“加密妈妈”海丝特·皮尔斯获美国证券交易委员会连任提名

美国政府的某位数字货币友好官员,已被提名连任五年证券交易委员会成员。她就是海丝特·皮尔斯(Hester Peirce),她作为美国证券交易委员会的五名委员之一,已被提名连任。

皮尔斯五年前在奥巴马政府就职。当特朗普接任总统后,他任命皮尔斯继续完成她剩余的两年任期。据彭博社报道,她的任期将于6月5日结束。

提名皮尔斯连任的提案是提交给参议院的、由白宫批准的10项提名之一。如果参议院批准她连任,那么,她将在证券交易委员会任职五年,任期将于2025年6月5日结束。法律允许她在接下来的18个月里继续任职,原因是她还需要等待参议院的批准。

这位耶鲁大学毕业的律师已经在美国政府服务了近20年。她之前的工作包括在证券交易委员会的投资管理部门担任律师。她还是参议院银行和住房委员会的工作人员。

皮尔斯被亲切地称为“加密妈妈”,这是她在2018年获得的头衔。此前,她反对美国证券交易委员会的命令,该命令否决了一项拟议的政策调整,该政策允许Gemini交易所上线BTC的ETF基金。

在皮尔斯的异议中,她认为证券交易委员会的决定违背了它下达的指令。她表示,这种ETF产品将允许机构投资者进入数字货币行业。

皮尔斯表示,“此外,我担心委员会的做法会妨碍比特币市场的进一步制度化,从而削弱对投资者的保护。更多的机构参与将缓解该委员会对比特币市场的诸多担忧,而正是这些担忧致使委员会下达了反对令。”

她立刻成为数字货币社区的热门人物。在她提出异议后,她的推特粉丝数量一天暴涨了十倍。从那以后,“加密妈妈”就一直在倡导为数字货币行业制定实际的法规。

今年早些时候,美国证券交易委员会又打击了另一个数字货币交易所交易基金,这次是纽约证券交易所的Arca交易所。皮尔斯再次表示反对,这一次她称美国证券交易委员会是反数字货币的。

她表示:“我从这种反对的行为中得出这样的结论,那就是,该委员会不愿意批准任何能为比特币提供市场准入的产品上市,该委员会坚持对比特币相关的产品(而且仅限于与比特币相关产品)实施不断变化的标准,但没有一份申请能符合这些标准。”

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

‘Crypto Mom’ Hester Peirce nominated for second term at SEC

One of the digital currency-friendly officials in the. U.S. government has been nominated for a second five-year term in her post. Hester Peirce has been tapped for another term as one of the five commissioners at the SEC.

Peirce took office five years ago under the Obama administration. When Trump took over, he nominated her to see out the remaining two years of her term. Her term ends on June 5, according to a Bloomberg report.

Peirce is one of 10 nominations sent to Senate for approval by the White House. If the Senate approves her reappointment, she will serve in the SEC in a five-year term that will expire on June 5, 2025. The law allows her to continue serving for the next 18 months as she awaits Senate confirmation.

The Yale-trained lawyer has served in the U.S. government for close to two decades. Her previous roles include a stint with the SEC as an attorney in the investment management division. She was also a staff member in the Senate Committee on Banking and Housing.

Peirce is fondly known as ‘Crypto Mom’, a title she earned in 2018. This was after she dissented from the SEC’s order that ruled out a proposed policy change that would allow Gemini exchange to list a BTC exchange-traded fund (ETF).

In her dissent, she argued that the SEC’s decision contradicted its mandate. Such a product would allow institutional investors to get into the digital currency industry, she stated.

“In addition, I am concerned that the Commission’s approach undermines investor protection by precluding greater institutionalization of the bitcoin market. More institutional participation would ameliorate many of the Commission’s concerns with the bitcoin market that underlie its disapproval order,” she said.

She instantly became a hit with the digital currency community. Her Twitter following shot up ten times a day after her dissent. Since then, Crypto Mom has continued to advocate for positive regulations for the digital currency industry.

Earlier this year, the SEC shot down yet another digital currency ETF, this time from NYSE’s Arca Exchange. Peirce dissented once again, this time calling out the SEC as anti-digital currency.

She stated, “This line of disapprovals leads me to conclude that this Commission is unwilling to approve the listing of any product that would provide access to the market for bitcoin and that no filing will meet the ever-shifting standards that this Commission insists on applying to bitcoin-related products—and only to bitcoin-related products.”

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.