TonicPow如何赋能应用开发者以帮助BSV走向世界

点对点数字广告系统TonicPow是从比特币协会的Bitcoin SV线上编程马拉松中脱颖而出的众多成功项目之一。TonicPow团队在2019年多伦多CoinGeek大会上斩获亚军,最近还获得了来自Ayre Group和CoinGeek创始人Calvin Ayre的一笔数目可观的投资

我们最近有机会联系到了TonicPow创始人Luke Rohenaz,他分享了团队在Bitcoin SV编程马拉松上的经验,最近从Calvin Ayre处获得投资的情况,以及TonicPow对未来的计划。

TonicPow队员是如何走到一起参加Bitcoin SV编程马拉松的?大家在参赛之前就已经认识了吗?

Austin和我在编程马拉松开始之前就已经在一起工作了好几年了。我也曾与Attila在Unwriter的slack频道(Atlantis)合作过,我们当时一起编写了Author Identity Protocol(AIP)和Magic Attribute Protocols(MAP),用于辅助当时我们正在构建的项目。我们三个聚在一起只是为了找点乐子,做点很酷的东西。我丝毫不知道这将是我们现在所处的这段不可思议的旅程的开始。

团队是如何想到TonicPow这个主意的?

我们进行了几次头脑风暴会议,列了一份清单,包含大约30个项目构思。然后,我们对它们进行了不同类别的评分,如商业可行性、问世潜力、趣味性以及其它一些标准。实际上,在深入完善想法并推出最初的TonicPow小工具之前,我们差点就完成了一个照片分享的应用。

在编程马拉松上创造TonicPow时,团队成员是怎么想的?

我们事先做了一些准备,所以我们计划好了,应该做什么,由谁做,按什么顺序做。我们还计划了将依靠哪些工具来加速开发过程。我们把功能分成了核心组件和延伸目标两类。我们最终完成了核心产品以及若干延伸目标。我并不觉得我们还有时间去想其它的事情!

团队在编程马拉松中遇到了哪些障碍?

我认为,我们的准备确实得到了回报,因为开发(在大多数情况下)进行得出奇顺利。我们并没有真正准备好进入决赛,所以对我来说,及时拿到护照离开美国是一场和时间的赛跑。但其他人都是经验更加丰富的旅行者。

TonicPow团队得知自己进入了编程马拉松决赛时,是一种什么感觉/体验?

老实说,当我们发现自己进入了前14强时(大概有200支队伍),我们真的很惊讶。之后的每一轮比赛都更加激动人心,到了最后简直是“超现实”。编程马拉松对我们来说是新的经历,所以要紧张得多

多伦多编程马拉松最难忘的时刻是什么?

毫无疑问,是我们在大会上遇到的那些人。我们在那里第一次见到了Jack Liu,其他的决赛选手,比如BitPing,还有许多我们以前在Atlantis合作过的开发者以及一些来自本领域的网络名人。当然了,还有Steve Shadders、Craig Wright这些才华横溢的人,他们为了使目前的一切成为可能,一直在不知疲倦地工作。后来,我们又参加了两次CambrianSV的活动,并与许多其他即将开展BSV业务的公司结成了联盟。

是什么吸引了Calvin Ayre的眼球,让他有了投资意向?

能让用户不必弄清楚如何获取比特币就赚到比特币的平台为数不多,TonicPow就是其中之一。TonicPow的平台可以帮助整个BSV生态系统扩展到世界其它地区。

TonicPow还赋能应用开发者去建立适用于任意行业的真正酷炫的激励系统。这当中蕴含着惊人的潜力,我们接触过的投资人立即注意到了这一点。

对于不了解的人而言,TonicPow是怎么工作的呢?

从本质上说,TonicPow是一个比特币推荐网络。你可以通过浏览产品和服务,并把你喜欢的内容分享给任何欣赏它们的人来赚钱。如果这些人购买了产品或者注册了服务,你就赚得更多。

TonicPow还是一个平台,相比传统广告,在商业推广上更具优势。当通过TonicPow创建活动时,用户选择与他们的受众进行分享。相比传统广告,当推荐来自于所认识的人时,用户更易于被吸引。此外,由于每笔支出都是实时记录在账本上,所以也更加透明。

TonicPow还提供了一个健壮的API,允许客户在他们的应用中加入灵活的激励系统,从而解锁无限可能性。

投资谈判进行了多久?还有其他投资人对TonicPow感兴趣吗?

在第一次比特币协会编程马拉松之后,我们开始与Calvin和他的团队谈判。至少可以说,当时的世界(与之前)已经大不相同了。当我们参与编程马拉松时,我们真的没期望TonicPow能成为一家公司,但它很快成为一条显而易见的前进道路。我们还与其他潜在的投资人进行了几次愉快的交谈。

你认为BSV生态系统目前还需要什么?

BSV本身已经准备就绪。它现在需要的是来自其他区块链的各种开发者。不是对BSV进行开发,而是在其上构建应用。我们会成功的。

TonicPow为未来做了什么准备?TonicPow的下一步计划是什么?

我们计划完成现有的工作,希望向用户交付一款体验极好的产品——无论你是非持币者,还是曾追随比特币经历了分叉的人。我们将更多地把比特币用作一个平台,并同时尊重用户隐私。此外,我们的网站还计划推出一些新功能,赋能广告主和推广者,让他们各取所需。还有很多工作要做!

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

How TonicPow empowers app developers as it helps BSV onboard the world

Peer-to-peer digital advertising system TonicPow is one of the many successful projects that came out of the Bitcoin Association’s Bitcoin SV Virtual Hackathon. The TonicPow team won second place at the CoinGeek Conference in Toronto in 2019 and recently received a sizable investment from Calvin Ayre, founder of Ayre Group and CoinGeek.

We recently had a chance to catch up with TonicPow founder Luke Rohenaz, who shared the team’s Bitcoin SV Hackathon experience, their recent investment from Calvin Ayre, as well as TonicPow’s plans for the future.

How did the TonicPow team come together for the Bitcoin SV Hackathon? Did everyone already know each other?

When the hackathon came up, Austin and I had been working together for a couple years already. I had also worked with Attila in Unwriter’s slack (Atlantis) and we co-authored Author Identity (AIP) and Magic Attribute Protocols (MAP) for side projects we were building at the time. I got the three of us together just to have fun and build something cool. Little did I know it would be the beginning of this incredible journey we find ourselves on now.

How did the team come up with the idea for TonicPow?

We had a couple brainstorming sessions that led to a list of about 30 project ideas. We then scored them on various categories like business viability, onboarding potency, fun factor, and a number of other things. We actually almost built a photo sharing app before refining the idea further and coming up with the original TonicPow widget.

What were the team’s thoughts when creating TonicPow at the hackathon? 

We did some preparation beforehand so we had a plan of what should be done, by who, and in what order. We also planned out which tools we would lean on to accelerate the development process. We separated our feature list into core components and stretch goals. We ended up delivering the core product as well as several of those goals as well. I don’t know that we had much time to have any other thoughts!

What obstacles did the team face at the hackathon?

I think our preparation really paid off because the development went surprisingly smooth (for the most part). We didn’t really prepare to be finalists so getting a passport in time to leave the U.S. was a race for me. The other guys were more seasoned travelers already. 

What was the feeling/experience like when the TonicPow team learned that they were Hackathon finalists?

Honestly, we were really surprised when we found out that we were in the top 14 teams (there were something like 200 of them). Each round afterward was even more exciting, and by the end it was just surreal. Hackathons were new to us, so it was that much more intense.

What are some of the most memorable moments of the Toronto Hackathon?

No question it was the people we met at the conference. It was there we were first introduced to Jack Liu, other finalists like BitPing, many devs we had worked with in Atlantis before, some online personalities from this space, and of course Steve Shadders, Craig Wright and all of the brilliant minds working tirelessly to make all of this possible. We would later go on to participate in both CambrianSV events, and form alliances with many of the other upcoming BSV businesses.

What caught Calvin Ayre’s eye and made him want to invest?

TonicPow is one of the few places you can earn Bitcoin without having to figure out how to acquire it. TonicPow’s platform can help the entire BSV ecosystem with onboarding the rest of the world.

TonicPow also empowers application developers to build really cool incentive systems, which apply to every industry. There’s amazing potential here and the investors we’ve spoken to noticed this immediately.

For those who don’t know, how does TonicPow work?

In essence, TonicPow is a BitCoin recommendation network. You can earn money for browsing products & services and sharing the ones you like with anyone who would appreciate them. If they purchase a product, or sign up for a service, you earn more.

TonicPow is also a platform to promote your business with some advantages over traditional advertising. When creating a campaign with TonicPow, users choose to share it with their audience. When recommendations come from people you know, you’re more inclined to engage than with traditional ads. It’s also more transparent since each payout is recorded to the ledger in real-time.

TonicPow also offers a robust API which allows customers to bake flexible incentive systems into their applications unlocking infinite possibilities.

How long were investment talks going on for? Are there any other investors interested in TonicPow?

We began talking with Calvin and the team after the first Bitcoin Association hackathon. The world was very different back then to say the least. We really didn’t expect this to become a company when we entered the hackathon but it quickly became an obvious path forward. We’ve also had a few good conversations with other potential investors.

What do you think the BSV ecosystem needs that it currently lacks?

BSV itself is ready to roll. What it needs now, is all of the developers from the other blockchains. Not to work on BSV, but to build applications. We’ll get there.

What does TonicPow have in store for the future? What are TonicPow’s next steps?

We plan to finish what we’ve started and deliver a great experience whether you’re a no-coiner, or have followed BitCoin through the forks. We will lean more heavily on Bitcoin as a platform while respecting user privacy as a rule. There are also new features planned to empower advertisers and promoters to come to their own terms. There’s lots of work to do!

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.