Kleiman诉Wright案第五天回顾:Craig Wright是个怎样的人?

Kleiman诉Wright案第五天回顾:Craig Wright是个怎样的人?

Kleiman诉Wright案审判的第五天聚焦在一个问题:Craig Wright博士过去是什么样的人,现在又是什么样的人?

但在此之前,辩护律师Andres Rivero完成了对Ira Kleiman的盘问。盘问的一些关键点是,Ira在取得Dave Kleiman的房产所有权后不久就清除并使用了他的硬盘;话虽如此,但很有可能,如果Dave真的是比特币的所有者,而且他确实把比特币存在他的加密设备上,包括他的硬盘驱动器、电脑和手机,那么Ira Kleiman很有可能误删了Dave所谓的比特币钱包,或者任何可能连接Dave所谓的比特币钱包的信息。

另一个关键因素是Dave Kleiman非常尊重Wright博士。

在Wright博士询问他们应该写什么主题的论文之后,Dave通过电子回复说:“我想不到好点子,先生,您才是想出好主意的天才。”

也许Rivero的第五天盘问中最重要的一点是,尽管Ira Kleiman声称Wright博士和他的兄弟Dave Kleiman于2008年3月12日至2008年万圣节期间创造了比特币,但除了2008年3月的那封邮件外,没有一封邮件提到过比特币。

随着审判的进行,证据的缺乏可能会变得至关重要,尤其是因为Dave和Wright博士就他们创建的合法注册公司W&K Info Research Defense, LLC内发生的商业事务有详细的文件往来。

Wright博士在写给Dave Kleiman的电子邮件中说道:“Dave,我自己拿不到这些东西,因为我不是美国公民。另外,也许我们可以通过合作伙伴的身份做些事情。”不久之后,W&K正式以Wright博士和Dave Kleiman的合作伙伴关系创建。

需要注意的是,Wright博士说这句话时并没有提到现有的合作关系,Dave Kleiman也没有提。相反,Wright博士和Dave Kleiman都同意,他们应该通过合作伙伴关系的正式成立来启动业务。在比特币方面,他们之间没有发生过类似的事情,但很明显,Dave Kleiman和Wright博士都知道如何合法启动业务。

Rivero就此结束了对Ira Kleiman的盘问,然后Andrew Brenner开始了二次盘问。

Brenner的二次盘问和随后的两段视频证词向法庭提供了证据,这些证据可能会改变观众对Wright博士人品如何的看法。

Brenner提到,Dave Kleiman的房产并没有从Coin Exchange (Wright博士参与的一家公司)获得任何资金,尽管该房产在某个时间点有权获得价值超过4000万澳元(约合2958万美元)的超过1000万股股票。

Brenner拿出了证据,他在一封Wright博士写给Ira Kleiman的电子邮件中写道,“参与这件事的人都不想被人知道,即使是在他死后。这个故事比我们所有人加起来都强大。我想让Dave的家人知道,但请理解,他不想让全世界都知道。”

还有一封Wright博士写给Ira Kleiman的邮件,内容写道:

“看完邮件后,请删除邮件,或者至少加密一下。”

所有这些都是为了表明Wright博士和Dave Kleiman的活动有秘密的成分。保密可能表明他们不想让Ira Kleiman所说的所谓合伙关系成为公开信息。为了证明这一观点,Brenner在证词结束时出示了一份2014年5月20日Wight博士写给Ira Kleiman的电子邮件证据。

“我们成为了合作伙伴 ;)” Craig对Ira说。

谁是Jonathan Warren?

在Brenner对Kleiman进行二次盘问后,原告出示了Jonathan Warren的视频证词。Jonathan Warren是一位受过传统训练的计算机科学家,他在2012年创建了Bitmessage,这是一种基于比特币的匿名点对点消息服务。

原告试图从Warren的证词中得出的是, Wright博士不可能提供真实的证据。

Warren声称,他(Warren)在2012年11月底在GitHub网站上发布了Bitmessage,但有证据显示,Wright博士与Dave Kleiman交谈时,主题栏上写着“信任过程”之类的东西,时间戳是从2012年10月开始的,比Bitmessage声称的发布时间早了一个月。

Warren的证词可能会让Wright博士和他的指控的真实性受到质疑,这是原告律师的共同主题,因为他们已经声称,Wright博士可能在将资产从W&K转移给自己时伪造了Dave Kleiman的签名。

Warren在他的证词结束前研究了几种伪造时间戳的方法。在Warren的盘问中,律师Zalman Kass深入研究了Bitmessage的真正发布日期,而不是所谓的Github发布日期。

盘问显示,Bitmessage是在2012年5月5日编写的,这意味着,在Warren声称他有一个成品之前,Bitmessage的一个版本就已经被制作出来了。

“在2012年11月之前,你知道是否有人在暗网上发布了Bitmessage的一个版本吗?”Kass问Warren。

Warren没有否认Bitmessage版本可能在2012年11月Bitmessage的正式发布日期之前就已经在暗网上发布了,他继续探索了Bitmessage版本可能在通过GitHub正式发布Bitmessage之前出现在黑暗网络上的几种方式。

一旦Kass提到Bitmessage的非法使用及其通过暗网发布的真实日期,Warren显然变得不舒服,态度也发生了变化。Kass对Warren的盘问使从Warren的证词中获得的任何理由无效,因为这合法地质疑了Bitmessage的发布日期。

在暗网上发布后不久,Warren承认在Bitmessage正式发布之前与Wright博士进行了沟通,这可以解释为什么Wright博士和Dave Kleiman能够在11月发布日期之前使用Bitmessage。

谁是Deborah Kobza?

当天的最后一段视频是GICSR的创始人Deborah Kobza。GICSR是一家从事最佳实践研究的小型非营利组织。Wright博士是GICSR的顾问,尽管Kobza声称GICSR从未真正起步,业务也一事无成。

原告介绍了一份证据,表明Wright博士代表GICSR以2800万美元的价格申请了许可证,当Deborah Kobza看到这份文件时,她显得非常惊讶。Kobza还声称,文件上的书面签名不是她的签名,因此是伪造的签名。

Kobza被问到“GICSR花数百万美元购买了多少次?”她回答说:“从未买过。”

从Kobza证词中得出的一般结论是,Kobza对Wright博士及其商业事务知之甚少或一无所知,Wright博士未被授权代表GICSR获得该许可证,或者至少在没有让GICSR创始人知道他没有做的交易的情况下未被授权这样做。

Kobza的视频证词会让旁观者质疑Wright博士的道德,以及之前的一些证据中,Ira Kleiman声称Wright博士欺诈地签署了一份文件。我们将在周一的盘问后,看看她的证词是否站得住脚。

总结

辩方继续强调,Wright博士和Dave Kleiman都知道如何建立合法的商业实体,他们提供的证据表明,Wright和Kleiman在过去曾通过他们希望从事的商业项目(即W&K Info Research defense, LLC)这样做过,然而,Wright博士和Dave Kleiman之间只有一封电子邮件讨论过比特币,也没有关于比特币合作的参考资料或电子邮件往来。

另外,原告试图辩称这是因为Wright博士和Dave Kleiman在秘密进行此事。他们引用了许多证据来强调这一点,这些证据表明,Wright博士似乎有些偏执,认为他发送的信息会被泄露给公众,或最终落入坏人之手。

原告还试图通过向法庭提供证据,证明Wright博士不是一个值得信任的人,据称文件上有伪造的签名或伪造的日期。

现在说这两种观点会导致什么后果还为时过早,这取决于它们是否会在未来继续具有重要意义,或者它们是否会因强有力的盘问或二次盘问而失效。我们的审判才进行了五天,还有11天。许多人期待Wright博士在11月8日星期一出庭接受原告的审查,也许到那时,我们将对这些不容忽视的问题得到更多的答案。

CoinGeek将以Kurt Wuckert Jr.为专题进行每日回顾报道,该报道将于美国东部时间每天下午6:30在我们的YouTube频道进行直播。

在此观看我们关于Kleiman诉Wright一案的第五天特别报道:

Kleiman诉Wright的YouTube播放列表获取所有相关内容的CoinGeek特别报道。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Kleiman v Wright Day 5 recap: What kind of guy is Craig Wright?

Kleiman v Wright Day 5 recap: What kind of guy is Craig Wright?

Day 5 of the Kleiman v Wright trial honed in on the question, what kind of guy was and is Dr. Craig Wright?

But before that became a cornerstone of the day, defense counsel Andres Rivero finished his cross examination of Ira Kleiman. Some key points of the cross-examination were that Ira wiped and used Dave Kleiman’s hard drives shortly after taking ownership of his estate; and with that being said, there is a strong possibility that if Dave really was the owner of any Bitcoin, and he did keep them on his encrypted devices which include his hard drives, computers, and cell phone, then there is a good chance that Ira Kleiman could have mistakenly deleted Dave’s alleged Bitcoin wallets or any information that could lead to accessing Dave’s alleged Bitcoin wallets.

Another key factor was that Dave Kleiman had a lot of respect for Dr. Wright.

“I have no idea good sir, you are the genius that comes up with great ideas,” Dave said via email after Dr. Wright inquired with Dave about what topic the two should write a paper about.

Maybe the most important element of the Rivero’s Day 5 cross examination was that even though Ira Kleiman alleges Dr. Wright and his brother Dave Kleiman created Bitcoin between March 12, 2008, and Halloween 2008, there is not a single email other than the March 2008 email that mentions Bitcoin.

That lack of evidence could be critical as the trial goes on, especially since Dave and Dr. Wright had well-documented correspondences over the business matters that took place within the legally registered company the two created, W&K Info Research Defense, LLC.

“Dave, I cannot get these myself being that I am not a U.S. citizen. On the other hand, maybe we could do something in a partnership,” said Dr. Wright in an email to Dave Kleiman shortly before W&K was formally created as a partnership between Dr. Wright and Dave Kleiman.

It’s important to note that Dr. Wright does not refer to an existing partnership when he says this, nor does Dave Kleiman mention any existing partnership they have. Instead, both Dr. Wright and Dave Kleiman agree they should partner to get their business off the ground, and they did so via the formal formation of the partnership—nothing like that happened between the two in relation to Bitcoin, yet it is clear that both Dave Kleiman and Dr. Wright knew how to legally launch a business.

Rivero ended his cross examination of Ira Kleiman on that note, and then Andrew Brenner began his redirect.

Brenner’s redirect and the two video depositions that followed it introduced evidence into court that could influence a viewer’s perception regarding what kind of man Dr. Wright is or was.

Brenner mentioned that the Dave Kleiman estate has not received any money from Coin Exchange—a company that Dr. Wright was involved in—even though the estate was entitled to over 10 million shares that were worth over AUD40 million (~US$29.58 million) at one point in time.

Brenner produced evidence, an email from Dr. Wright to Ira Kleiman that said, “Nobody involved with this ever—even after death—wanted to be known. The myth is more powerful than all of us combined. I wanted Dave’s family to know but please understand he would not have wanted the world to know.”

There is another email from Dr. Wright to Ira Kleiman, which said:

“Please delete the emails or at least encrypt them or something after you have read them.”

All of this was to show that there was an element of secrecy to Dr. Wright and Dave Kleiman’s activities. Secrecy that could suggest that they didn’t want what Ira Kleiman claims is an alleged partnership to be information that was out in the open. To drive that idea home, Brenner ended his deposition by producing a piece of email evidence from Dr. Wight to Ira Kleiman from May 20, 2014.

“We did Partner ;)” Craig said to Ira.

Who is Jonathan Warren?

After Brenner’s redirect of Kleiman, the plaintiffs showed a video deposition of Jonathan Warren, the classically trained computer scientist that created Bitmessage, an anonymous peer-to-peer message service built on BTC in 2012.

What the plaintiffs attempted to extract from Warren’s deposition was that Dr. Wright can’t be trusted to provide truthful evidence.

Warren claims that he (Warren) published Bitmessage to GitHub in late November of 2012—but there are pieces of evidence that show Dr. Wright talking to Dave Kleiman with subject lines that say things like “the trust process” with timestamps from October 2012—one month before Bitmessage was allegedly released.

Warren’s deposition could cast doubt on Dr. Wright and the authenticity of the claims he is making, which is a common theme from the plaintiff’s counsel as they have already claimed that Dr. Wright may have forged Dave Kleiman’s signature when transferring assets from W&K to himself.

Warren explored a few of the ways that the timestamp could be forged before his deposition came to an end. In Warren’s cross examination, attorney Zalman Kass took a deep dive into what could be the real release date of Bitmessage, not the alleged Github release date.

The cross examination revealed that Bitmessage was compiled on May 5, 2012, which means that a version of Bitmessage had been built well before Warren claims he had a finished product.

“Prior to November 2012, do you know if anyone released a version of Bitmessage on the dark web?” Kass asked Warren.

Warren did not deny that a version of Bitmessage might have been released on the dark web before Bitmessage’s official release date in November 2012, and he went on to explore a few of the ways that a version of Bitmessage may have appeared on the dark web before he officially launched Bitmessage via GitHub.

Once Kass mentioned the illicit uses of Bitmessage and its real launch date which took place via the dark web, Warren visibly became uncomfortable and had a change in attitude. Kass’s cross examination of Warren nullified any ground that may have been gained from Warren’s deposition because it legitimately called into question Bitmessage’s release date.

Shortly after the dark web release was brought up, Warren admitted to communicating with Dr. Wright before Bitmessage had been officially released, which could explain why Dr. Wright and Dave Kleiman were able to use Bitmessage before its November release date.

Who is Deborah Kobza?

The final video deposition of the day was Deborah Kobza, founder of GICSR, a small non-profit organization that worked on best practice research. Dr. Wright was a consultant to GICSR, although Kobza claims that GICSR never really got off the ground and that the business did not amount to anything.

The plaintiff introduced a piece of evidence that showed that Dr. Wright had filed for a license with a $28 million price tag on behalf of GICSR—and Deborah Kobza appeared genuinely surprised when she was shown this document. Kobza also claimed that the written signature on the document was not her signature and that it was therefore a forged signature.

“How many times did GICSR make a multi-million-dollar purchase?” Kobza was asked, to which she responded, “Never.”

The general takeaway from the Kobza deposition was that Kobza knew little to nothing about Dr. Wright and his business affairs and that Dr. Wright was not authorized to obtain that license on behalf of GICSR, or at least not authorized to do this without making the GICSR’s founder aware of the transaction—which he didn’t do.

Kobza’s video deposition would make an onlooker question Dr. Wright’s ethics, as well as the previous pieces of evidence in which Ira Kleiman alleges that Dr. Wright fraudulently signed a document. We will have to see how her testimony holds up after cross examination which is expected on Monday.

In summary

The defense continues to emphasize that both Dr. Wright and Dave Kleiman knew how to establish legitimate business entities, and they provide evidence that Wright and Kleiman have done so in the past over business ventures they wished to pursue (i.e., W&K Info Research Defense, LLC), yet there is only one email between Dr. Wright and Dave Kleiman where they talk about Bitcoin, and there is no reference or email correspondence regarding a Bitcoin partnership.

On the other hand, the plaintiffs are trying to argue that this is because Dr. Wright and Dave Kleiman operated in secrecy. They emphasize this by citing the many pieces of evidence in which Dr. Wright seems paranoid that the information he is sending over will be leaked to the public or end up in the wrong hands.

The plaintiffs are also trying to paint a picture that Dr. Wright is not an individual to be trusted, by introducing evidence into the court where there is allegedly a forged signature on a document or falsified date.

It is too early to say where either of these arguments will lead, if they will continue to have significance in the future, or if they will be nullified by a strong cross examination or redirect. We are only five days into the trial and there are still 11 days to go. Many people are expecting Dr. Wright to take the stand on Monday, November 8 for examination by the plaintiffs, and maybe then we will get more answers to these pressing questions.

CoinGeek will feature Kurt Wuckert Jr. in daily recap coverage which will be livestreamed on a daily basis at 6:30 p.m. EST on our YouTube Channel.

Watch our Day 5 Special Report from the Kleiman v Wright trial here:

Check out all of the CoinGeek special reports on the Kleiman v Wright YouTube playlist.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]