比特币、道德与抵制变革

比特币、道德与抵制变革

法国小说家维克多·雨果有句名言:“思想的入侵是无法抗拒的”。用英文来讲就是——“人可以抵御军队的入侵;却不能抗拒思想的来袭。”

这句名言引出了《比特币、道德与抵制变革》这篇文章,这是一篇由开源学术出版社IntechOpen发布的文章,由资深技术顾问、比特币协会技术推广专家Bryan Daugherty和学术作者Eva R. Porras共同撰写。

在这篇文章中,作者分析了社会对区块链比特币的反应,发现人们围绕这个问题的普遍讨论缺乏对细微差别的认知,而随着数字资产日益占据主流地位,这种情况变得更加棘手。变革常常引起恐慌,这就解释了为什么比特币往往会受到机构性媒体的敌意对待(有趣的是,在这篇文章中,这样的反应是由像《纽约时报》这类报纸的头条标题作为样本来例证的,如《比特币是邪恶的》以及《我为什么希望比特币葬身火海》)。

虽然这种歇斯底里在某种程度上可以归因于对未知的怀疑,但这种反应不能仅仅因此就被忽视。毕竟,(如果您)在某一天浏览“数字货币”相关的头条新闻标题就会发现,该行业的某些角落确实纵容了许多邪恶行为。与此同时,不可思议且足以改变世界的产品正在通过最初于2008年在世界范围内发布的比特币(BSV)与区块链被创造出来。

该文章认为,其问题在于细微差别——或者更确切地说,是细微差别的缺失:

由于缺乏对(这种)技术运作方式的理解,再加上道德层面上根深蒂固的观念的渗透,许多人(包括金融界和整个社会的相关人士)都在对此高谈阔论。

这种缺乏细微差别的最具体表现就是人们仍然无法区分目前市场上的许多数字资产。针对‘数字资产’的批评,往往十分情绪化,就好像它们之间必须有足够的共同点才能被共同摒弃(或接受)。这不仅导致了在技术层面上产生了不准确的媒体报道,这也会使那些更加愤世嫉俗的评论员出于自身目的轻易地操纵舆论。在此引用Craig Wright博士2021年针对此课题的论文如下:

这些结果体现于,诸如BTC Core这样的组织对包括比特币在内的加密货币的错误操纵,以及将专业术语介绍给认为自己不仅会变得富有,还会获得权力和威望的内部集团。

通过这些,该文章证明了这些相互竞争且往往缺乏诚信的利益关系,使得将道德融入这场讨论变得至关重要。不仅仅因为如此一来我们可以更高效地讨论数字资产世界所面临的问题,也因为可以用来解决这些被(人们)抱怨的有问题,这些工具已然存在于比特币SV行业中。

“使用区块链将提高效率,同时也能为当前的困境提供更划算的解决方案。随着旧技术被取代,区块链将减少(其中存在的)欺诈(行为),增加(自身的)可信任性和安全性,并将提高多方交易的透明度。”

“鉴于这些情况,公共机构会一致欢迎和协助推动上述发展。然而,在目前政治和经济恶化的气氛下,政治和现状议程控制着发展的速度,科学界和愿意为这些发展提供资金的企业家们在一种相当敌对的心理氛围中不知所措。”

两位作者提倡一种基于伦理道德的方法,类似的方法在二战后的几十年里随处可见。面对于新的和那些往往会令人感到恐惧的技术,社会的反应不是妖魔化并扼杀它们的发展,而是要找到解决方案,让我们在享受这些技术带来的好处的同时“又不会引发过去所犯下的暴行。”对比特币(BSV)来说,幸运的是,这项正在被讨论的技术本身就可以提供这个问题的答案——即通过使用像比特币SV这样的协议来提高透明度并防止欺诈。

点击这里阅读《科技社会中的比特币与道德》的完整章节。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Bitcoin, ethics and resisting change

Bitcoin, ethics and resisting change

“On ne résiste pas à l’invasion des idées,” goes the famous quote by French novelist Victor Hugo. In English—“one resists the invasion of armies; one does not resist the invasion of ideas.”

This quote opens Bitcoin and Ethics in a Technological Society, a chapter released by open-source academic publisher IntechOpen and written by veteran technology consultant and Bitcoin Association technical outreach specialist Bryan Daugherty and academic author Eva R. Porras.

In it, the authors analyse the societal response to blockchain and Bitcoin, identifying a lack of nuance in the general conversation surrounding the issue which has only become more problematic as digital assets increasingly dominate the mainstream. Change often inspires fear, which can explain the hostile treatment that Bitcoin has tended to receive from institutional media outlets (humorously, this reaction is exemplified in the chapter by a sample of headlines from the likes of the New York Times, such as ‘Bitcoin is Evil’ and ‘Why I want Bitcoin to die in a fire’).

Though this hysteria can in part be attributed to suspicion of the unknown, the reaction can’t be dismissed solely on that basis. After all, a scan of ‘crypto’ headlines on a given day will show that there are indeed many evils being done which have been enabled by certain corners of the industry. At the same time, incredible and world-changing products are being built using the Bitcoin and blockchain which was originally released to the world in 2008.

The chapter argues that the problem is one of nuance—or rather, the lack of it:

The lack of understanding of how the technology works and the permeability of attitudes rooted on moral grounds have resulted in high-peach statements by many including relevant figures in the financial sector and society at large.

The most concrete manifestation of this lack of nuance is in the continued failure to distinguish between the many digital assets currently on the market. Criticism—often quite emotional—gets aimed at ‘digital assets’ as though they must all have enough in common that they can be dismissed (are accepted) together. Not only has this led to technically inaccurate media coverage, it has also allowed the more cynical commentators to easily manipulate public opinion for their own purposes. Dr. Craig Wright’s 2021 paper on this subject is quoted:

These results may be seen in the false manipulation of Cryptocurrencies including Bitcoin through groups such as BTC Core and the introduction of specialist language for ingroups who believe not only that they will get rich, but they will gain in power and prestige.

Through all this, the chapter makes the case that the attitudes these competing and often dishonest interests make it vital that ethics be part of the conversation. This is not only because it will allow us to productively discuss the issues facing the digital asset world, but because tools for solving the problems being complained of already exist within the industry in Bitcoin SV.

“The use of the blockchain will provide increased efficiencies and more cost-effective solutions to current predicaments. And as the older technology is replaced, the blockchain will reduce fraud, increasing trust and security, and it will improve the transparency of multi party transactions.

“Given all of these, one would expect public institutions would align to welcome and assist to facilitate the said developments. However, in the current atmosphere of political and economic deterioration, where political and status quo agendas control the rate of development, the scientific community and the entrepreneurs who are willing to finance these are at a loss in a rather hostile psychological climate.”

The authors advocate for an ethics-based approach, the likes of which was seen in the decades following World War II. In response to new and often terrifying technologies, society’s response was not to demonize and stifle their development, but to find solutions which allowed us to enjoy the benefits of these technologies “while not incurring the atrocities committed in the past.” In the case of Bitcoin, it’s fortunate that technology being discussed can provide the answer to this challenge by itself—through better transparency and the prevention of fraud using protocols such as Bitcoin SV.

Read the full Bitcoin and Ethics in a Technological Society chapter here.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]