项目组表示图瓦卢BSV国家数字账本原型将于明年问世

2021年至2022年,国家公民身份登记处和潜在的数字现金解决方案将是图瓦卢国家数字账本项目的前两个原型,而且这两个原型都在BSV区块链上运行。与会者还指出,他们与国家政府和地方政府的协商过程在确定国家的确切需求方面具有重要意义。

“图瓦卢区块链”项目(BIT)团队今天在CoinGeek苏黎世大会的小组讨论上发言,给出了该项目的具体更新进度和细节,在过去一年里,该项目受到了支持者和怀疑者的广泛关注。

小组成员包括图瓦卢司法、通信与外交部长Simon Kofe、Faiā的George Siosi Samuels、Elas Digital的Brendan Lee以及nChain的商业与战略总监Simit Naik。小组讨论的问题由比特币协会创始主席Jimmy Nguyen向各位嘉宾提出。

有什么事情是我们可以期待的,这些事大概什么时候会发生?

关于图瓦卢项目的问题主要围绕BIT团队能够并且将在什么时间框架内实际交付什么,以及他们是如何确定什么是适合该国情况的。

图瓦卢人口不多,只有1万1千6百人,分布在南太平洋的八个岛屿上。它使用澳元作为官方货币,但还没有数字银行或信用卡服务。

显而易见的是,该项目肯定得到了图瓦卢政府和当地社区的支持,这要归功于BIT团队的广泛的协商过程。Naik和Lee都强调这是一个关键点,他们说,重要的是这个项目不能仅仅是一群具有西方思维的技术专家,根据他们的假设开发的一个系统并将其强加给一群人。

例如,虽然图瓦卢人在日常生活中使用澳元,但他们的经历与澳大利亚人完全不同。图瓦卢人必须使用实物钞票,这些钞票需要被运到岛上并进行分发(通常是发给那些在银行前排长队的人,因为银行离他们不是很近)。该国没有提供可进行海外支付或汇款的在线服务,甚至没有自动取款机。Kofe部长还指出,由于当地人出国旅行会随身携带现金,有时会出现钞票短缺的情况。

因此,数字现金系统是BIT团队将优先考虑的两个原型之一。BSV使用SPV和SPV信息收发将资产代币化甚至支持半离线P2P支付的能力是关键,因为数字现金BIT设备需要能够与其他国家货币进行兑换,并用于海外传输。

Lee表示:“这将是一个挑战,但我认为我们可以应对。”

另一个原型将是一个国家公民身份登记处,即将目前的登记处进行数字化,并且处理在海外出生或生活的潜在图瓦卢公民的申请。Kofe说,现有的系统是书面化的,所有文件都存储在一个办公室里。

文化联系

从实体记录到数字记录是该项目的另一个关键组成部分,它源于Samuels写的一篇关于文化保护的文章,这篇文章在图瓦卢广为流传。除了其他物流和技术挑战之外,还有警告称,如果地势低洼的岛屿因海平面上升而被淹没,图瓦卢的全体居民可能有一天需要被疏散到其他国家。

Samuels曾为图瓦卢的一个“文化动画”项目工作,而且有社区组织经验。他与文化的个人联系来自他母亲的家庭,这在国家方面和帮助人民方面给予了他更多的热情。

Samuels说:“非常荣幸。对我来说,它不仅仅是一项技术,它是我的祖先和根源的一部分,所以它对我来说有着不同的意义。”

Kofe表示,这种联系很重要,虽然政府已经通过仔细研究区块链和其他可用网络进行了尽职调查,但Samuels对图瓦卢的奉献很重要——BSV实际上可以在技术层面上提供承诺的服务对图瓦卢也非常重要。

Naik指出,长达5个月的磋商进程至关重要,BIT团队从未冒昧的猜测图瓦卢需要什么。即使是政府本身也可能对民众有不同的想法,所以对所有人来说,保持开放的心态来做这件事并且首先理解其中的细微差别是很重要的。

BIT团队由FaiāElas DigitalnChain以及图瓦卢政府组成。Naik表示,他们希望在接下来的10-12个月内可以准备好两个主要的原型,用于向大家进行演示。

Kofe说,其他政府和组织也对该项目产生了兴趣,并提出了一些问题。除了公民身份记录和支付,图瓦卢还在考虑基于BSV区块链的渔业登记(从当地水域的船只观察员那里收集数据)、土地登记和其他服务。

图瓦卢有机会跨越过一代技术,直接从纸质方式转变为使用区块链数据记录来携带现金。该国的人口可能比较分散,但小规模的国家也使新系统更容易推出。BIT团队将继续与所有利益相关方密切协商,以确保一切都能够步入正轨,并收集他们自身遇到的挑战和实施结果的数据。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Tuvalu BSV National Digital Ledger prototypes coming in the next year, says project team

A national citizenship registry and a potential digital cash solution will be the first two prototypes for the Tuvalu National Digital Ledger project in 2021-22, running on the BSV blockchain. Those involved also noted the importance of their consultation process with the national government and locals in determining exactly what the country needs.

The projects “Blockchain in Tuvalu” (BIT) team spoke on a panel at the CoinGeek Zurich conference today to give specific updates and details on the project, which has gained a lot of attention over the past year from both supporters and skeptics alike.

Panelists included Simon Kofe, Tuvalu’s Minister for Justice, Communications and Foreign Affairs, George Siosi Samuels of Faiā Corporation, Brendan Lee from Elas Digital, and nChain Director of Commercial and Strategy Simit Naik. Questions came from moderator Jimmy Nguyen, Founding President of the Bitcoin Association.

What can we expect, and when?

Questions about the Tuvalu project have mostly revolved around what the BIT team can and will actually deliver, on what timeframe, and how they’ve gone about determining what’s appropriate for the country’s situation.

Tuvalu has a small population of just 11,600, spread out over eight islands in the South Pacific Ocean. It uses the Australian dollar (AUD) as its official currency but has no digital banking or credit card services.

What is clear is that the project definitely has support from both the Tuvalu government and the local community, thanks to the BIT team’s extensive consultation process. Both Naik and Lee highlighted this as a key point, saying it was important for the project not to be simply a group of technology experts with a Western mindset developing a system according to their assumptions, and imposing it on a population.

For example, although Tuvaluans use the Australian dollar in daily life, their experience is completely different to that of Australians. Tuvaluans must use physical banknotes which need to be shipped to the island and distributed (usually to people waiting in long lines at banks which aren’t always nearby). There are no online services for overseas payments or remittances, or even ATMs. Minister Kofe also noted that at times there have been banknote shortages, thanks to locals traveling overseas and taking the cash with them.

For this reason, a digital cash system is one of the two prototypes the BIT team will prioritize. BSV’s ability to tokenize assets and even semi-offline P2P payments using SPV and SPV messaging is key here, since the digital cash BIT devises will need to be something exchangeable with other national currencies and used for overseas transmission.

“It’ll be a challenge, but not one I’m afraid we can’t meet,” Lee said.

The other prototype will be a national citizenship registry, digitizing both the current registry and processing applications from potential Tuvaluan citizens born/living overseas. Kofe said the existing system is paper-based and all stored in one office.

Cultural connections

Moving from physical records to digital is another key component of the project, which has its origins in an essay on cultural preservation written by Samuels that was widely shared in Tuvalu. As well as its other logistical and technological challenges, there have also been warnings that the entire population of Tuvalu may someday need to evacuate to other countries, should the low-lying islands succumb to rising ocean levels.

Samuels had previously worked on a “cultural animations” project for Tuvalu and has community organization experience. His personal connection to the culture comes from his mother’s family, giving him extra passion for the country and helping its people.

“It’s a great honor. It’s beyond just the technology for me, it’s part of my ancestry and roots so it takes on a different meaning for me,” he said.

This connection was important, Kofe said, and although the government had performed due diligence by reading up on blockchains and other networks available, Samuels’ own dedication to Tuvalu mattered—as did the fact BSV can actually deliver the services promised on a technological level.

Naik pointed out the 5 month-long consultation process was vital, and that the BIT team never presumed to know what Tuvalu needed. Even governments themselves can have different ideas to the populace, so it was important for all to come with an open mind, and understand the nuances first.

The BIT team consists of Faiā, Elas Digital and nChain, and the government of Tuvalu. Naik said they hope to have the two main prototypes ready for demonstration in the next 10-12 months.

Kofe said other governments and organizations have expressed interest and asked questions about the project. As well as citizenship records and payments, Tuvalu was also looking at BSV blockchain-based registries for fisheries (with data gathered from observers on vessels in local waters), land registry, and other services.

Tuvalu has the opportunity to skip a technological generation by moving straight from paper and crates of cash to blockchain data records. Its population may be dispersed, but its small size also makes new systems easier to roll out. The BIT team will continue to consult closely with all stakeholders to make sure everything is on the right track, and gather its own data on challenges and results.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]