美联储为数字美元计划尝试分布式账本

美国联邦储备系统(Federal Reserve,简称“美联储”)为实现美元数字化,已经在对分布式账本技术和数字货币进行试验。美联储理事莱尔·布雷纳德(Lael Brainard)透露,美国央行多年来一直在研究和测试分布式账本技术(DLT),并且目前正在开发一种针对央行使用的数字货币假设方案。

布雷纳德在上周旧金山分行的“金融创新会议(Innovation Office Hours)”中进行演讲时,透露了美联储分布式账本技术的进展。她在网络直播中提到,新冠肺炎疫情(COVID-19)严酷提醒了人们,建立起一个具有弹性且可靠易用的支付基础设施已成为当务之急。

她透漏,过去几年,美联储一直在对分布式账本技术进行内部试验,以了解该技术所带来的机会和风险。此外,该监管机构一直在研究,数字货币对“支付生态系统、货币政策、金融稳定性、银行和金融业,以及消费者保护”方面的影响

该监管机构也一直对数字货币进行研究。她表示:“为了增强美联储对数字货币的了解,央行波士顿分行与麻省理工学院保持多年合作,希望建立并测试一种针对央行使用的数字货币假设方案。该研究项目将根据需要探索现有技术和新技术的用途。”

布雷纳德承认,如果美联储要发行央行数字货币(CBDC),还有许多工作要做,比如,改变现有的严格法规。

“另外,考虑发行CBDC,需要一个重要的政策过程,同时还要与联邦政府其他部门和其他利益相关者进行广泛接触和讨论。此外,还有一些重要的法律因素需要考虑。”

目前,该监管机构尚未决定是否会进行政策调整过程。

近年来,美联储为了赶上全球支付系统的迅速变化,不得不加快脚步开发自己的数字货币和分布式账本技术。正如布雷纳德所说,比特币的崛起和随后出现的稳定币,让人们关注到了支付数字化的必要性。此外,中国等许多国家已经取得了快速进展,美国现在面临着掉队的危险。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Federal Reserve experimenting with distributed ledger for digital dollar plans

The United States Federal Reserve has been experimenting with distributed ledger technologies and digital currencies as it works towards digitizing the U.S. dollar. The Fed’s board member Lael Brainard revealed that the central bank has been studying and testing DLT for years now and is currently working on a hypothetical digital currency oriented to central bank uses.

Brainard revealed the Fed’s DLT progress in her speech during the San Francisco branch’s Innovation Office Hours event last week. Speaking via webcast, she cited the COVID-19 pandemic as a stark reminder of the great need for a resilient, trusted and accessible payments infrastructure.

For the past few years, the Fed has been conducting in-house experiments on distributed ledger technologies to understand the opportunities and risk they pose, she revealed. Further, the regulator has been studying the implications of digital currencies on the “payments ecosystem, monetary policy, financial stability, banking and finance, and consumer protection.”

The watchdog has also been working on a digital currency, she revealed, stating, “To enhance the Federal Reserve’s understanding of digital currencies, the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston is collaborating with researchers at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in a multiyear effort to build and test a hypothetical digital currency oriented to central bank uses. The research project will explore the use of existing and new technologies as needed.”

Brainard acknowledged that there is still a lot to be done if the Fed were to issue a CBDC, including changing the existing restrictive regulations.

“Separately, a significant policy process would be required to consider the issuance of a CBDC, along with extensive deliberations and engagement with other parts of the federal government and a broad set of other stakeholders. There are also important legal considerations.”

At the moment, the regulator hasn’t decided on whether it will undertake the policy changing process.

The Fed has had to accelerate its digital currency and DLT efforts in recent years to keep up with the rapid changes in payments systems across the globe. As Brainard conceded, the rise of Bitcoin and subsequent stablecoins has shed a light on the need to digitize payments. Additionally, other countries such as China have moved ahead rapidly and the U.S. now risks falling behind.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]