Satoshi Block Dojo logo with a blue background

Satoshi Block Dojo欢迎日:体验一下此公司的魅力

当我第一次见到Craig Massey的时候,我对我自己说,这个人让我想起了我最喜欢的在线游戏行业的先驱们,Massey的精力和他们如出一辙。他如果也入这行的话,一定会很适合的!

当然,从一开始,这就是吸引我去找Massey的原因。Massey是Satoshi Block Dojo的创始人兼董事长。我绝对崇拜他的精力,他让我感觉宾至如归。我也很喜欢Satoshi Block Dojo的口号。这让我想起Bodog品牌那句臭名昭著的“玩命工作,尽情享乐(Work Hard,Play Hard)”的口号,我们这些老派在线随机游戏的专业人士对此百听不厌。

但让我们花一分钟来理解一下Satoshi Block Dojo到底是什么,以及他们举办的“欢迎日之第一批志同道合的人”是为了什么。

Satoshi Block Dojo,简称“Dojo”,它是由英国科技企业家Massey创立的伦敦BSV区块链孵化器。我们已经知道Massey与Dojo团队在2021年8月正式发布其项目后的庆功宴上玩得很尽心,但现在我们可以看到Dojo团队真的开始行动起来了,而不是仅仅把大话挂在嘴边。

1月15日,10家新兴的BSV初创公司齐聚Dojo的办公室,他们通过Massey与其团队组织的特别欢迎日,正式启动了为期三个月的孵化器项目。

Massey透露道:“他们将在伦敦东部设立办公室,在那里他们将得到一切可能的帮助,以推进他们的商业想法,并且他们能从经验丰富的企业家与其他专家那里获得建议。在课程结束时,他们将有机会向投资者推销自己的企业,希望得到投资者的支持,来带他们更上一层楼。”

他解释说:“Dojo项目是一项为期12周的高强度培训,在这里,我们将非常新生的商业理念转化为成熟的、非常专业的科技初创企业。”

组成“第一组”的10家初创公司包括来自世界各地的19位创始人,来自喀麦隆、危地马拉、波兰以及威尔士等地。为了促进创始人与18名Dojo团队成员(包括同事)之间的联系,Massey及其团队主办了充满创意活动的一天。

Massey解释道:“迎新日以一种真正有趣与放松的方式来布置,包括所有参与者的互动。迎新日涵盖了一顿充满美酒佳肴的长时间午餐,我们把成员们打乱组合,这样大家就能更好地了解彼此。”

他补充说:“我们还在我家举办了一场余兴派对,有吉他手、歌手助阵献唱,还有很多食物和饮料,派对在凌晨4点才结束——所以这无疑为欢迎日带来了更多的欢声笑语。”

当天,Massey还发表了一段鼓舞人心的欢迎词、简短的公司介绍和一项名为“Pecha Kucha”的活动,这是一种日本传统的讲故事方式。在这种情况下,Dojo团队的每个成员与每个初创公司的创始人都创建了10张幻灯片,并且有20秒的时间来向团队解释每张幻灯片的含义。

当被问及她在欢迎日最喜欢的回忆是什么(尽管她有很多美好记忆)时,Dojo的首席运营官Osmin Callis选择了Pecha Kucha这段作为她的最终答案。

她说:“我们初步了解了每位加入Dojo的人的个性与动机,他们也了解了Dojo团队。他们也开始真正地与彼此建立联系。双方已经高度信任与投入了。”

这个为期三个月的项目于1月17日正式启动,每周都有创业者一对一的会议、午餐、研讨会、大师班以及训练营。

Callis分享道:“在小组的团队中会有很多第一次!”我真的很想看到首次重要事件的出现,我期待着第一个导师魔力会议,第一部分最佳成员的诞生,第一个投资者推介日!”

在接下来的三个月里,除了所有艰苦的工作,人们所钟爱的“玩命工作,尽情享乐”的信条当然会继续下去。

Massey补充道:“在我看来,享乐与获得成功并不相互排斥,所以社交与团队游戏在整个项目中密不可分。”

他说道:“我们创造了一款团队游戏,让他们与一群陌生人一起工作,看到他们展现出的不同个性以及他们在压力下做出的表现总是很有趣的。”

Massey透露:“但大部分游戏都是愚蠢的废话,主要是为了让他们玩得开心,更好地了解对方,同时做一些典型的事情,让他们走出舒适区。拭目以待吧,下一场团队游戏将在3月10日周四举行。”

拭目以待是对的,因为我将是下一场团队游戏的裁判,您可以期待当天的完整报道!与此同时,让我们听听一些创始人自己对欢迎日的想法,以及为什么他们对成为Dojo魔力一份子是如此的兴奋。

欢迎日最美好的回忆

Sattva Meta的Kevin Chinniah说:“我认为现场能听到Craig的经历分享是我最好的回忆。尽管谁也不能料想到这种事的发生,但它提供了一个很好的视角,让我们随时地进行360度的审查。”

忍者朋克女孩乐队(Ninja Punk Girls)的Richard Boase说:“与Charles Miller见面是我最好的回忆!能和他握手聊天真是太好了!”

Buzzmint的Charles Symons说:“让我最印象深刻的是人们(这里有很多人)都没有违反任何规则!尽管活动持续了很长时间。”

A group of people attending the Satoshi Block Dojo Welcome Day

Hedone的Sam Gibbon说:“我对欢迎日最美好的记忆是分享我们的PechaKucha——我们更多地了解了想法背后的人,并且在互相交流之间产生了一点乐趣。对我们来说,这是打破僵局并且了解我们小组的好方法。”

+App的Laura Igwe Odii表示:“我最好的回忆是看到来自不同背景的人们在第一次见面时聊天时,就像一家人一样其乐融融。特别是那晚在载着大家去Massey家的特别巴士甲板上的家庭气氛。因为这就是我在尼日利亚享受的那种家庭生活。我感觉就像回到了家里一样。”

+App的Laura Igwe Odii表示:“我最好的回忆是了解其他所有的企业与企业家,我们相互支持。”

CosmosX的Matthew Foster说:“我觉得乘坐老旧的红色伦敦巴士的旅程非常棒。即使在现代,我们仍然依赖旧技术!”

Soundoshi的Michael Scislowski表示:“第一天最愉快的时刻是我们意识到,我们和一些有着相似梦想的人在一起,他们都有雄心壮志,但他们同时也都很善良,乐于助人。我们对能成为这个自由与注重创新社区的一员这件事感到无比自豪。”

最令人兴奋的方面是成为Satoshi Block Dojo第一组的一部分

Chinniah说:“挑战在于成为第一组引领范例的人,成为潜在引领技术的一份子,此技术将彻底改变整个行业。”

对于Boase来说,他“很高兴能亲身体验这个项目,并且接触到所有这些伟大的导师!”

Symon说:“区块链最令人兴奋的领域的先行者优势,加上能够向下一组人提供反馈——我认为能够帮助他人使BSV尽可能地成功与尽可能地令人兴奋的机会,与机会本身一样重要!”

Gibbon说:“来到这里,开启一件激动人心的事情。区块链在未来将会被所有的行业所运用,这是不可避免的,我非常感谢能和一群志同道合的企业家与优秀的导师在一起。虽然才过了一个星期,但我知道我已经交到了一些一辈子的朋友,这都要归功于Dojo!”

Group of people having conversations

对于Odii来说,“Dojo提供的支持形式多种多样,远远超出了筹集启动资金的范围,这非常令人兴奋。”

Odii说:“这是向Dojo领导人、其他企业家学习的机会,也是学习比特币SV技术、商业技能的机会,也是我们今年构建与发布成功应用程序的机会。”

CosmosX’s的Foster说:“参与新事物总是令人兴奋的,挑战是吸引我并且推动我前进的东西。”

Soundoshi的Scilowski认为:“最让我们兴奋的事情是:那些我们觉得被提供给我们的机会,以及那些拥有丰富知识和经验的人,这些人能让我们更好地理解商业世界,并避免新手经常犯的错误。”

另请观看:Satoshi Block Dojo为下一代的BSV创业者打开了大门

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Satoshi Block Dojo logo with a blue background

Satoshi Block Dojo Welcome Day: Experience a piece of the magic

The first time I met Craig Massey I thought to myself, this guy reminds me of my favorite online gambling industry pioneers…his energy is the same. He would fit right in with them!

For sure this is what drew me to Massey, founder and chairman of Satoshi Block Dojo, from the start. I absolutely adore his energy; it feels like home. I also adore the Satoshi Block Dojo mantra. It reminds me of the Bodog Brand’s infamous “Work Hard, Play Hard” slogan that us old-school online gambling professionals could never get enough of.

But let’s take a minute to understand what exactly the Satoshi Block Dojo is and what their “Cohort One Welcome Day” was for.

Satoshi Block Dojo, or “Dojo” for short, is a London BSV Blockchain incubator founded by Massey who is a British tech entrepreneur. We already knew Massey and the Dojo team were good fun after their official launch party in August of 2021, but now we get to see the Dojo team literally put their money where their mouth is.

On January 15, 10 new BSV startups made their way to the Dojo offices to kick off a three-month incubator program with a special Welcome Day organized by Massey and team.

“They’ll be based in an office in East London where they’ll be given every help possible to progress their business ideas and get advice from experienced entrepreneurs and other experts. At the end of the programme, they’ll have a chance to pitch their businesses to investors and hope to get backing to take them to the next level,” Massey revealed.

“The Dojo programme is an intense 12 weeks of training, where we take very nascent business ideas and turn them into fully fledged and very professional, tech startups,” he explained.

The 10 startups that make up “Cohort One” include 19 founders from around the world, coming from locations such as Cameroon, Guatemala, Poland and Wales. In an effort to facilitate bonding between founders and the 18 Dojo team members (including associates), Massey and his team hosted a day full of creative activities.

“The Welcome day is to set-the-scene in a really fun and relaxed way, that involves interaction from all the participants. This included a long lunch over delicious food and wine, where we mixed up the teams so that everyone got to know each other better,” explained Massey.

“We also organised an after-party at one of my houses and had guitarists and singing and lots of food and drink, which finished at 4 a.m.—so that definitely helped to bring more laughter and fun into the Welcome Day,” he added.

The day also included an inspirational welcome speech from Massey, brief company intros and an exercise called “Pecha Kucha,” a traditional Japanese storytelling format. In this case, every member of the Dojo team and each of the startup founders created 10 slides and had 20 seconds per slide to explain its meaning to the group.

When asked what her favourite memory from the welcome day was, although she had many, the Dojo’s Chief Operating Officer Osmin Callis chose the Pecha Kucha session as her final answer.

“We got our first insights into the personalities and motivations of each individual joining the Dojo and they got to know the Dojo team as well. They also started to really connect and bond with each other. There is already a very high level of trust and of course, commitment,” she said.

The three-month program officially began on January 17, with each week featuring one-on-one meetings, lunches, workshops, masterclasses and bootcamps for the founders.

“There will be so many firsts to experience alongside the teams in the cohort! I’m really keen to see the first pivots, looking forward to the first mentor magic sessions, the first cut of MVPs, first investor pitch day!” shared Callis.

Alongside all the hard work over the course of the next three months, the beloved “Work Hard, Play Hard” mentality will, of course, continue.

“In my opinion, having fun and being successful are not mutually exclusive, so having socials and team games is a definite part of the overall programme,” Massey added.

“Creating a team game, where they work with a bunch of strangers, is always interesting to see the different personalities and how they perform under pressure,” he said.

“But mainly the games are all silly nonsense, largely designed for them to have fun and get to know each other better, while doing something typically, way out of their comfort zone. Watch this space, the next team game is on Thursday, March 10,” Massey revealed.

Watch this space is right as I will be a judge for the next team game, and you can expect a full report from the day! In the meantime, let’s hear from some of the Founders themselves on what they thought of the Welcome Day and why they are so excited to be a part of the Dojo magic.

Fondest memories from the Welcome Day

“I think the live sharing from Craig’s experiences. Although one would not imagine that it can happen, but it gives a good insight to do a 360 check all the times,” said Kevin Chinniah, of Sattva Meta.

“Meeting Charles Miller! Was lovely to shake his hand and have a chat!” said Richard Boase, of Ninja Punk Girls.

“People—lots of people—not breaking any laws! It’s been a long, long time :)” said Charles Symons, of Buzzmint.

A group of people attending the Satoshi Block Dojo Welcome Day

“My fondest memory of the welcome day was doing our PechaKucha— we got to understand more about the people behind the ideas and have a bit of fun with each other. Great way for us to break the ice and learn more about our Cohort,” said Sam Gibbon, of Hedone.

“Seeing people from diverse backgrounds chatting and mixing with each other like one family on the very first meeting; in particular, the family atmosphere on the deck of the special service bus which transported everyone to Massey’s house on that evening. Because that’s the sort of family life I enjoyed back in Nigeria. I felt at home,” said Laura Igwe Odii, of +App.

“Learning about all the other businesses and entrepreneurs, and supporting each other,” said Laura Igwe Odii, of +App.

“The journey on the old red London bus was awesome. Even in the modern day we still rely on the old technology!” said Matthew Foster, of CosmosX.

“The most pleasant moment of the first day was the realisation that we are among people with similar dreams, people who are ambitious, but at the same time people who are kind and eager to help. We are proud to be part of a community of free and innovation-focused people,” said Michael Scislowski, of Soundoshi.

The most exciting aspect about being a part of Satoshi Block Dojo Cohort One

“The challenge to be part of the first cohort leading the example and be part of the potential leading technology that will revolutionalise the whole industry,” Chinniah said.

For Boase, he’s “excited to experience the program myself and get exposure to all these great mentors!”

“First mover advantage in the most exciting space within blockchain plus being able to feed back into the next cohort—I think the opportunity to be able to help others make BSV as successful and exciting as is possible is just about as important as the opportunities themselves!” Symon said.

“Being here at the start of something exciting. Blockchain will be utilized by all industries in the future, it’s inevitable and I’m so grateful to be with a group of like-minded entrepreneurs and amazing mentors. It’s only been a week, but I know I’ve made some lifelong friends thanks to the Dojo!” Gibbon said.

Group of people having conversations

For Odii, it’s “the support that the Dojo provides, comes in many forms and goes well beyond just raising start-up funds, which is very exciting.”

“The chance to learn from the Dojo leaders, other entrepreneurs and to learn more about Bitcoin SV tech, business skills and set us up to build and launch a successful app this year,” Odii said.

CosmosX’s Foster said, “Being part of something new is always exciting and the challenge is what draws me in and drives me forward.”

And for Soundoshi’s Scilowski: “The things that excite us the most are: the opportunities we feel are offered to us, and people with a wealth of knowledge and experience that enable us to understand the business world better and avoid mistakes that are often made by freshers.”

Watch: Satoshi Block Dojo opens doors to next generation of BSV entrepreneurs

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]