3 reinvent the internet business?” From the magazine’s San Francisco desk, the piece describes the opposing camps of enthusiasts and sceptics around the still hazy concept of web3—a blockchain-based alternative to the internet. 

The reporter puts the idea of web3 into the context of tech history, which is “a constant struggle between decentralisers and recentralisers.” So computing went from mainframes (centralised) to PCs (decentralised), which were then conquered by Microsoft (a centraliser), only to be challenged by the open source movement (decentralised) that the tech giants then made use of to power their own tech, such as Android or AWS (centralising forces again).

This is relevant, the writer says, because web3 is “a reaction to perhaps the greatest centralisation of all: that of the internet.” Is this starting to sound familiar? ‘Own your own data.’ ‘No trusted third parties.’ Everyone can earn micropayments instead of handing over personal data to the tech giants. BSV mantras sit happily among the aspirations of web3. 

Have you heard Dr. Craig Wright’s views of Silicon Valley, the epicentre of centralised internet power? He’s not a fan, to put it mildly. And if there’s one thing he hates more than venture capitalists and how the tech giants make their money from ads and data, it’s Silicon Valley hype about blockchain. So the venture capital firm Andreessen Horowitz (aka a16z) which, according to The Economist, is Silicon Valley’s “biggest web3 champion,” is not in his good books. 

Chris Dixon from a16z sees web1 (which was never called that at the time) as the original decentralised internet. Those were the days when every ambitious 20-something was starting their own dot com and every ISP offered its customers the chance to build their own family website. 

Then, according to Dixon, there was web2, epitomised by Google and Facebook, who collected their users’ data on an unprecedented scale. This was the era of Surveillance Capitalism. The “was” may be premature but for web3 supporters we’re already embarking on the new era.

Here’s where visions for BSV and web3 overlap—and even with those of a16z. How many times have you heard BSVers talking about money being simply the first application of blockchain technology? Well, web3 has caught up: “blockchains have outgrown cryptocurrencies, their earliest application,” says The Economist. “Now they are increasingly underpinning non-financial services”.

Chris Dixon echoes the thoughts of many BSV entrepreneurs when he says that it’s hard for blockchain-based enterprises to lock in customers because they don’t own their customers’ data: “If their customers are unhappy, they can move to a competing service.” Ask Joshua Henslee or Jack Liu and they will tell you that this is one of the great innovations made possible by the BSV blockchain. And what’s so great about it? Well, as Joshua or Jack, or, it seems, Chris Dixon too will tell you, it “makes web3 [or BSV] companies try harder to satisfy customers and keep innovating.”

It would be wrong to suggest that if only people were nicer to each other, they’d discover that their goals were the same and they could live together in peace and harmony. Marc Andreessen, the “a” of a16z, is a veteran of the centralised/decentralised cycle of tech. In 1993, still at university, he led the development of the Mosaic browser, which, transferred to Silicon Valley, became Netscape and catalysed the explosion of the consumer internet, challenging Microsoft, the ‘evil empire’ up in Seattle. Then as a venture capitalist he hit several jackpots including Twitter, Pinterest and Facebook—all centralising customers and data. Now, as a backer of blockchain, he’s potentially threatening their power with a second round of decentralising. 

But as The Economist points out, it remains to be seen whether blockchain businesses can satisfy their new data-owning customers and do so “while also making pots of money.” The big difference between BSV entrepreneurs and a16z is that BSVers are betting everything on that being possible while Marc Andreessen is hedging his bets. He’s still on the board of Meta (Facebook) and as a VC, the odds tend to work in his favour anyway even if the startups he’s backing turn out not to be the new Facebook. 

So where does all this leave BSV? It must surely be useful that ideas supporting BSV development become more widely circulated, even if in a different business context. If potential entrepreneurs or investors in BSV are already familiar with the concepts of ‘own your own data’ and ‘no trusted third party’ then the arguments for BSV can be made to listeners who will be more ready to hear about its particular advantages such as low transaction fees and micropayments. On the other hand, the sheer heft and momentum behind a16z and its fellow Silicon Valley blockchain boosters make them formidable competitors. From that perspective, it may feel like a David and Goliath contest. But remember, David won. He had better technology.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]