瑞波转变业务蓝图

瑞波(Ripple)原有的业务模式是与银行密切合作并为充当银行的跨境支付管道,但目前这种模式效果并不理想。

通过瑞波进行国际支付结算的西班牙桑坦德银行表示,他们将不再使用XRP(瑞波币),他们给出的理由是这种数字货币的交易不够活跃,无法满足桑坦德银行的需求。

甚至瑞波与速汇金(MoneyGram)的战略合作也一直未见成效。每个季度,瑞波都会向速汇金支付技术使用费。总体而言,瑞波已经向速汇金支付了4300万美元,为其ODL网络提供流动资金,2020年上半年,瑞波支付给速汇金的费用占速汇金运营利润的60%。

“瑞波没有提供任何有价值的东西,”克雷格·怀特博士(Dr. Craig Wright)说,“它不是一个有效的结算系统,它无法消除或减轻银行对洗钱防控以及所有其他防控的需求。他们试图把这项技术硬塞进他们并不了解的行业。”

瑞波网络创建于2004和2005年之间,最初名为OpenCoin Inc.,但不要与OpenCoin.org混淆,OpenCoin Inc.于2008年破产。瑞波币是一个伪装成区块链的数字代币。这家公司当初推出XRP只是为了利用非法证券筹集资金,而在15年后的今天,该公司仍未在市场中找到适合自己的位置。银行不需要瑞波,是因为瑞波无法提高银行现有的流程(银行已对该流程投入了大量资金)的效率。瑞波币之所以还能维持正向现金流,无非是因为他们每个季度都向市场抛出价值数百万美元的XRP

所以,有传闻称,瑞波有意转变目前的业务计划,拓展其他领域的业务。

支付领域的亚马逊

瑞波的首席执行官布拉德·加林豪斯(Brad Garlinghouse)表示,瑞波希望成为支付领域的亚马逊

“亚马逊从书店起家,最初只售卖图书。而我们从支付业务起家,”加林豪斯说,“两年后,你会发现瑞波对支付业务,就像亚马逊对图书业务一样。”

换句话说,瑞波期望拓展国际支付结算以外的业务,找到新领域、新行业和新的合作伙伴,以便能够真正地从其运营中获得利润。然而,与亚马逊不同的是,亚马逊的起家业务——图书销售——大获成功并让亚马逊一举成名,而瑞波的起家产品——国际支付结算平台——惨遭失败,使该公司在观察家眼中更加黯淡无光。

但消息属实吗?

在瑞波转变业务计划的消息传出后,瑞波首席执行官迅速做出了回应。

根据加林豪斯的说法,瑞波“绝对没有‘重置’其战略的计划,因为使用XRP解决现实世界中的10万亿美元问题,就像跨境支付,是可行的。” 

然而,很显然瑞波正面临困境,加林豪斯已经承认,唯一能让瑞波维持正向现金流的只有他们每个季度的瑞波币销售。

针对业务计划的转变,瑞波开发团队的负责人伊桑·比尔德(Ethan Beard)说,公司将从“写支票转为写代码”。也就是说,我们会看到瑞波在未来将减少支付给其合作伙伴的费用,瑞波很可能会尝试开发技术供其他公司采用,但这对瑞波来说困难重重,因为他们的代币没有实际效用,他们的平台也不能优化现有的业务。

“XRP只是为了支持瑞波生存的一种毫无意义的代币,”怀特博士说,“瑞波试图使用一种无功能的区块链技术来重塑自己的品牌,这种技术向比特币协议倚靠,只是为了让它看起来与比特币等技术有某种联系。”

瑞波在成立的8年间犯下了许多错误。首先,他们并不需要数字货币。他们目前的平台实质上是一种银行支付网关,无需数字货币或代币即可实际存在。瑞波的一个最大问题是它没有创造任何价值。

瑞波没有实际效用,这一点与比特币(BSV)不同,BSV拥有大量的软件开发人员,而且人们每天使用BSV进行应用程序和服务费用的微支付。瑞波没有消费平台,也没有软件开发人员在瑞波上进行开发。所以,瑞波的主要用途只是投机。

考虑到瑞波除了销售XRP之外没有任何盈利业务,所以他们所创造的XRP代币连自己都不真正需要。瑞波知道,要想盈利,唯一的方法就是以非法的证券型代币进行ICO(首次代币发行),不断为该公司及其创始人敛财。我们没有理由要使用瑞波,所有人都知道,所有银行都知道,甚至瑞波公司自己也知道。所以,即使瑞波转变其业务蓝图,也不太可能拯救它自己。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Ripple switches business blueprint

Ripple’s former business model, which involves it working closely with banks and acting as their cross-border payment rail, is not working very well.

Santander, the Spanish bank that utilizes Ripple to make and settle international payments, said they will no longer be using XRP, claiming that the digital currency is not actively traded enough to support Santander’s needs.

Even Ripple’s strategic partnership with MoneyGram has not paid off. Every quarter, Ripple pays MoneyGram to use its technology. In total, Ripple has paid MoneyGram $43 million to provide liquidity for its ODL network—in the first half of 2020, Ripple’s payments to MoneyGram accounted for 60% of MoneyGram’s operating profits.

“Ripple just does not offer anything of value,” said Dr. Craig S. Wright. “It’s not an efficient settlement system, it doesn’t remove or mitigate the need for money-laundering controls and all of the other controls that banks have. It’s a technology that they’re trying to shoehorn into an industry they don’t understand.”

The Ripple network started in 2004/2005 as OpenCoin Inc.—not to be confused with OpenCoin.org— and in 2008 it failed. It is a digital token masquerading as a blockchain. Fifteen years later, the company, which added XRP for no real reason other than to raise money using an illegal security—is still looking for its fit in the market. Banks don’t need Ripple because Ripple does not make the bank’s current processes—which they have already heavily invested in—more efficient than they already are. The only reason Ripple stays cash-flow positive is because they dump millions of dollars of XRP into the market each quarter.

That being said, rumors are circulating that Ripple is looking to pivot away from their current plan and expand their operations in other fields.

The Amazon of payments

According to Ripple’s CEO Brad Garlinghouse, Ripple is looking to become the Amazon of payments.

“Amazon started as a bookseller and just sold books. We happen to have started with payments,” said Garlinghouse. “Two years from now, you’re going to find that Ripple is to payments as Amazon was to books.”

In other words, Ripple is now looking to expand beyond international payment settlement, and find new areas, industries, and industry partners, where they can actually profit from their operations. However, unlike Amazon, whose first product—books—were a hit and made the company popular, Ripple’s first product, international payment settlement platform, has flopped, and has made the company look even more unappealing to observers.

But is it true?

After news of Ripple’s shift in plans was released, Ripple’s CEO was quick to respond. 

 According to Garlinghouse Ripple has “absolutely no plans to ‘reset’ its strategy because using XRP to solve a real-world, $10T problem, like cross-border payments, is working.” 

However, it is clear that Ripple is struggling, Garlinghouse has admitted that the only thing keeping Ripple cash-flow positive is their quarterly Ripple sales.

In terms of a shift in business plans, Ethan Beard, who runs Ripple’s developer efforts, said the company will move from “writing cheques to writing code”. That being said, we will see fewer payouts to Ripple’s partners from Ripple in the future, and will most likely see Ripple trying to create technology that others adopt—which will be tough for the company given that their token has no utility and their platforms do not optimize existing operations.

“XRP is simply a token created with no particular reason to exist alongside Ripple,” said Dr. Wright. “Ripple attempted to rebrand themselves by using a non-functioning chain technology that was stapled onto the side of the protocol in order to make it look like they had some relationship to technologies like Bitcoin.”

Ripple has made several mistakes in its eight years. To begin with, they never needed a digital currency. Their current platform is essentially a payment gateway for banks, which can honestly exist without a coin or token. One of Ripple’s biggest problems is that no value is being created on Ripple.

Unlike Bitcoin (BSV), which has an abundance of software developers as well as applications and services that individuals are spending their BSV on every day to make micropayments, Ripple has no utility. There are no platforms where you can spend your Ripple and no software developers are building on Ripple. That being said, Ripple’s primary use-case is speculation. 

When you consider that Ripple does not have any profitable operations besides their XRP sales, it makes sense that they created the XRP token even though they really didn’t need to. Ripple knew that the only way for them to be profitable would be to hold an ICO with an illegal security token that would continually rake in income for the company and its founders. There is no real reason to use Ripple, the world knows it, banks know it, and even Ripple knows it. That being said, it is unlikely that Ripple’s shift in their business blueprint will save them.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.