Craig Wright在Kleiman诉Wright案庭审第六天出庭

Craig Wright在Kleiman诉Wright案庭审第六天出庭

Kleiman诉Wright案的原告在周一,即庭审的第六天传唤Craig Wright博士出庭。为了迎接这一历史性事件,来自美国各地的记者、律师、实习生和区块链爱好者们挤满了法庭。由于到场的人太多,法庭在场人数已达到最大容量,法警们不得不把人们送到分会场——所有这些都是因为围观者们希望看到Wright博士出庭而发生的事情。

但在Wright博士出庭之前,这一天的庭审以讨论Wright博士的妻子Ramona Watts的书面证词开始了。Watts曾在Wright博士担任关键角色的几家公司担任多个职位。原告律师向Watts询问了一些公司负责人(Ramona所担任过的角色)可能会知道的商业文件,因为许多文件需要负责人的签名。

原告主要是说Watts可能看到了Dave Kleiman的资产被转移给Wright博士的相关文件,Watts可能与她的丈夫有过关于Dave Kleiman在推出比特币的过程中所发挥的作用的谈话,Watts可能对Wright博士关于比特币的通信中存在一定程度的保密性的原因有深入了解。

此外,原告还就几个刚刚被提交的证据询问了Watts,这些证据暗指了这些资产的保密性以及资产被从Dave Kleiman处转移到了Wright博士处。

在Watts取证期间,一份电子邮件证据被提供出来,这是苏格兰记者Andrew O’Hagan发给Watts的电子邮件,内容如下:

“几乎不存在书面形式的Dave的东西。我知道你消除了很多事物……但最后请在你的数字世界中查阅一下,这可能会给我一些将你们两个人(Dave和Craig)无可争辩地与比特币的发明联系起来的东西。”

最后,Watts的证词并没有向法庭揭露任何人们未知晓的东西。

“我的证词是,我丈夫从未告诉我他与Dave Kleiman一起挖过比特币。”在原告开始播放他们对O’Hagan的视频取证之前,Watts说道。

证实《中本聪事件》

在O’Hagan的取证过程中,原告反复引用了O’Hagan的长篇文章《中本聪事件》的部分内容,这篇文章是在O’Hagan与Craig Wright博士相处,以试图发现Wright博士是否真的是比特币的创始人中本聪后写的。

O’Hagan证实,原告在法庭上所提供的作为证据的每一份摘录,都是“对其新闻材料的准确表达。”证据中真正突出的几句话是:

“你编辑了我的论文,现在我需要让你协助我构建这个想法。”这来自Wright博士和Dave Kleiman之间的电子邮件通信。

“我在博彩业和银行业有几个潜在客户。”Wright博士给Kleiman写道。“我想我可以每周工作10到15个小时,假装有咨询业务,用这个来建造和购买我所需要的机器。如果我使代码和监控自动化,我就可以把生产力提高一倍,而且还能提供比别人更多的东西……这些机架已经在巴格努和利萨罗就位。我想我们每月可以设置100个核心,并达到500个左右。”

还有Wright博士和O’Hagan之间的一段对话的引文,内容是:“我是它的主要部分。其他人也提供了帮助。最后,如果没有Dave Kleiman,没有Hal Finney,没有那些接手的人,如Gavin和Mike,这一切都不会发生。“

Craig Wright出庭

下午庭审开始时,这起民事诉讼的被告Wright博士被传唤上庭。尽管许多人高度期待Wright博士出庭,并期待火花四溅,但并没有发生什么。

原告出示了几份Wright博士与其他人通信时所留下的新的证据,以及Wright博士在几个实体中发挥了关键作用的商业文件。他们这样做是为了指出这些通信可以表明Wright博士和Dave Kleiman有合作关系,因为Wright博士在他的一些信息中谈到Dave时使用了合作伙伴这个词——尽管他在这些通信中从未提到过比特币。

原告还提交了几份证据,其中在同一次通信中提到了Dave Kleiman、挖矿、美国。

“这是我与我的商业合作伙伴David Kleiman在超过十年的时间中形成的一个想法。”Wright博士在与新南威尔士州一名侦探通信的电子邮件中说道。

尽管他们的合作性质并不明确,Wright博士在通信中称Dave Kleiman为他的“合作伙伴”。

“为了给我的作品提供资金,我和我的伙伴Dave Kleiman在哥斯达黎加等国家出售用于博彩的代码,”另一份证据上表示。

“这里的主要问题是Dave在澳大利亚境外挖了所有这些东西。即使我们设法把事情搞砸了,并且由于某种原因失去对公司的控制……比特币的相关权利在海外。”另一份证据上显示。

“我不是挖矿的人,Dave才是。”Wright博士在另外一次通信中表示。

原告的律师Vel Freedman还将公司文件作为证据提交了上去,该证据可以表明Dave Kleiman的资产在某个时间点被非法转移给Wright博士。在其中一份文件中,有证据表明573,500BTC正从Dave处被转移到Wright博士处。

Freedman调查了这种转移是如何发生的,并提出证据表明,Wright博士控制着这家公司,并且通过它将资产转移给他自己了。

然而,Wright博士瓦解了Freedman在构建自己论点时试图依赖的根基。Wright博士强调,拥有对某物的控制权并不意味着拥有对某物的所有权,并明确表示,尽管Dave在一些商务事项上是他的合作伙伴,但这些商务事项都与比特币挖矿无关。

结论

虽然很多人都认为Wright博士出庭后会引发轩然大波,但这是一个缓慢的过程。原告今天只能通过他们提供的证据来获得支持。这一证据暗示着合作伙伴关系的存在,但却不能实际证明它,也不能证明资产是从Dave Kleiman处被非法转移给Wright博士的。

原告方似乎开始倾向于认为这些资产是从Dave Kleiman处被非法转移给Wright博士的。原告方正在淡化合伙关系这一论点,同时越来越多地提交商业文件作为证据,说明资产被转移时谁控制着公司,以及那些资产被转给了谁。

但在论点方面,这些内容中没有什么是真正站得住脚的;Ramona Watts与Craig Wright分别在证词和询问中给原告的答案并没有推动原告的论点,而Andrew O’Hagan所做的只是证实了网上已经公开了近6年的证据

Wright博士的论点中起更大作用的是他被诊断患有阿斯伯格综合症。Watts甚至在证词中表示,由于患有阿斯伯格综合症,Wright博士经常难以恰如其分地展现自己,而且他可能会以不同于他人的方式感知世界和词语,以及用该方式感知它们是被用来指代什么内容的。

Wright博士在证词中所做的一些澄清和回答支持了Watts的说法,这也支持了他被诊断出患有阿斯伯格综合症,特别是Wright博士对世界的看法显然与他周围的人不同,他却不知道其他人的看法与他的看法不同。

Wright博士出庭的第一天只是在为周二(庭审的第七天)做准备,届时预计他会在法庭上待一整天。也许那时我们会看到唇枪舌战。

CoinGeek的Kurt Wuckert Jr.将会在每天的回顾报道中出镜,该回顾报道将于美国东部时间下午6:30在我们的YouTube频道进行现场直播。

请于此处观看Kleiman诉Wright案庭审特别报道第六天:

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Craig Wright takes the stand on Day 6 of Kleiman v Wright trial

Craig Wright takes the stand on Day 6 of Kleiman v Wright trial

Plaintiffs of Kleiman v Wright called Dr. Craig Wright to the stand on Monday, Day 6 of the trial. In anticipation of the historic event, journalists, lawyers, interns, and blockchain enthusiasts from every corner of the United States filled the courtroom. There were so many people in attendance that the courtroom reached max capacity and the bailiffs were forced to send people to the overflow room—all because onlookers were interested in seeing Dr. Wright on the stand.

But before Dr. Wright took the stand, the day began with a deposition-by-written-question of Ramona Watts, Dr. Wright’s wife. Watts has held numerous roles at several of the companies Dr. Wright played a crucial role in. Lawyers for the plaintiffs inquired with Watts about several business documents that a director of a company—a role Romana has held—could possibly have knowledge about since many documents require the director’s signature.

The plaintiffs were mainly suggesting that Watts may have seen documents in which Dave Kleiman’s assets were transferred to Dr. Wright, that Watts may have had conversations with her husband about Dave Kleiman’s role in launching Bitcoin, and that Watts might have insight into why there was a level of secrecy in Dr. Wright’s correspondences about Bitcoin. 

In addition, the plaintiffs questioned Watts about several newly introduced pieces of evidence that imply secrecy and the transfer of assets from Dave Kleiman to Dr. Wright.

One piece of email evidence provided during Watts’ deposition was an email from Scottish journalist Andrew O’Hagan to Watts that read:

“The Dave stuff is practically non-existent on paper. I understand you wiped a lot…but a final trawl through your digital universe might give me something that connects the two of you (Dave and Craig) unarguably to the invention.”

At the end of the day, Watts’ testimony did not reveal anything the court did not already know.

“My testimony is that my husband has never told me that he mined Bitcoin with Dave Kleiman,” said Watts before the plaintiff began showing their video deposition of O’Hagan. 

Confirming the Satoshi Affairs

During O’Hagan’s deposition, the plaintiffs repeatedly quoted sections of O’Hagan’s long-form article “The Satoshi Affairs,” which was written after O’Hagan spent time with Dr. Craig Wright in an attempt to discover whether or not Dr. Wright really is the founder of Bitcoin, Satoshi Nakomoto.

O’Hagan confirmed that every excerpt the plaintiffs provided in court as evidence was “an accurate expression of his journalistic materials.” A few quotes from the evidence that really stood out were:

“You edited my paper and now I need to have you aid me build this idea,” from an email correspondence between Dr. Wright and Dave Kleiman.

“I have a few potential clients in gaming and banking,” Dr. Wright wrote to Kleiman. “I figure I can work 10 to 15 hours a week and pretend to have a consultancy and use this to build and buy the machines I need. If I automate the code and monitoring, I can double the productivity and still offer more than others are doing … The racks are in place in Bagnoo and Lisarow. I figure we can have 100 cores a month setup and get to around 500.’”

And a quote from a conversation between Dr. Wright and O’Hagan that reads: “I was the main part of it. Other people helped. At the end of the day, none of this would have happened without Dave Kleiman, without Hal Finney, and without those who took over—like Gavin and Mike.”

Craig Wright takes the stand

The afternoon session began with Dr. Wright, the defendant in this civil lawsuit, called to the stand. Although many people highly anticipated Dr. Wright taking the stand and expected sparks to fly, not much happened.

The plaintiffs produced several new pieces of evidence in which Dr. Wright was corresponding with others, as well as business documents from the several entities that Dr. Wright played a crucial role in. They did this in an attempt to show that these correspondences could indicate that Dr. Wright and Dave Kleiman had a partnership since Dr. Wright uses the word partner when speaking about Dave in several of his messages—although he never mentions Bitcoin in those correspondences.

The plaintiffs also introduced several pieces of evidence that mention both Dave Kleiman, mining, or the United States within the same correspondence.

“This is an idea that I had developed with my business partner David Kleiman for a period of over a decade,” said Dr. Wright in an email correspondence to a detective in New South Wales.

Dr. Wright refers to Dave Kleiman as his “partner” in the correspondences, although the nature of their partnership wasn’t made clear.

“In order to fund my works, my partner Dave Kleiman and I sold code that was used in gaming in countries like Costa Rica,” said another piece of evidence.

“The main thing here is Dave mined all of this outside Australia. Even if we had managed to screw this up and somehow lose control of the company…the bitcoin rights are overseas,” read another.

And “I was not the person doing the mining, Dave was,” said Dr. Wright in another correspondence.

The plaintiff’s lawyer Vel Freedman also introduced corporate documents as evidence that could indicate that Dave Kleiman’s assets were illicitly transferred to Dr. Wright at a point in time. In one of the documents, there is evidence of 573,500 BTC being transferred from Dave to Dr. Wright.

Freedman inquired into how this transfer was able to take place and produced evidence that showed that Dr. Wright was in control of the company that transferred the assets to himself. 

However, Dr. Wright dismantled the foundation that Freedman was trying to lay when building his arguments. Dr. Wright emphasized that having control over something does not mean having ownership over something and made it clear that although Dave was his partner over a few business matters, none of those business matters were in regard to Bitcoin mining.

Conclusion

Although many people were expecting sparks to fly the moment that Dr. Wright took the stand, it has been a slow burn. The plaintiffs were only able to gain ground today via the evidence that they introduced. This evidence implies, but does not prove, that a partnership existed and that assets were illicitly transferred from Dave Kleiman to Dr. Wright.

It appears the plaintiffs are beginning to heavily lean into the idea that assets were illegally transferred from Dave Kleiman to Dr. Wright. The plaintiffs are lightening up on the partnership argument while increasingly introducing business documents as evidence that shows who was in control of the company when assets were transferred and who those assets were transferred to.

But on the argument front, nothing has really stuck; the answers that both Ramona Watts and Craig Wright have given plaintiffs in their deposition and examination respectively, has not advanced the plaintiffs argument, and all Andrew O’Hagan did was confirm evidence that has been publicly available online for nearly 6 years now.

What’s beginning to play a bigger part of Dr. Wright’s argument is his diagnosis of Asperger’s syndrome. Watts even says in her testimony that since he has Asperger’s, Dr. Wright often has trouble presenting himself properly and that he may perceive the world as well as words and what they are being used in reference to differently than others.

Some of the clarifications and answers Dr. Wright has provided in his testimony support Watts’ statement and his Asperger’s diagnosis, especially where Dr. Wright was clearly perceiving the world differently than those around him while being unaware that others were not on the same page as him.

Dr. Wright’s first day on the stand was simply setting the stage for Tuesday—Day 7 of the trial—when he is expected to be on the stand all day. Maybe then we will see the sparks fly.

CoinGeek will feature Kurt Wuckert Jr. in daily recap coverage which will be livestreamed on a daily basis at 6:30 p.m. EST on our YouTube Channel.

Watch our Day 6 Special Report from the Kleiman v Wright trial here:

Check out all of the CoinGeek special reports on the Kleiman v Wright YouTube playlist.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]