Ella Qiang:只有比特币SV具备“重大业务”的扩容能力

Bitcoin SV: Unleashing the Power of Satoshi’s Original Vision

上周五,比特币协会东南亚经理Ella Qiang在菲律宾向观众表示,只有比特币SV(BSV)达到了“重大业务”和企业使用所必须的规模。她以嘉宾身份参加了当地交易所PDAX的网络研讨会,解释了BSV在数据处理和小规模数字支付方面的主要优势,同时阐明了BSV和自称“比特币”的其他协议之间的主要区别。

在这次一对一的采访中,PDAX(Philippines Digital Asset Exchange)的首席执行官兼创始人Nichel Gaba作为主持人采访了大部分与比特币BSV相关的主要问题,他主要询问了BSV在链上处理大量数据的能力、解决中心化问题的情况以及BSV给亚洲(特别是东南亚)居民带来的前景。

Qiang表示,她主要在新加坡工作,在新加坡主要关注的是金融和大数据应用,而在菲律宾则主要关注支付和接入个人数字经济。她提到总部位于菲律宾的Pixel Wallet是一家值得关注的公司,以及两个重要但“目前处于隐形模式”的当地BSV项目。

Gaba似乎非常乐于接受BSV的信息,并愿意听BSV的相关人员对其用户做出恰当的解释说明,他们避免谈到常见的关于中本聪身份的问题,同时主要关注一些技术能力方面的问题。观众聊天中的问题主要涉及菲律宾居民何时可以交换和交易BSV(这在意料之中,因为PDAX是一个交易所)。

2019年,PDAX从Bangko Sentral ng pilipina(BSP)获得了数字资产交易牌照,可以用数字资产兑换法币,这些法币可以通过信用卡和借记卡进行储存。

比特币、中心化、矿工和协议开发者

Gaba还就“比特币的三种竞争中的实现方式”的原因提出了几个问题,并请Qiang阐明其中的差异,因为大多数观众可能只知道BTC。

Qiang解释了最初导致2017年BTC/BCH协议破裂的区块大小/规模之争,称这界定了矿工(其动机和行为确保了网络安全)和开发者之间的权力平衡,而开发者对协议有很大的控制权。

Qiang表示,“无论他们的身份是开发者还是矿工,你不能让这样中心化的一群人来修订协议的基础。”

Qiang表示,比特币的“中心化”和“去中心化”并不是很多人看到的那样。Gaba表示,许多人认为BSV的挖掘/处理过于集中。对此,她回应说,当一小部分开发人员能够设置或更改比特币协议的基本规则时(就像BTC发生的情况一样),中心化就会发生,这是不可取的。

BTC和其核心开发团队能够规则,将比特币变成了“数字黄金”,这种资产基本上是静态的,转账速度慢且成本高,而且作为消费/支付工具用处不大。

BTC的支持者认为“去中心化”发生在矿工社区,假设数以千计的小(甚至家庭)节点可以保持网络更加安全。Qiang指出,实际上,这些小矿工中的大多数都属于矿池,更适合定义为“哈希算力”。它们各自不生产区块,因此,矿池本身是唯一真正的节点——这使得BTC,就其规模和市值而言,在保护其区块链的节点方面并不比BSV大多少。

Qiang说,BSV把权力交还给了市场,而市场正是它的归属。同样,当2018年11月BCH/BSV分裂时,问题在于开发者应该对协议拥有多大的控制权。BSV在这一点上确立了自己的规则,而BCH则经历了激烈的辩论,甚至在协议规则(以及谁来制定这些规则)上又出现了严重分歧。

此外,BSV是唯一一个认真考虑扩容的链,它将数据区块大小增加到了128MB、2GB,并最终在2020年2月之前取消了所有限制。这些进展意味着,BSV现在处理数据的能力是“无限的”,从而将生态系统从意识形态争论和技术限制中解放出来。现在,凭借这些条件,BSV开发者可以自由地构建并发现新的用例。

她指出,在今年的高峰时段,BSV每秒钟能够处理约4000笔交易,没有出现BTC和ETH等网络所经历的那种业务放缓或费用增加的情况。BSV明年将发布以企业为重点的Teranode,其目标是在2021年达到每秒5万笔交易,并在未来五年内达到每秒400万笔交易。

Qiang表示,这样的能力对于企业和“重大业务”来说是必要的。“如果你没有这些,那么区块链只是一个时髦词。”

Gaba也对BSV社区寻找新用例所做的努力感到好奇。Qiang回答说,BSV巨大的扩容能力、费用低(通常约为1/100美元),通过小额甚至纳米支付催生了新的商业模式,为共享数据的物联网设备之间的机器对机器交易打开了大门,创造了一个全新的经济。

她表示,BSV还可能改变社交网络上数据管理和货币化的方式,理由是大公司在数据安全方面投入的资金越来越多,而收益却在递减。

她补充说,数据隐私和所有权也正在成为一个重要问题。Facebook和Twitter等大型社交网络通过销售用户数据赚得盆满钵满,而Twetch等BSV服务则更多的将控制权交还给了用户,甚至允许他们从自己的内容中赚钱。

当被问及BSV是否真的有足够的带宽来处理它提出的大数据使用用例时,Qiang肯定地说——公司最终会决定他们实际上需要将哪些数据留在链上以及哪些数据可以作为元数据的哈希值进行处理,从而在不需要将所有数据存储在链上的情况下,保持记录的安全性。她说,另一种新的商业模式将是那些存储额外的链外数据的公司,这些公司管理前端服务和BSV区块链之间的连接。

总体而言,观众似乎有兴趣进一步了解比特币BSV,对这些答案也很满意。当然,他们也希望有能力交易BSV。Qiang和比特币协会一直是亚洲区域的积极倡导者,更多的网络研讨会和教育研讨会也已提上议程。

另请参阅:CoinGeek大会直播小组讨论,代币化世界中交易所和交易的未来。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Ella Qiang: Only Bitcoin SV has the scaling capacity for ‘serious business’

Bitcoin SV: Unleashing the Power of Satoshi’s Original Vision

Only Bitcoin SV (BSV) has achieved the scaling necessary for “serious business” and enterprise use, said Bitcoin Association Southeast Asia Manager Ella Qiang to an audience in the Philippines on Friday. Speaking as a guest in a webinar for local exchange PDAX, she explained BSV’s main advantages for both data processing and small-scale digital payments, while clarifying the main differences between BSV and other protocols calling themselves “Bitcoin“.

Host Nichel Gaba, CEO and founder of PDAX (Philippines Digital Asset Exchange) covered most of the major questions concerning Bitcoin BSV in the one-on-one interview, asking mostly about BSV’s ability to handle large amounts of data processing on-chain, centralization, and what prospects BSV had for those living in Asia and specifically, Southeast Asia.

https://twitter.com/ellaqiang9/status/1337255475365089280?s=20

Qiang said in Singapore, where she is mostly based, the focus is on financial and big data applications—whereas in the Philippines, it is mainly on payments and access to the digital economy for individuals. She referred to Philippines-based Pixel Wallet as a company to watch, and two local BSV projects which were important but “currently in stealth mode”.

Gaba appeared very receptive to BSV’s message and willing to hear it explained properly to his user audience, avoiding the usual questions about the identity of Satoshi Nakamoto and looking mainly at technological capabilities. Questions in the audience chat were concerned mainly with when Philippines residents could exchange and trade BSV (as expected, since PDAX is an exchange).

PDAX received clearance for a license to trade digital assets from the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) in 2019, and trades digital assets for fiat, which can be deposited by credit and debit cards.

Bitcoin, centralization, miners and protocol developers

Gaba also asked several questions about the reasons for there being “three competing implementations of Bitcoin”—and invited Qiang to clarify the differences, since most of the audience might know only of BTC.

Qiang explained the initial block size/scaling debate that led to the 2017 BTC/BCH split, saying it defined the power balance between miners (whose incentives and actions secure the network) and developers, who exercised significant control over the protocol.

“You can’t allow a centralized group of people, whether they’re developers or miners, to tinker with the fundamentals of the protocol,” she said.

“Centralization” and “decentralization” in Bitcoin, she said, is not what many see it to be. Responding to a comment from Gaba that many think BSV mining/processing is too centralized, she pointed out that centralization occurs when a small group of developers are able to set or change the fundamental rules for the Bitcoin protocol (as happened on BTC), which is undesirable.

BTC and the Core development team were able to change the rules to turn Bitcoin into “digital gold,” a mostly-static asset that is slow and expensive to transfer and which isn’t very useful as a spending/payments tool.

BTC proponents saw “decentralization” as occurring in the miner community, assuming that thousands of small (even household) nodes could keep the network more secure. In fact, she pointed out, most of those small miners belong to mining pools and are better defined as “hashers.” Individually they do not produce blocks and therefore the pool itself is the only true node—making BTC, for all its size and market cap, not much bigger than BSV in terms of nodes securing its blockchain.

BSV returned power to the market, where it belongs, Qiang said. Likewise, when the later BCH/BSV split occurred in November 2018, the issue was how much control developers should have over the protocol. BSV set its rules in stone at that point, whereas BCH has undergone fierce debates and even another hard fork split over its protocol rules (and who gets to make them).

Moreover, BSV was the only chain that took scaling seriously, increasing its block size to 128MB, 2GB, and then finally removing all limits by February 2020. Those advances mean BSV’s ability to process data is now “unbounded,” freeing its ecosystem both from ideological debates and technological limits. Now, thanks to those conditions, BSV developers are free to build and discover new use cases.

She noted that BSV has been able to process around 4,000 transactions per second at its peak points this year, without seeing slowdowns or the kinds of fee increases networks like BTC and ETH have endured. BSV, with the release of enterprise-focused Teranode next year, has a goal to reach 50,000 transactions a second in 2021, and up to 4 million per second within the next five years.

Such capabilities are necessary for enterprise and “serious businesses,” she said. “If you don’t have that, then blockchain is just a buzzword.”

Gaba was also curious about the BSV community’s endeavors to find new use cases. Qiang replied that BSV’s large capacity and low fees (often around 1/100 of a U.S. cent) enabled new business models through micro- and even nano-payments—opening the door to machine-to-machine transactions between IOT devices sharing data and creating an entirely new economy.

BSV could also change the way data is managed and monetized on social networks, she said, citing problems with large corporations spending increasingly large amounts of money on data security, with diminishing returns.

Data privacy and ownership is also becoming an important issue, she added. While large social networks like Facebook and Twitter have made their money by selling their users’ data, BSV services like Twetch returned more control to the users, even allowing them to earn money from their own content.

Asked if BSV actually has the bandwidth to handle the big data use cases it proposes, Qiang said definitely—although companies will eventually decide what data they actually need to keep on-chain, and what could be processed as a hash of metadata, keeping records secure without needing to store all their data on-chain. Another new business model would be companies that store that extra off-chain data, she said, managing the connection between the front-end services and the BSV blockchain.

Overall the audience seemed interested in hearing more about Bitcoin BSV, and satisfied with the answers—and naturally, they’d like the ability to trade BSV too. Qiang and the Bitcoin Association have been active advocates in Asia, with more webinars and educational seminars on the agenda.

See also: CoinGeek Live panel, The Future of Exchanges & Trading in a Tokenized World

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.