前CFTC主席敦促美国探索数字货币

前美国商品期货交易委员会(CFTC)主席克里斯托弗·吉安卡洛(Christopher Giancarlo)发布了“数字美元项目(Digital Dollar Project)”白皮书,意在推动对美国央行数字货币(CBDC)的探索。

白皮书列举了美元数字化的众多益处,并敦促美国探索央行数字货币,为各国树立榜样。白皮书指出,“数字美元项目认为在一系列应用场景中试行数字美元应该是美国立即实施的一项关键而审慎的举措。”

“纵观历史,在创新和构建基础以造福后代方面,美国一直都是佼佼者。通过将有价物品数字化、代币化、可编程化和去中心化,我们正逐渐迈向一个新的技术时代。我们相信,美国应当且必须在这一数字创新浪潮中拔得头筹。否则,难道美国甘心接受其经济竞争者给未来货币赋予的价值吗?”

白皮书中强调,美国必须更加积极地研究、发展和试行数字美元。白皮书阐述了世界各国政府正在考虑推出央行数字货币(数字法定货币)作为未来货币,并鼓励美国政府在数字货币的研发和监管方面引领全球;如果美国失去这一先机,那么只能任由其他国家政府为央行数字货币的运营方式及世界各国与其交互法的方式开创先例,并建立监管框架。

美国会采取举措吗?

如果美国不尽快行动,那么其他国家就会率先创建数字货币的监管框架。现在已有几个国家政府正在研发和试行央行数字货币。最近法兰西银行在与从事跨国投资的银行法国兴业银行(Societe Generale SFH)合作下成功试行了央行数字货币。

有传言称,中国迟早会推出其央行数字货币——DC/EP(数字货币电子支付)。从法国的试行和中国的行动来看,相比美国,这两个国家对央行数字货币的兴趣更高,也付出了更多的努力。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Ex-CFTC chair urges US to explore digital currency

Former U.S. Commodity and Futures Trading Commission chair Christopher Giancarlo has released the whitepaper for the Digital Dollar Project, which aims to advance the exploration of a U.S. central bank digital currency (CBDC).

The whitepaper explains the benefits of digitizing the U.S. dollar, and urges the United States to set a precedent in regards to CBDCs. It notes, “The Digital Dollar Project sees piloting a US digital dollar across a range of use cases as a critical and prudent initiative for the United States to begin now.”

“Throughout history, the United States has been a leader in innovation and building structures for future generations. A new technological age is unfolding, allowing for digitization of things of value to become tokenized, programmable, and decentralized… We believe the United States should, and must, take a leadership role in this new wave of digital innovation… If not, is the United States willing to accept the values of its economic competitors imposed on the future of money?”

The whitepaper stresses that the U.S. must become more active in researching, developing, and piloting a digital dollar. It explains how governments around the world are considering central bank digital currencies—digital fiat—to be the future of money, encouraging the U.S. government to lead the world in its development, research, and regulation, because if it does not, the U.S. is at risk of another country’s government setting the precedents and creating the regulatory framework in regards to how a central bank digital currency should operate and how others around the world should interact with it.

Will the US take Initiative?

If the U.S. does not act fast, other countries will create the frameworks that govern digital money. Several governments around the world are researching, developing, and piloting central bank digital currencies. Banque de France, in collaboration with multinational investment bank Societe Generale SFH recently completed a successful central bank digital currency trial.  

And it is rumored that China will be launching its central bank digital currency, the DC/EP, sooner than later. Both the trial in France and initiative by China make it clear that both countries are further along and more interested in the development of a central bank digital currency than America is.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.