货币是什么,比特币真的可以被当作货币使用吗?

Marquez Comelab探讨了什么是货币以及在过去货币所采取的不同形式,以供我们思考比特币是否可以被作为货币使用。

当您第一次听说比特币的时候,您对它的看法是怎样的?许多人会立刻将比特币看作一种被宣称为货币或是数字货币的某种东西。因此不可避免的是,关于比特币的谈话几乎总是会涉及关于什么是货币的讨论,因为正如其白皮书的标题中所描述的那样,比特币是一个“点对点电子现金系统”

大多数人通常认为比特币只是一时流行的事物,或者更糟——人们认为它是一场骗局。他们会说这样的话:“您不只是在创造货币。像比特币这样的东西怎么可能会是货币,或者它怎么会成为货币呢?”这种嘲讽是可以理解的,因为我们大多数人所知道的唯一某种形式的货币是近期存在的货币,如美元、欧元、英镑和日元。然而,这些仅仅是近期存在的货币形式。为了使我们能够了解并欣赏比特币所提供的东西,我们需要作出进一步思考。出于这个原因,本文将简要介绍货币的本质,并作出提问:像比特币这样的东西是否可以被作为货币使用。

我研究了货币、现金以及通货是如何被定义的,为了契合我们的意图与目的,我们可以将其简化为:

货币是被人们普遍接受作为支付手段用来清偿债务或换取商品和服务的任何物品。现金是处于流通状态的货币,而流通中的货币通常是任何被用于交换另一种东西的事物。

为了进一步说明上述定义的含义,让我们想象一下两个人(您和我)之间进行的基本交易。您想要我的某件物品,并且我想要您的某件物品。既然我们都是文明人,我们就不会简单粗暴地互相殴打对方,试图用暴力夺取我们想要的东西。所以我们做文明人所做的事情,我们可以达成协议。您也许可以提出这样的建议:“为了交换您的这瓶伏特加,我将给您十包香烟。”

您在这里所做的事情是您正在向我提出报价。我可能会决定还价,以对协议的条款进行调整。我们可能会继续反驳对方的提议,直到我们双方达成一个能够平衡伏特加和香烟的价格的定价方案为止。

现在,让我们假设我们最终达成了一致,我把我的一瓶伏特加给您,以此来换取您的10包香烟。这是否意味着伏特加或香烟已经变成了货币?那可未必。

我们所做事情的是用一种物品交换另一种物品。以物易物是我们所知道的最古老的贸易形式。当时货币还没有被发明出来,所以在古代文明社会中,人们用羊换鸡或用牛换取谷物。他们不仅仅交换财物,他们还交换服务或用物品换取别人的帮助。

我们可以用比特币进行以物易物吗?当然可以。如果我有比特币,我可以用它们换取您的香烟,如果您有比特币,您可以用它们换取我的一瓶伏特加。

那么,像香烟或伏特加这样的东西什么时候会成为货币?当许多人普遍接受用一些东西来清偿债务或交换商品与服务的时候,这些东西就会成为货币。

在监狱里,香烟曾经是一种流行的货币形式,囚犯之间用它来交换物品或者用来换取其他人的帮助。尽管监管方已经制定出了禁烟规则和政策,但将香烟作为一种货币来使用还是成了问题。根据亚利桑那大学的博士生Michael Gibson-Light与曾是囚犯的《监狱拉面》(Prison Ramen)一书的作者Gustavo Alvarez的说法,拉面已经成为了监狱中的货币。随着监狱从美国政府那里获得的资金开始变少,监狱发放给囚犯的食物数量也因此减少,食物的质量也下降了。对于囚犯来说,拉面是一种便宜、美味且富含热量的食物,这能使囚犯有精力去工作和锻炼。这样一来拉面变得非常有价值,以至于囚犯们开始用它来购买各种必需品,从食物和衣服到洗衣及卫生用品。

自16世纪以来,伏特加也一直被俄罗斯人作为货币使用。1998年,当俄罗斯人对卢布作为货币的功能失去信心时,使用伏特加作为交易媒介变得非常普遍,以至于西伯利亚的一个地区发给8000名学校教师每人15瓶伏特加作为工资。他们起初提议使用卫生纸或棺材作为工资,但伏特加是最受人们欢迎的,因为它是唯一可以被自由出售或是可以被用来换取面包和其他食物的东西!

在过去,我们的祖先也曾将各种物品作为货币使用。他们曾将动物和植物作为货币使用。在中国、非洲和印度,古代的人们曾经将贝壳作为货币使用。是的,就是那些您可以在海岸和岩礁上发现的贝壳!

正如香烟、伏特加、动物和贝壳等形式的货币一样,我们可以看到人类可以把任何东西作为货币使用,并且人类也已经将任何东西作为货币使用了。一个特定的物品成为货币的这一过程不在本文的讨论范围之内,但我们有足够的理由得出结论,即特定的物品成为货币的过程是由人们的需求所驱动的。我们无论在什么情况下都会去寻找最切合实际、最有效并且最方便的方式来进行交易,这样我们和我们的家属才能生存并发展起来。

因此,当人们开始将一些物品作为货币使用时,这些物品就会成为货币。同样地,如果人们开始在日常生活中使用比特币来交易商品或服务,那么比特币也可以成为货币。

Marquez Comelab自2015年以来就一直在关注比特币。他对中本聪对于比特币的愿景(即比特币SV(BSV))如何解决问题感兴趣,并且还对比特币SV如何为我们的金融与货币系统增加价值感兴趣。您可以在MarquezComelab.com上关注他或者关注Twitter账号@Marquez_Comelab

***

参考文献:

[1]文章:“拉面如何成为监狱里的货币之王”,Laurie Vazquez著,BigThink.com,发布于2016年8月23日:https://bigthink.com/laurie-vazquez/how-ramen-noodles-beat-cigarettes-to-become-a-prison-currency【于2021年8月23日访问】。

[2]文章:“伏特加是如何成为俄罗斯的一种货币的”,Susie Armitage著,Atlasobscura.com.com,发布于2019年10月23日:https://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/vodka-currency-russia【于2021年8月23日访问】。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

What is money and can Bitcoin really be used as currency?

Marquez Comelab explores what money is and the different forms it has taken in the past for us to consider whether Bitcoin can be used as currency.

What did you think of Bitcoin when you first heard about it? Many people immediately think of Bitcoin as something being claimed as money or digital currency. Unavoidably then, conversations about Bitcoin almost always touch on a discussion about what money is, because, as described in the title of its whitepaper, Bitcoin is a “Peer-to-Peer Electronic Cash System.” 

Most people commonly dismiss Bitcoin as just a fad, or worse, a scam. They say things like, “You do not just create money. How can something like Bitcoin be money, or become money?” This cynicism is understandable when the only money most of us have ever known are the more recent currencies like dollars, the euro, pound sterling, and the yen. Yet, these are merely forms of money that have existed relatively recently. To understand and appreciate what Bitcoin offers, we need to think further. For this reason, this article presents a short introduction about the nature of money and asks whether something like Bitcoin can be used as money. 

I have looked around for how money, cash and currency are defined, and for our intents and purposes, we can simplify it to this:

Money is any item generally accepted as payment to settle a debt or exchange for goods and services. Cash is money in the form of currency, and currency is anything that is generally used to exchange one thing for another. 

To expand on what the above definition means, let us imagine a basic transaction between two people: you and me. You want something I have, and I want something you have. Since we are civilized human beings, we are not simply going to club each other to try and take what we want violently. So we do what civil people do and reach an agreement. You might propose something like: “In exchange for your bottle of vodka, I will give you ten packs of cigarettes.” 

What you are doing here is you are making me an offer. I might decide to make a counteroffer to adjust the terms of the agreement. We will probably continue countering each other’s offers until we both reach a proposal that balances how we both price vodka and cigarettes. 

Now, let’s assume we eventually agree that I give you my bottle of vodka in exchange for your 10 packs of cigarettes. Does that mean the vodka or cigarettes have become money? Not quite. 

What we have done is we have bartered one good for another. Bartering is the oldest form of commerce of which we are aware. Money was not yet invented, so ancient civilizations exchanged sheep for chickens or cattle for grain. They did not just trade possessions, they also exchange services and favors.

Can we barter with Bitcoin? Certainly. If I had Bitcoins, I could exchange them for your cigarettes, and if you had Bitcoins, you could exchange them for my bottle of vodka. 

When then does something like cigarettes or vodka become money? Something becomes money when many people generally accept it to settle debts or exchange for goods and services. 

In prisons, cigarettes were once a popular form of currency prisoners exchanged for items or favors with each other. Although with non-smoking rules and policies set in place, using cigarettes as a currency has become problematic. According to Michael Gibson-Light, a doctoral candidate at the University of Arizona and a previous inmate, Gustavo Alvarez, author of Prison Ramen, ramen noodles have become money in prisons. As prisons began receiving less funding from the U.S. government, the quantity of food given to prisoners reduced, and the quality also deteriorated. For prisoners, ramen is a cheap, tasty, calorie-rich food that gives them the energy to work and exercise. As a result, it has become so valuable they began using it to buy all sorts of necessary items, from food and clothing to laundry and hygiene products.1

Vodka, too, has been used by the Russians since the 16th century as currency. In 1998, when Russians lost confidence in the ruble to function as money, using vodka as a medium of exchange became so common that one Siberian district gave 8,000 schoolteachers 15 bottles apiece as wages. They initially proposed using toilet paper or coffins, but vodka was favoured because it was the only thing that could be sold freely or exchanged for bread and other food!2

In the past, our ancestors have also used various items as money. They used animals and plants. In China, Africa and India, they used cowry shells. Yes, those same shells you find along shores and rocky reefs!

As with currencies like cigarettes, vodka, animals and shells, we can see human beings use anything, and have used anything, as money. The process by which a particular item becomes currency is beyond the scope of this article, but we have enough to conclude that the process is driven by necessity. In whatever circumstances we find ourselves, we will look for the most practical, efficient and convenient way to transact with each other so that we, and our dependants, can survive and thrive.

Something becomes money therefore when people start using it as money. In the same way, Bitcoin too can become money if and when people begin using it to exchange goods or services in their daily lives.

Marquez Comelab has been following Bitcoin since 2015. He is interested in how Satoshi Nakamoto’s vision of Bitcoin, Bitcoin SV (BSV), can fix problems and add value to our financial and monetary systems. You can follow him at MarquezComelab.com or Twitter @Marquez_Comelab.

***

References:

[1] Article: ‘How Ramen Noodles Became King of Prison Currencies’, by Laurie Vazquez, BigThink.com, Published 23 Aug 2016: https://bigthink.com/laurie-vazquez/how-ramen-noodles-beat-cigarettes-to-become-a-prison-currency [accessed 23 Aug 2021].

[2] Article: ‘How Vodka Became a Currency in Russia’, by Susie Armitage, Atlasobscura.com.com, Published 23 Oct 2019: https://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/vodka-currency-russia [accessed 23 Aug 2021].

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]