加密货币监管的高级进修班:从风险角度监管数字资本,对合规官员十分重要

金融机构的合规官员们感觉自己仍不太理解数字资产、区块链等概念,以及相关的法律问题。这是由RAW Compliance主办、比特币协会东南亚负责人Ella Qiang参加的,时长为两小时研讨会的主要讨论内容。

数字钱包的安全性、比特币ATM(区块链数字资产取款机)网络以及区块链领域里资金流通的速度都是区块链领域的相关人士在现实生活中主要关心的问题。这些人不会过度关注过去被大肆宣传的故事,比如暗网市场和51%算力攻击(理论上谁拥有超过51%的算力,谁就赢得了决定区块数据的权力)。但是,恐怖主义融资问题仍然令人担心,因为任何人都可以在互联网的任意角落,发布一个公开地址,然后接收来自于世界上任何地方、任何来源的资金汇款。

许多问题可以用“传统的”调查方法来解决,但涉及到如投资骗局、敲诈勒索和洗钱等常见的数字资产金融犯罪,这方面也许会存在更多的问题。

人们还明白一点,区块链本身就是一个不断变化的行业。区块链领域几乎每天都会有新的发展,这很容易给那些受区块链影响的人(他们不直接参与区块链事务)留下过时的信息,并且使他们缺乏对应该关注重点的理解。

RAW Compliance(RAW表示“真实可信的意识”)是一个专为合规官员打造的网络群组,能够使合规官员聚集在一起互相交流观点以及探讨影响合规审查工作的问题,尤其是关于文化和技术方面的问题。

于3月17日在Zoom上举办的会议是六次系列活动中的第四次活动。这次系列活动旨在让合规官员、区块链取证调查员、执法“老将”、宣传团队以及那些本身就代表数字资产业务的人(比如交易所的工作人员)汇聚一堂。

各式各样的区块链风险经历

与Ella Qiang一起发言的人包括:Scott Johnston(前英国Met警官,现就职于Chainalysis)、Alexandre Kech(Onchain Courtisian首席执行官兼联合创始人)、Malcolm Wright(BitMEX母公司100X Group的首席合规审查官)、Ian Lee(Merkle Science的工作人员)、Paul Marrinan(Inca Digital的调查部部长)、Dev Odedra(Minerva Stratagem Consulting的AML专家)以及Adebayo Tiamiyu(调查员)。

主持人Oonagh Van Den Berg提醒参会者,他们的角色不是“业务妨碍员”,区块链行业需要从风险角度进行建设,但参会者不能不假思索就怀疑任何涉及这类(相对来说)新技术的活动都存在风险。尽管参会者对关于区块链的信息的掌握程度参差不齐,有些参会者也许无法完全理解自己应该寻找的风险类型,但为了工作能够高效地进行,他们不应该害怕提出问题以及挑战其所在组织内的领导者。

Qiang提到,各地法院最近都制定了新规,规定“加密资产”也是算作资产,并为加密资产的相关管理问题制定了法律框架。但是,有关数字资产挖矿的问题,在很多地方的界定仍很模糊。

Qiang说,在比特币SV(BSV)领域里有一个老生常谈的观点,但外界的人却很少听到,那就是:区块链应当更多地受到经济激励措施的保障,而不是技术。从这个意义上说,按照工作量证明机制(PoW)挖矿,比权益证明机制(PoS)等其他机制和方法更加安全,因为与PoW相关的操作需要大型挖矿设备作为担保成本,并且需要公众对PoW达成共识。“人们很难隐藏大型的挖矿设备”,Qiang表示,一旦有人使用错误的方法或借助非法途径挖矿,他们很快就会承担相应的法律后果。

区块链真的比其他金融活动的风险更高吗?

参会人员还讨论了有关区块链和数字资产的犯罪类型,以及其他相关的法律问题。由于过去的媒体报道,有些人一直认为,在与区块链相关的交易中,大部分是非法交易。此外,人们仍在过度强调与比特币技术相关的问题,比如区块链网络上理论上的“51%算力攻击”。

Kech也提到,“51%算力攻击”在实际生活中不可能发生,至少在如BTC和ETH等著名的区块链上不会发生,因为这需要有人拥有超过51%的算力资源,而且攻击者通过这种方式在区块链网络上获利前,需要考虑到现实生活中所要承担的个人风险。

如果参会者想要获取有关区块链领域的最新动态,Van Den Berg力劝他们读一读Chainalysis、Elliptic以及CipherTrace等公司发布的所有最新报告。Marrinan指出,一些人估算过,数字货币交易中只有1.4%-2%是非法交易——这一数据远比一些人想象的要低,而且它与传统的金融生态系统中非法交易的占比持平。

区块链领域里到底存在多少非法活动呢?

然而,人们很有可能无法知道区块链领域里非法活动的实际占比。但随着KYC(know-your-customer)审核要求变得严格,以及交易所或托管服务的监管力度加大,调查员的追踪能力得到了提高,更容易追踪到使用区块链系统上的交易信息。但如果有些资金从未走过合法正规的系统,或从未被转换成法币,那么这些资金可能仍未被侦测到。因为任何人都可以生成一个地址,然后立刻使用该地址从世界上任何地方,进行任何金额的交易(进行汇款或收款)。

Marrinan说,对于犯罪者而言,“使用现金交易仍是王道,”。犯罪者更倾向于使用“加密手段”获取现金,而不是储存或隐藏自己的所得收入。Malcolm Wright指出,一年的全球非法交易额高达2万亿美元(数字资产非法交易额则低得多,每年网上洗钱的金额只有115亿美元)。

Lee提醒所有参会者,区块链(除“隐私币”外)的使用者只能用假名进行交易,而不能匿名存在。Wright也同意,区块链交易本身具有可追溯性,这意味着,犯罪者对数字资产了解得越多,他们就越不可能试图利用数字资产来隐藏自己的活动。

虽然提到了隐私币,但会议上几乎没有人讨论隐私币,或者讨论它是否比其他资产带来更多问题。因为这是区块链领域里的一个专业性问题,而且这个问题除了区块链使用者和调查员之外,其他人仍对其了解甚少,甚至这些使用者和调查员也面临着诸多问题(同样,这针对不通过交易所或其他合法正规服务途径进行的交易)。

Qiang说,她及其所在的组织(比特币协会)热衷于与监管机构加强合作,并协助其更好的理解这类问题。她还表示,区块链的整体趋势是,在更大的司法管辖区内实施更多的监管。有些司法管辖区内仍存在无人监管或者监管力度较小的现象,这里发生的交易受到阻碍或接受调查的程度要大于那些合规的司法管辖区。

混币、速度以及方法

人们另一个担心的问题就是“混币器”,以及有些取证公司通过“混币器”来追踪交易的技术。Lee提醒所有参会者,“任何能将其用户资金进行合并的加密货币服务,本质上都是一种混币器。”为所有用户资金提供“普通钱包”的交易所也是一种混币器。那些有调查经验的人更担心的是,犯罪者能够转移、交换,以及退出系统的速度(以及他们把所得收益进行交易,变成了链下现实生活中的资产),使得追溯交易变得十分困难,特别是如果某些公司作出回应速度很慢,或者根本不愿意回答问题的时候。

本次会议还讨论了数字资产自动取款机、博彩、预付和借记卡、“DeFi”服务带来的额外挑战以及勒索软件攻击。

人力资本仍然是任何(所有合法或非法的)制度中最薄弱的一环。网络钓鱼攻击和诈骗仍然是普通人损失金钱最多的地方,而匆忙建立的交换服务体系带来的极低安全性,是黑客攻击和社会工程造成的资金损失的原因。

总的来说,本次会议得出的结论是:从区块链行业代表到调查人员以及(非区块链公司的)合规政策制定者等相关人员之间,需要定期就相关问题进行沟通。人们没必要对所有区块链活动都持怀疑态度,但是确切了解并理解区块链的最新动态,能够极大提高确定风险的准确性。

另请参阅:CoinGeek直播现场演讲、区块链情报:比特币SV的分析、取证以及合规工具

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Crypto Regulation Masterclass: Risk-based approach to digital assets necessary for compliance officers

Compliance officers at financial institutions feel they still have a low understanding of digital assets, blockchain, and their surrounding legal issues. That was the main takeaway from a two-hour workshop hosted by RAW Compliance and featuring the Bitcoin Association‘s Southeast Asia Manager, Ella Qiang.

Wallet security, digital asset ATM networks, and the speed at which money can move around and exit the blockchain space remained the primary realistic concerns for those involved—rather than past-hyped stories such as darknet markets and theoretical “51% attacks.” However terrorist financing could still be a concern due to anyone’s ability to post a public address anywhere on the internet and receive funds from any source, anywhere in the world.

Many issues could be met with “traditional” investigative methods and there were perhaps more problems concerning more common financial crimes that used digital assets, like investment scams, extortion, and money laundering.

It was also clear that blockchain itself is a constantly changing industry. Its almost-daily new developments can easily leave those impacted by it (but who aren’t direct participants) with outdated information and a lack of understanding of what they should be focusing on.

RAW Compliance (which stands for “Real Authentic Awareness”) is a networking group for compliance officers that enables them to gather, share opinions and discuss issues impacting their work, particularly on cultural and technological issues.

The March 17 session, held via Zoom, was Part 4 in a six-part series of events designed to bring compliance officers together with blockchain forensics investigators, law enforcement veterans, advocacy groups, and those representing digital asset businesses themselves, such as exchanges.

Wide range of blockchain risk experience

Joining Ella Qiang were speakers Scott Johnston (former Met Police officer in the U.K. and now with Chainalysis), Onchain Custodian CEO and co-founder Alexandre Kech, Chief Compliance Officer at 100x Group (parent company of BitMEX) Malcolm Wright, Merkle Science’s Ian Lee, Inca Digital Head of Investigations Paul Marrinan, AML Expert at Minerva Stratagem Consulting Dev Odedra, and investigator Adebayo Tiamiyu.

Host Oonagh Van Den Berg reminded participants their role is not to be “business prevention officers” and that the industry needed to build from a risk perspective, rather than being automatically suspicious of any activity involving this (relatively) new technology. Though large knowledge gaps still existed and participants may not fully understand the types of risks they should be looking for, they shouldn’t be afraid to ask questions and challenge leaders in their own organizations in order to work effectively.

Qiang noted that courts have recently ruled that “crypto assets” count as property, setting the legal framework for managing related issues. However, the situation regarding digital asset mining remained unclear in some places.

Making a point often reiterated in Bitcoin SV (BSV) but rarely heard outside it, Qiang said blockchains should be secured more by economic incentives than technology. Proof of work (PoW) mining remained more secure in this sense than proof of stake (PoS) and other methods, given that PoW operations require large facilities and a large public commitment to the operation. “It’s hard to hide a large mining facility,” she said, which would quickly lead to legal ramifications if they did anything wrong or illegal.

Is blockchain actually riskier than other financial activity?

The group discussed the typologies of crimes and other legal issues surrounding blockchain and digital assets. Thanks to past media reports, there’s a continuing belief among some that illicit activity comprises a large percentage of all blockchain-related transactions. Additionally, there remains an over-emphasis on technological issues like theoretical “51% attacks” on networks.

Kech also noted that 51% attacks were not realistic, at least on well-known blockchains like BTC and ETH, given the resources required to perform one and the existential risk an attacker would impose on the network they were trying to profit from.

Van Den Berg urged participants to read all the latest reports from firms like Chainalysis, Elliptic and CipherTrace if they wanted to stay up to date. Marrinan pointed out that some estimates show that only 1.4 – 2% of digital currency transactions represented some kind of illicit activity—far lower than some imagined, and matching levels found in the traditional financial ecosystem.

How much illegal activity is there?

However, it’s still possible the true extent of illicit activity in blockchain is unknown. Increased KYC requirements and regulatory compliance at exchanges/custodial services have improved investigators’ ability to trace transactions that pass through those systems. But funds that never passed through compliant systems or were never converted to fiat could remain undetected, since anyone could generate an address and use it to send/receive any size transaction instantly, from anywhere in the world.

For criminals, “cash is still king,” Marrinan said. Criminals were far more likely to use “cryptos” to obtain cash, rather than store or hide their gains. Malcolm Wright pointed out that illicit cash transactions reached about US$2 trillion in a year (digital assets were far lower, used to launder about $11.5 billion annually).

Lee reminded everyone that blockchains (apart from “privacy coins”) were pseudonymous rather than anonymous, and Wright agreed that the inherent traceability of blockchain transactions meant that the more criminals came to understand about digital assets, the less likely they were to try using them to hide their activities.

On that note, there was little to no discussion of privacy coins and whether they presented any problems greater than other assets. This is one area of blockchain that is still poorly understood by those other than users and investigators, with even the latter facing issues (again, for transactions that never touched exchanges or other compliant services).

Qiang said that her and her organization (Bitcoin Association) were keen to work closer with regulators and assist with understanding issues, and that the overall trend was towards more regulation in larger jurisdictions. Jurisdictions that remained un- or less-regulated may find their transactions being blocked or investigated to a larger extent than compliant ones.

Mixing, speed, and methods

Another issue of concern was “coin mixers” and some forensics firms’ techniques to trace transactions through them. Lee reminded everyone that “any cryptocurrency service that comingles its users’ funds is essentially a mixer,” including exchanges with “common wallets” for all users’ funds. Those with investigative experience were more worried about the speed at which criminals could transfer, exchange, and exit the system (and trade gains for off-chain, real-world assets) which made tracing transactions difficult, especially if companies were slow or reluctant to respond to queries.

The workshop also discussed digital asset ATMs, gambling, pre-paid and debit cards, the additional challenge of “DeFi” services, and ransomware attacks.

Human capital remained the weakest point in any system—legal or illegal. Phishing attacks and scams were still where ordinary people lost the most money, and poor security implementations at hastily-built exchange services were responsible for funds lost to hacks and social engineering.

Overall, the conclusion was that there needed to be regular and relevant communication between those involved, from blockchain industry representatives to investigators and those devising (non-blockchain companies’) compliance policies. It wasn’t necessary to be suspicious of all blockchain activity, but knowing and understanding exactly what’s going on would be a big improvement in determining the risks.

See also: CoinGeek Live presentation, Blockchain Intelligence: Analytics, Forensics & Compliance Tools for Bitcoin SV

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.