比特币白皮书日

比特币白皮书日

2008年10月31日,随着一种革新性的经济系统即将通过全新建立的P2P网络启动,标志着由银行以及国家独家制造和分发现金的时代画上了句号。中本聪通过metzdowd.com上的密码学邮件列表(Cryptography Mailing List)发布了比特币白皮书,并称“我一直在研发一种新型的电子现金系统”。尽管第一个区块在大约两个月后才问世,但这些话让比特币应运而生;而几乎同时,一小撮区块链先驱者也加入了进来。

– @realCoinGeek 让我们骄傲地庆祝比特币白皮书日成立12周年!#周年 #BitcoinSV #BSV #白皮书日 #中本聪 pic.twitter.com/1KpxRpmz5H

— CoinGeek (@RealCoinGeek) 2020年10月31日

James Donald回复中本聪说:“我们太需要这样的系统了。但从我对你这份材料的理解来看,该系统似乎并不能扩容到我们所需的规模……”接着又对中本聪说,要让比特币发挥作用,每个人都要运行自己的全节点。中本聪并未接受这种评断,但从一开始就有一小撮声音对比特币协议提出质疑。我们到现在依然在跟这些顽固人士辩论着。

而这种争辩不休还体现在其他方面。

改革之日

10月31日是一个具有历史意义的日子,代表着对旧世界传统的净化。这样它们就可以重焕生机,为更新更高的目标服务。在西方国家,大多数人不太了解“万圣节”的历史——他们只是跟朋友一起穿着恐怖主题的服装和饰品庆祝。有关古凯尔特人的秋季庆典节日“萨温节”(Samhain)的参考文献很多,但10月31日对重大文化革命的历史有重要的意义。

在8世纪,教皇格雷戈里三世(Gregory III)将11月1日设为“万圣节”(All Saints Day),以此纪念教会圣徒,他们的殉难以及这种庄严的纪念应受到敬畏。那次礼赞是一场庆典——用基督教的象征符号取代古代异教神,作为旧世界基础之上的文化转移。因此,基督教启蒙时代注定要席卷世界。借罗马教会之功,天主教徒对数学、科学和哲学的研究在罗马纷纷兴起,随后在欧洲成燎原之势。教会网络和拉丁文字作为一种加密语言,迅速将数据传遍中世纪的欧洲。

10月31日,万圣夜(All Saints’ Eve)是欧洲多数地区和不列颠群岛举办的一个节前庆祝活动。在那里,人们可以用比较轻松的方式庆祝对教会圣徒死亡的解放。跟更古老的异教仪式结合之后,与我们现在知道的万圣节相似的事物就从这些文化中衍生出来,因此10月31日就成了教会上下举办盛大庆典的日子。在他们看来,死亡是可以被嘲笑的,因为生命是通过教会的努力降临欧洲的,所以要热烈地庆祝。

Johannes Gutenberg's printing press

16世纪初,天主教开始分裂,因为平民百姓看不懂拉丁文,需要神职人员为他们阅读圣经、新闻和法律——这令人十分沮丧。在腐败猖獗的前提下,1517年,随着一种新的全球数据工具在德国诞生,分离主义者发起了一场革命。教区居民开始要求《圣经》用各种平民百姓看得懂的语言广泛传播,而古腾堡印刷机(Gutenberg Press)也使得数据复制的成本大幅降低。

随着知识和解放的崛起,1517年10月31日,有人给教会写了一封信,宣称集中印刷和分发《圣经》真理的时代即将告终。当德国修道士马丁·路德(Martin Luther)将他的白皮书(通常称为《九十五条论纲》(The Ninety-Five Theses))钉在威滕堡的教会门口时,他揭开了一场关于数据分发和认知革命的序幕。这场革命最后导致天主教会霸权的终结。他的论述为现代人了解科学、人权、法律和新教教会的创建铺平了道路,所有这些带来的是文艺复兴思想在整个欧洲的传播,最终来到新世界。

意义

从异教徒到基督教徒、从天主教到新教、从无知到有识以及从困惑到开明的重大飞跃,均发生于10月31日。2008年,又迎来了一次重大飞跃。如果认为学识渊博的中本聪没有选择一个伟大的日子,将世界从货币排他主义推向一个健全货币和完整数据的新时代,那会是愚蠢的想法。比特币协议的任何内容都不是草率的选择,所以对于这个日期可能也有尚未披露的意义。

因此,在2008年那个神圣的夜晚,世界可以看到关于比特币的开放思想。辩论也几乎随之而来。但中本聪非常明确地表示,比特币将解决中心化支付系统的问题,并遗憾地说道:“……中介成本增加了交易成本,限制了实际交易规模的下限,并斩断了小额偶发交易的可能性。”他知道世界需要微支付来解决“互联网上的商业”问题,这是他的比特币白皮书中导语的主题。世界上有信用卡,SWIFT体系以及PayPal这样的支付工具,但还没有一种系统是可以在世界各地支付一美元或一便士就可以购买对互联网时代的孤立经济体来说太过廉价的东西。

中本聪向世界引入比特币的概念时,他还阐明了这是“一种点对点分布式时间戳服务器,用于生成交易时间顺序的计算证明。”2009年1月,他开始处理全球交易,其中第一笔交易包含了额外的OP_RETURN数据,并称“财政大臣即将对银行进行第二轮援助”,以此表明比特币可以用哈希标记时间,但也可以反向关联链上传输的额外数据。

从那天起,有关货币、数据传输和点对点通讯协议的讨论,最起码都要与比特币有关。

中本聪,谢谢你!也祝大家万圣节快乐!

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Bitcoin White Paper Day

October 31, 2008 was the day of the public announcement that the era of exclusive bank and state minting and distribution of cash was coming to an end as a revolutionary new economic system was about to launch across a P2P network built from the ground up. Satoshi Nakamoto debuted the Bitcoin white paper to the Cryptography Mailing List via metzdowd.com saying “I’ve been working on a new electronic cash system.” While the first block would not be mined for about two months, these were the words that spoke Bitcoin into existence. And almost immediately, small blockers came to rain on the parade. 

James Donald responded to Satoshi, “We very, very much need such a system, but the way I understand your proposal, it does not seem to scale to the required size…” and went on to tell Satoshi that in order for Bitcoin to work, everyone would need to run their own full node. Satoshi rejected this criticism, but on day one there was a small blocker critic of the Bitcoin protocol, and we are still debating these fools today. 

But that is a segue that can be covered elsewhere. 

The Day of Reformation

October 31st is a historically significant day representing the purification of old world traditions so that they can be reinvigorated to serve newer and higher purposes. In the Western hemisphere, most folks do not know the history of “Halloween” very deeply, and mostly just celebrate with friends in macabre themed costumes and decor. References to the ancient Gaelic autumnal celebration “Samhain” are common, but October 31st represents so much to the history of crucial cultural revolutions. 

In the 8th century, Pope Gregory III instituted November 1st as “All Saints Day,” as a celebration of the saints of the church, their martyrdom and the solemnity with which such remembrances should be revered. That celebration was a festival – replacing ancient pagan gods with Christian symbolism as a cultural graft atop the foundations of the old world, and an age of Christian enlightenment was meant to sweep the world. To the credit of the Roman Church, the mathematical, scientific and philosophical research of the Catholics leapt off from Rome and spread across Europe like wildfire. The network of churches and the written Latin language worked as a sort of encrypted language for the rapid dissemination of data across medieval Europe.

On October 31st, All Saints’ Eve was a pre-holiday celebration in much of Europe and the British Isles where the end of death’s grip on the people of the church could be celebrated with some levity. Combined with the older, pagan rituals, something resembling a modern understanding of Halloween grew up out of these cultures, and October 31st became a day of great celebration for the whole church. As they saw things, death could be laughed at as life had come to Europe through the work of the Church, and it was celebrated with vigor. 

Johannes Gutenberg's printing press

In the early 16th Century, a schism had begun to form in the Catholic Church over the frustration that the commoner could not read Latin and required a hierarchy to read them the Bible, the news and the law. Under the assumption of rampant corruption, in 1517, a revolution was kickstarted by separatists as a new global data tool emerged out of Germany. Parishioners rose up to demand that the Bible be distributed widely in languages which could be read by the people, and the Gutenberg Press cut the cost of data reproduction down by a huge margin.

With knowledge and liberation on the rise, on October 31st 1517, a letter was written to the church announcing that the era of centralized printing and distribution of Biblical truths was coming to an end. As Martin Luther, a German monk, hammered his white paper (commonly called “The Ninety-Five Theses”) to the door of the church at Wittenburg, he started the beginnings of a revolution in the distribution and understanding of data that precipitated the end of Catholic church hegemony. His theses paved the way for the modern understanding of science, human rights, law and the creation of the Protestant church all of which led to the spread of Renaissance thought across Europe and ultimately to the new world. 

Significance

Great leaps from pagan to Christian, from Catholic to Protestant, from ignorant to educated, and from confused to enlightened, were kicked off on October 31st. In 2008, another great leap was taken, and it would be foolish to believe that the polymath, Satoshi Nakamoto, did not choose a day of great shift to move the world from monetary exclusionism to a new era of sound money and data integrity. Nothing about the bitcoin protocol was flippantly chosen, so perhaps there is an undisclosed significance to the date as well. 

And so, on that hallowed eve in 2008, the world could read the opening thoughts of Bitcoin. The debates would begin almost instantly, but Satoshi made it very clear that bitcoin would solve the problems of centralized payments systems, lamenting, “…the cost of mediation increases transaction costs, limiting the minimum practical transaction size and cutting off the possibility for small casual transactions.” He knew the world needed micropayments to solve the problems of “Commerce on the Internet” which was the subject of the introduction to his Bitcoin white paper. The world had credit cards, swift and even tools like PayPal, but there was not yet a system to send a single dollar or a single penny across the world to pay for something too inexpensive for the siloed economies of the Internet era. 

Proposing Bitcoin to the world, he illustrated “a peer-to-peer distributed timestamp server to generate computational proof of the chronological order of transactions.” He began processing transactions for the world in January 2009 – the first of which contained extra OP_RETURN data stating “Chancellor on the brink of second bailout for banks” as a way to show that bitcoin could be time-stamped with a hash, but also tied back to extra data transmitted on chain.  

From that day forward, discussions of money, data transmission and peer-to-peer communication protocols would need to, at the very least, deal with Bitcoin.

Thank you, Satoshi, and Happy Halloween! 

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.