Brandon Bryant of HandCash on More than money

HandCash的Brandon Bryant在《不仅仅是货币》节目中谈论小额支付、游戏和应用程序

HandCash的软件开发人员Brandon Bryant与Patrick Thompson一起参加了本期的《不仅仅是货币》节目,两人讨论的主题包括小额支付、比特币采用、BSV价格以及游戏。

是什么让区块链有价值?

“自2016年以来,我一直对比特币感兴趣,大学毕业后,我的整个职业生涯都是从这个领域开始的。这些年来,我也是一名投资者。”他说,“比特币最酷和最强大的地方在于它只需几行代码就可以实现网上汇款。”

Bryant说,人们经常试图“在圆孔中放一个方形钉”,在这种情况下,匆忙将区块链应用到他们的业务中是毫无意义的。

“更好的方法是将区块链的功能慢慢整合到您的应用程序中,最简单的方法是使用支付,尤其是小额支付。因为互联网难以实现小额支付,而区块链让小额支付变得容易。”他解释道。

与西方国家相比,发展中国家的游戏应用程序中的小额支付是一笔可观的金额。根据 Bryant的说法,游戏和应用内购买是链上支付的两个很好的用例。他解释说,小额支付可以帮助引导贫穷经济体或发展中经济体中的人们从事在线内容创作。

“第一件会发生的事情是创作者将创建微型可下载内容(DLC)和用户最喜欢的角色的皮肤。他们不再需要购买大量内容,而是可以购买单个项目。这将产生巨大的影响,并将开辟一个巨大的创意经济体。”Bryant说。

汇款支付(例如,国际汇款)是另一种用例,Bryant曾使用过这种用例。尽管应用程序使得汇款支付“非常酷”,但由于缺乏市场需求,汇款支付应用程序从未流行起来。

游戏行业是另一个用例。Bryant指出,像Duro Dogs这样的BSV企业级区块链上的游戏是很棒的,BSV社区已经步入正轨,但要想获得大量用户还需要一些时间。

哪一条区块链将会脱颖而出?

Thompson要求Bryant在如今存在的数千条区块链中选出一条能够长期存在的区块链。

“它们最终会融合为一条区块链。”Bryant表示,并补充说,区块补贴可能会在未来20-30年之后不复存在,区块链将会需要处理自己的交易费用。

“一条区块链可能会获得成功,另一条区块链排在第二位。来自位居第二的区块链网络的人们将会需要逐渐走向获胜的那张区块链网络。这不像是一种法定货币,因为我住在美国,所以我就和美元挂钩。这是一种数字货币,所以如果BSV经济能够增长并且取得胜利,那么其他人也会需要加入其中,反之亦然。”他指出。

是什么使得区块链采用变得困难?

Bryant指出,只有11%的人拥有某种类型的数字货币,因此在这一点上,对于BSV来说,一条呈现出大规模采用的采用曲线还“为时过早”。比特币系统起源于2009年,但一种更为现实的做法是去考虑BSV已经存在了三年——从2018年左右开始——并且在BCH分叉后流失了许多开发人员与人才。

开发者工具需要得到改进,以使开发者们可以更加容易地运用BSV进行工作。他指出,当时ETH较之BCH获得了成功的原因可能是他们的区块链编程相对来说更加易于概念化。

BSV的价格如何?这有什么关系吗?

“价格不是万能的,但它是一个重要的方面。”Bryant表示,并补充说,如果BSV的价格上升,我们会看到许多BSV的布道者。“在我的家乡和我上大学的地方,有着BTC和ETH的布道者,他们组织聚会并且传播他们对于这项技术的某种认知。”

“他们靠ETH和BTC致富——这影响了区块链采用。因为他们拥有资源,所以他们能够传播这种认知。在CoinMarketCap中,BSV排在前100名中的70名左右。这个排名降低了人们对它的信任。如果BSV是一个排在前五名的币种,它就会引起更多人的关注。只要我们开发人员继续进行建设,BSV的价格就会飙升。我对HandCash的团队充满信心,我喜欢运用BSV技术进行工作。” Bryant谈论道。

Thompson对这一环节进行了总结,为他的读者和观众提炼了如下要点:

  1. 小额支付是区块链的最佳用例之一,因为在历史上,通过互联网发送小额支付是十分困难的。
  2. 游戏非常适合集成小额支付,因为基于区块链的支付流程比传统的游戏内支付流程更加容易。
  3. 价格可以帮助提高区块链的采用率。一项资产的价格可以在积极的网络效应中使其社区得到孵化。

您可以在CoinGeek的YouTube频道上查看《不仅仅是货币》的前几集。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Brandon Bryant of HandCash on More than money

Brandon Bryant of HandCash talks small payments, games, and apps on More Than Money

Brandon Bryant, a software developer at HandCash, joined Patrick Thompson in this installment of More Than Money, where the two discussed topics including micropayments, Bitcoin adoption, BSV price, and games.

What makes blockchain valuable?

“I’ve been interested in Bitcoin since 2016 and I based my entire career in this space straight out of college. I’ve also been an investor all these years,” he said. “The coolest and most powerful aspect of Bitcoin is it enables sending money over the internet with just a few lines of code.”

Bryant said people are often trying to “fit a square peg in a round hole” where it doesn’t make sense to incorporate the blockchain aspect to their businesses right away.

“A better approach is to slowly incorporate capabilities of the blockchain into your app and the easiest way to do that is with payments, especially small payments. Because it is hard to send micropayments over the internet, and blockchain makes it easy,” he explained. 

In developing countries, a micropayment in a gaming app is a significant amount of money compared to the West. According to Bryant, games and in-app purchases are two good use cases for payments onchain. He explained that micropayments could help bootstrap a poor/developing economy engaged in online content creation.

“The first thing that will happen is creators will create micro downloadable content (DLC) and skins of users’ favorite players. They no longer need to purchase a huge bundle of content and can instead buy individual items. That will make a huge difference and it will open up a huge creative economy,” Bryant said. 

Remittance payment (e.g., international money transfers) is another use case, one that Bryant worked in the past. Although the app that made remittance payments was “really cool,” it never took hold because of a lack of market demand. 

The gaming industry is another use case. Bryant pointed out that games on BSV enterprise blockchain like Duro Dogs are great games and that the BSV community is on the right track, but that it would take some time to get a high number of users.

Which blockchain will come out on top?

Thompson asked Bryant to select the one blockchain that will survive in the long run out of the thousands of blockchains that exist today.

“They will eventually converge into one,” Bryant said, adding that the block subsidy might not exist in 20-30 years, and blockchains will need to handle their own transaction fees. 

“One blockchain could be successful with another blockchain in the second place. People from the second-place network will need to gradually move towards the winning network. It’s not like a fiat currency where I’m tied to USD because I live in the U.S. It is a digital currency, so if the BSV economy is growing and winning, other people need to join it, and vice versa,” he noted.

What is making BSV adoption difficult?

Bryant cited that only 11% of people own some type of digital currency, so a mass adoption curve is “really early for BSV” at this point. Bitcoin originated in 2009, but a more realistic approach is to consider that BSV has been around for three years—since 2018 or so—and lost many developers and talent after the BCH fork.

Developer tooling needs to improve, making it easier to work with BSV. He noted that the reason ETH took off versus BCH at the time is probably that their blockchain programming is relatively easier to conceptualize.

What about the BSV price? Does it matter?

“The price isn’t the end-all-be-all, but it is an important aspect,” Bryant said, adding that if BSV’s prices were to rise, we would see many BSV evangelists. “In my hometown and where I went to college, there are BTC and ETH evangelists that organize meet-ups and spread awareness about the technology.” 

“They got rich off of ETH and BTC—that affects the adoption. They were able to spread the awareness because they had resources. In CoinMarketCap, BSV stands at seven in the top 100. That hurts its credibility. If BSV was a top-five coin, it’d have a lot more eyes on that. The price will soar as long as we developers keep building. I’m confident in the team at HandCash and I love working with the BSV technology,” Bryant remarked.

Thompson summed up the session with the following takeaways for his readers and viewers: 

  1. Small payments are one of the best use cases for blockchain because it has historically been very hard to send micropayments over the internet. 
  2. No two games are well-suited for micropayment integration because the blockchain-based payment process is easier than the conventional in-game payment process.
  3. Price can help adoption increase. An asset’s price can incubate its community in positive network effects.

Check out the previous episodes of More Than Money on CoinGeek’s YouTube Channel.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]