《比特币理论》——白皮书:节省磁盘空间与简易支付验证

本集“比特币理论”的主题是关于比特币如何在保证交易安全的同时更有效地存储数据。比特币创造者Craig S. Wright博士和Fabriik智能钱包的Ryan X. Charles讨论了简易支付验证(SPV)、区块链数据编辑以及潜在问题在未来可以被解决的方法。

这是“关于不必永远保留一切的方法,”Wright博士说道。

是的,白皮书中详细介绍了简易支付验证(SPV)。这不是最近的想法。尽管如此,还没有任何一个广泛使用的钱包或其他比特币软件利用了这个过程。Wright博士经常宣传它的优势,但这仍然是一个比特币行业尚待探索的想法。

这个想法是,只有每个交易区块的区块头信息需要长期存储(多长时间取决于验证器)。为了进行支付以及验证区块链上的时间戳信息,在SPV中用户只需要保留自己可消费代币的记录和区块头的哈希记录即可。

Wright博士解释说,如果不对区块头进行验证,那么该区块中的数据都是无效的。除此之外,用户不需要为地球上的每个人保留完整的验证记录。

不过,交易处理需要保留这些记录——这就是为什么这项任务要交给那些拥有巨大带宽和数据存储能力的人。即便如此,数据也有可能会发生一些修剪,处理商能够自己决定何时/何地进行。

‘永远存在区块链上’——也许吧,但这是有条件的

“永远存在区块链上”这句话其实并不是比特币代码中内置的保证。如果只有区块头被处理器/验证器保存,那么实际的交易数据可能会在某个时刻被丢弃。大家应该记住这一点。然而,正如Wright博士所言,处理器有很多动机来进行分工。有些人会专攻大容量存储,有些则专攻效率和速度。虽然他们仍然会保留完整的数据记录,但用户可访问这些数据的级别可能会有所不同。

他认为,未来的交易处理领域会更加多样化——这里所说的“多样化”指的是专业化的领域,并不是每个处理器都执行与其他处理器相同的任务。它们会有不同程度的数据归档能力。那么,从技术上讲,您的数据确实“永远存在区块链上”,但您可能必须付钱给别人,才能让这些数据随时可用。

那么,如果SPV是大规模处理比特币的最佳方式,为什么今天没有SPV钱包可用?Charles问道。“每个人都在试图将节点放置在每个可恶的桌面电脑上,”Wright回答道。

保持比特币的 “小”,以及比特币区块需要保持小规模以保持网络 “去中心化 “的旧的误解,也导致了SPV发展的不足。作为一个数据处理网络,比特币还处于起步阶段,所以只有当网络上有一些大批(交易)量的用户时,它的全部优势才会被人们理解。

‘诚实的节点’和‘攻击者’

比特币白皮书指出:

“因此,只要诚实的节点控制了网络,验证的结果就是可靠的,但如果网络被攻击者过度控制,验证的结果就会更加脆弱。虽然网络节点可以自己验证交易,但只要攻击者可以继续控制网络,这个简化的方法就会被攻击者捏造的交易所欺骗。”

这就引发了一场关于“诚实节点”和“攻击者”是什么或可能是什么的讨论,Charles质疑BTC(2017年后,以BTC Core的形式)是否可以被视为“攻击者链条”。

Wright博士说,BTC现在实际上是一个独立的链条,这开启了一系列新的法律问题,因为该网络声称自己是“比特币”。

如果你更改了协议,你就不是比特币了。就是这么简单。

他解释说,BTC开发团队对基本协议规则的干涉比2017年BTC/BCH的分叉开始得更早。“CheckLockTimeVerify”(CLTV)操作码是在2015年被添加的,Wright博士描述“那些想要乱玩的傻瓜要为此负责,他们决定做实验并破坏他们不理解的东西”。

在那之前,NlockTime函数就已经存在于比特币系统中了,但随着其他定时交易程序的添加或删除,这已经被“破坏”了。这样做会使从比特币诞生之初就使用这个函数进行的交易无效(这些交易很可能与中本聪以及其他早期比特币信仰者的币种有关,这是另一回事)。

Wright博士说,如果我进行任何交易,它必须在未来是有效的。如果情况并非如此,任何金融系统都不可能被认真对待,因为金融应用程序的时间框架非常庞大(85年或更长的时间)。即使是标准的住房贷款也会持续40年左右,超过40年还需要保留记录。”这必须是一成不变的,别无他法。”他说道。

因此,BSV是唯一真正遵循了原始规则的冠以比特币之名的区块链。节目还有一场讨论,它与谁拥有制定规则的唯一法律权利以及法院和政府可能会采用哪些方法来执行该规则相关。

像往常一样,这次讨论中充斥着比特币发展史上有趣的小插曲(包括一些关于Alert Key系统以及谁可以使用它的评论)。也像往常一样,完整观看每一集的“比特币理论”都是值得的。这是您能够获得的最全面的教育(或回顾),即使您认为自己已经知道了关于比特币的全部知识。如果连Ryan X. Charles每周都能学到一些新东西,那么保证观众也能学到。

您若想观看《比特币理论》的前几集,请在此处订阅《比特币理论》YouTube频道

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Theory of Bitcoin – the White Paper: Saving disk space and simplified payment verification

This episode of “Theory of Bitcoin” is all about how Bitcoin can store data more efficiently, while still keeping transactions secure. Bitcoin creator Dr. Craig S. Wright and Fabriik Smart Wallet’s Ryan X. Charles talk about simplified payment verification (SPV), blockchain data pruning, and ways potential problems might be handled in the future.

This is “all about not having to hold everything forever,” Dr. Wright says.

Yes, Simplified Payment Verification (SPV) is detailed in the white paper. It’s not a recent idea. Despite this, no widely-used wallet or other Bitcoin software has made use of this process. Dr. Wright often touts its benefits but it’s still an idea yet to be properly explored in the Bitcoin industry.

The idea is that only the headers from each transaction block need to be stored long-term (how long that is depends on the validator). For payments, and to validate information timestamped on the blockchain, SPV says a user only needs to hold records of their own spendable coins and a hashed record of the block headers.

If the block headers don’t validate, then none of the data in that block would be valid, Dr. Wright explains. Beyond that, users don’t need to keep full validation records for everyone on the planet.

Transaction processors would need to keep these records, though—and that’s why that task is going to those with massive bandwidth and data storage capacity. Even then, it’s possible some pruning will occur and processors are able to decide for themselves when/where that will be.

‘Lives forever on the blockchain’—maybe, but there are conditions

The phrase “lives forever on the blockchain” isn’t actually a guarantee built into the Bitcoin code. If only block headers are kept by processors/validators, then the actual transaction data may be discarded at some point. That’s something everyone should remember. However, as Dr. Wright says, there are plenty of incentives for processors to specialize. Some will specialize in mass storage, others in efficiency and speed. Although they will still keep full data records, the level to which that data is accessible to users may vary.

He sees a future where there’s more diversity in the transaction processing sector—and by “diversity” here we mean areas of specialization, where not every processor performs the same tasks as the others. There will be various degrees of data archiving capability. Technically, then, your data does “live forever on the blockchain,” but you might have to pay someone to make that data readily available.

So if SPV is the best way to handle Bitcoin at a massively scaled level, why are there no SPV wallets available today? Charles asks. “Everyone’s been trying to put nodes on everyone’s damn desktop,” Wright says.

Keeping Bitcoin “small”, and the old misconception that Bitcoin blocks needed to be kept small to keep the network “decentralized” have contributed to this lack of SPV development too. Bitcoin is also still in its early infancy as a data processing network, so its full benefits may not be understood until there are several large-volume users on the network.

‘Honest nodes’ and ‘attackers’

The Bitcoin white paper states:

“As such, the verification is reliable as long as honest nodes control the network, but is more vulnerable if the network is overpowered by an attacker. While network nodes can verify transactions for themselves, the simplified method can be fooled by an attacker’s fabricated transactions for as long as the attacker can continue to overpower the network.”

This leads to a discussion of what “honest nodes” and “attackers” are or could be, and Charles questions whether BTC (post-2017, in the form of BTC Core) could be considered an “attacker chain.”

BTC is actually now a separate chain, Dr. Wright says, and that opens up a new range of legal issues since that network claims to be “Bitcoin.”

If you change the protocol, you’re not Bitcoin. It’s that simple.

The BTC development team’s interference in the fundamental protocol rules began much earlier than the 2017 BTC/BCH split, he explains. The “CheckLockTimeVerify” (CLTV) opcode was added in 2015, something Dr. Wright has described as “fools that wanted to play took charge, they decided to experiment and break what they did not understand.”

The NLockTime function already existed on Bitcoin before then, but has been “broken” with other timed-transaction procedures added or removed. Doing this has invalidated transactions made using this function from the earliest days of Bitcoin (transactions that could well be relevant to Satoshi’s and other early Bitcoiners’ coins, which is a whole other issue).

If I make any transaction at all, it’s got to be valid in the future, Dr. Wright says. No financial system could be taken seriously if this is not the case, given that the timeframe for financial applications is huge—85 years, or more. Even a standard housing loan lasts about 40 years, and still needs to be kept on record years beyond that. “It has to be set in stone, there’s no other way to put it,” he says.

BSV, therefore, is the only blockchain bearing the Bitcoin name that actually follows the original rules. There is also a discussion about who has the sole legal right to set the rules, and what methods courts and governments might use to enforce this.

As usual, the discussion is peppered with interesting tidbits of Bitcoin development history (including some comments about the Alert Key system and who could use it). And also as usual, it pays to watch every “Theory of Bitcoin” episode in full. It’s the most thorough education (or review) you’re able to get, even if you think you already know all there is to know about Bitcoin. If even Ryan X. Charles learns something new every week, viewers are guaranteed to as well.

To watch previous episodes of the Theory of Bitcoin, subscribe to the Theory of Bitcoin YouTube channel here.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.