海斯特·皮尔斯将在美国证券交易委员会继续连任

美国证券交易委员会(SEC)委员海斯特·皮尔斯(Hester Peirce)一向对数字货币持友好立场,近日她已宣誓就职,开始其第二个委员任期。这位被大家亲切称为“加密妈妈”的现任委员将在此职位上再干五年。

本月早些时候,美国参议院一致同意了皮尔斯的第二任期。她于今年6月被美国总统唐纳德·特朗普正式提名连任。作为SEC的五位委员之一,她的第二届任期将持续到2025年6月5日。

与皮尔斯一同宣誓就职的还有卡罗琳·克伦肖(Caroline Crenshaw)。克伦肖不仅是美国陆军预备役(U.S. Army Reserve)上尉,同时也是一位资深律师,自2013年以来她就一直在SEC担任各种职务。

皮尔斯表示:“我很荣幸能够与SEC全体人员,以及包括新同事克伦肖在内的其他几位委员一道,继续为我们的投资者服务,维护市场的健全和职能。”

皮尔斯一直都是数字货币行业的坚定支持者,这也为她在全世界赢得了无数拥戴。她曾经批评过SEC在一些问题上的立场,例如,该委员会曾经否决一项政策修改,令首支数字货币交易所交易基金(ETF)的上市计划丧失了政策基础。当时,她认为SEC的表态无异于发出了“一个市场不欢迎创新的强烈信号,而这个信号不仅仅关乎比特币ETP的命运,其影响可能比这深远得多。”她敢于正面批评监管者的态度很快就得到数字货币行业的赞誉,“加密妈妈”这一昵称也由此而来。

在SEC工作期间,她曾大力提倡修改相关政策,希望借此吸引机构投资者进入数字货币行业。正如她在今年早些时候所说,这样做将能“给散户投资者以更可靠的保护,带来更成熟的比特币托管解决方案,并能更有效地监督市场操纵及其他欺诈行为。”

在宣誓仪式上,SEC主席杰伊·克莱顿(Jay Clayton)对皮尔斯祝贺道:“皮尔斯一直都给予我们的市场和投资者巨大支持,我相信未来几年她会继续坚定地为他们发声。”

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Hester Peirce won’t be leaving the SEC anytime soon

Hester Peirce, the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) commissioner known for her digital currency-friendly stance, has been sworn in for her second term in office. Peirce, better known as ‘Crypto Mom,’ will be in office for the next five years.

Peirce secured a second term in office earlier this month after she was unanimously confirmed by the U.S. Senate. She had been nominated for a second term in office by President Donald Trump in June. She will now serve as one of the five SEC commissioners until June 5, 2025.

Pierce was sworn in alongside Caroline Crenshaw, a captain in the U.S. Army Reserve and an experienced lawyer who has been serving in various roles in the SEC since 2013.

Pierce commented, “I am honored to be able to continue to serve our investors and protect the integrity and efficacy of our markets together with the SEC staff and my fellow commissioners, including my newest colleague, Commissioner Crenshaw.”

Pierce has been a fierce advocate for the digital currency industry, endearing her to millions across the world. She has criticized the SEC’s stand on some issues, including its objection to a policy change that would have paved the way for the first digital currency exchange traded fund (ETF). At the time, she claimed that the SEC’s stand sent “a strong signal that innovation is unwelcome in our markets, a signal that may have effects far beyond the fate of bitcoin ETPs.” This was the genesis of her moniker ‘Crypto Mom,’ with the digital currency industry quick to praise her for standing up to the watchdog.

During her time at the SEC, she has relentlessly advocated for policy changes that will attract the institutional investors into the digital currency industry. As she stated earlier this year, this will lead to “more robust protections for retail investors, better custody solutions for bitcoin, and to more effective surveillance for market manipulation and other fraudulent activity.”

The SEC chair Jay Clayton congratulated Pierce on her swearing in, stating, “Hester has been a tremendous advocate for our markets and investors, and I know she will continue to be a strong voice for them in the years to come.”

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.