CoinGeek苏黎世大会:BSV区块链即将迎来稳定币

CoinGeek苏黎世大会:BSV区块链即将迎来稳定币

像“比特币”一样,“稳定币”这个词经常在新闻中出现,但它是因为不好的事情而出现的。尽管如此,许多人看到了稳定币的潜力,只要它能够被正确的人发掘其潜力——并且要基于正确的协议。

好消息是,CoinGeek苏黎世大会在开幕当天举办了一场关于稳定币的潜力的小组讨论,三位专家都是在使用BSV企业级区块链积极致力于稳定币项目。

比特币协会创始主席Jimmy Nguyen担任了主持人,GAP600的首席执行官Daniel Lipshitz与他一同上台。另外两位小组成员进行了虚拟视频连线,他们分别是BitBoss的首席执行官兼联合创始人Matthew Dickson以及Alt 5 Sigma公司的执行主席Richard Groome。

Stablecoins

Nguyen通过给每位参与者机会,让他们简要阐释他们迄今为止与稳定币概念的交互,从而开启了小组讨论。Dickson从他在iGaming行业的经验开始谈起。

Dickson的BitBoss获得了一个资金池银行账户,该账户资金将用于在BSV链上建立一个与美元挂钩的稳定币。

Lipshitz宣称,GAP600团队还在构建一个稳定币平台,支持与多种货币挂钩的多种稳定币的发行。起初,这些货币是美元、瑞士法郎、欧元和英镑。但Lipshitz强调,最终所能获得的货币将取决于需求与合规性。

Groome还表示,Alt 5 Sigma正在与一家美国大型银行以及一家位于澳大利亚的公司Tokenized合作,以提供开放的稳定币协议,其中包括定于今年第三季度至第四季度间推出的KYC服务。

Nguyen在了解到专家小组在开发和推出稳定币产品方面拥有丰富经验后,他问道:为什么要先进入稳定币业务领域?这有什么吸引你们的地方?

对于Dickson及其所处的行业来说,无论人们是面对面还是在线的,能够高效地传递一美元这件事情是无价的。稳定币可以提供以法币进行支付的传统支付模式所不具备的高效。

Lipshitz按照类似的思路进行了论证:

“通过呼吁大规模采用——这是比特币SV的明确目标,也是我们的明确目标——您需要接触人们使用起来感到舒服的东西,而法币绝对是占据主导地位的支付方式。”

大规模采用是专家小组反复提到的东西。他们讨论了成功的稳定币项目如何能够有助于推动其所建立于基础上的协议的大规模采用,但这需要该协议符合这些目的。关于这一点,专家小组一致认为BSV网络一直是理想的。

Stablecoins

Lipshitz说道,他认为稳定币最终将成为一个庞大的行业,但目前的用例来自其投机价值,因此迄今为止获得最多关注的稳定币就是通过迎合这一点而做到的。但对于Lipshitz和GAP600来说,比特币SV可以在技术上进行竞争——可扩容性、吞吐量——所以最有可能实现大规模采用。因此,选择使用BSV区块链来开发稳定币是最为合理的做法。

“市面上大约有200多种稳定币……但关于KYC、小额交易与成本、可扩容性与速度的事情呢?归根结底,如果您想让机构采用这种方式,它就必须是完全透明的,必须完全符合现行法规,还必须为交易提供便利。”Groome解释道。

“不管怎么说,因为BSV以及我们在澳大利亚的合作伙伴,我们为能来到这里感到非常兴奋。”

尽管BSV区块链的技术能力得到了赞扬,但对于他们的项目是否需要使用基本的BSV协议进行营销,专家们意见不一。

Stablecoins

Groome对于他们基于BSV区块链的稳定币的市场前景持积极态度,他表示:人们应该大规模采用它,该协议的所有技术方面都在鼓励这一点。为什么不大声说出来呢?

“我认为他们不必全都知道。”Dickson说道,“归根结底,这全是关于支付处理的——这给予了人们获取稳定币的法币入金通道。”

“通过使用BSV,您创建了使用稳定币的非常高效的支付处理网络。”

该小组所讨论的另一个话题也与大规模采用相关,该话题为监管合规。事实上,这或许是不断发展的稳定币市场所面临的最为紧迫的问题:就在本周早些时候,英国央行发布了一份讨论文件,文件中主张稳定币应遵循与监管银行时所使用的相同的核心原则。

“我们对大规模采用感兴趣,大规模采用需要合规与监管。”Lipshitz说道。

“我们在楚格定居的部分原因是,瑞士有着非常强大的品牌,这非常严格,但非常清晰:它非常清楚地告诉人们可以实现什么、可以做些什么以及如何实现这些事情。”

每当提到稳定币时,Nguyen就会提到一个众所周知的问题:Tether未能公布其储备支持的证据。至于即将出台的严格法规的前景,以及需要什么来提供所要支持的证据,小组成员都给出了关于透明度的看法(Dickson已经处于一个受到高度监管的行业,所以他的立场与其他两位小组成员略有不同)。Lipshitz说道:

“第一步是我们将完全遵守美国金融业监管局FINRA的法规:我们需要牢固的银行关系以及稳定币背后强大的银行担保。”

“然后,很明显我们将会有定期的、经过审计的法定货币储备担保。”

Groome热情地回应了Lipshitz的观点:“无论监管者需要什么,他们都将会得到它。”

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

CoinGeek Zurich: Stablecoins are coming to BSV

Like ‘BitCoin’, the word ‘stablecoin’ is often in the news, but for the wrong reasons. Despite this, many see the potential for stablecoins, if only it could be unlocked by the right people—and on the right protocol.

It’s a good thing then that the opening day of CoinGeek Zurich included a panel session on the potential of stablecoins, with three panelists all of whom are actively working on stablecoin projects using the BSV enterprise blockchain.

Bitcoin Association founding president Jimmy Nguyen moderated, and he was joined onstage by GAP600 CEO Daniel Lipshitz. The other two panelists dialed in virtually: Matthew Dickson, CEO and co-founder at BitBoss, and Richard Groome, executive chairman at Alt 5 Sigma Inc.

coingeek-zurich-stablecoins-are-coming-to-bsv-richard-groome

Nguyen opened the panel by giving each participant the chance to briefly explain their interactions with the stablecoin concept thus far. Dickson talked from his experience in the iGaming industry:

Dickson’s BitBoss has been issued with a pool bank account, the funds of which are going to be used to mint a stablecoin built on BSV and pegged to the U.S. dollar.

Lipshitz announced that the GAP600 team are also building a stablecoin platform, supporting multiple stablecoin issuances from multiple currencies. Initially, those currencies are the USD, Swiss Franc, the Euro and Sterling: but Lipshitz stresses that the coins that will eventually become available will be dictated by demand and compliance.

Groome also shared that Alt 5 Sigma is partnering with a large U.S. bank and Australian-based Tokenized to deliver an open stablecoin protocol, including KYC services, set to launch between Q3 and Q4 this year.

Having established that the panel contained a good deal of recent experience in developing and launching stablecoin products, Nguyen asked: why get into the stablecoin business in the first place? What’s the appeal?

For Dickson in the gaming industry, the value of being able to efficiently pass around a US dollar is invaluable for casinos, whether they’re in-person or online. Stablecoins can offer the efficiency that traditional modes of payment through fiat cannot.

Lipshitz argued along similar lines:

“By appealing for mass adoption—which is the clear goal of Bitcoin SV and the clear goal of us—you need to engage with what people are comfortable using, and fiat currency is absolutely a dominant way of payment.”

Mass adoption is something which the panel returned to repeatedly. They discussed how successful stablecoin projects can help drive mass adoption of the protocols they are built upon, but that this requires the protocol to be fit-for-purpose. For this, the panel agreed, the BSV network has been ideal.

coingeek-zurich-stablecoins-are-coming-to-bsv-daniel-lipshitz

Lipshitz says he thinks stablecoins will be a massive industry eventually, but that the current use-case comes from its speculative value, and so the stablecoins which have gained the most attention so far have done so by catering to that. But to Lipshitz and Gap600, Bitcoin SV can compete on the technical—scalability, throughput—and so has the best prospect of reaching mass adoption. Therefore, choosing to develop stablecoins using BSV blockchain simply makes the best sense.

“There are about 200 plus stablecoins out there… but the KYC, microtrading and costs, as well as the scalability and speed? At the end of the day, if you want institutions to adopt this, it has to be completely transparent, it has to be completely in line with existing regulations, and it has to facilitate transactions,” explained Groome.

“At the end of the day, with BSV and our partners in Australia, we’re really excited about being here.”

Despite the praise for the BSV blockchain’s technical capabilities, the panelists were split on whether or not their projects needed to be marketing using the underlying BSV protocol at all.

coingeek-zurich-stablecoins-are-coming-to-bsv-matt-dickson

Groome was positive on the prospect of marketing that their stablecoins are built on BSV: all the technical aspects of the protocol should only encourage mass adoption, he says. Why not be loud about it?

“I don’t think they have to know at all,” said Dickson. “This is all about payment processing at the end of the day—giving people the on ramps for fiat to get the stable token.”

“By using BSV you create a very efficient payment processing network using stable tokens.”

Another topic the panel discussed and which is also relevant to the question of mass adoption is regulatory compliance. In fact, it is perhaps the most pressing issue faced by the growing stablecoin market: just earlier this week, the Bank of England published a discussion paper in which it advocated for stablecoins be governed by the same core principles as which govern banks.

“We’re interested in mass adoption, and mass adoption requires compliance and regulation,” said Lipshitz.

“Part of the reason we’ve domiciled in Zug is because Switzerland has an extremely powerful brand, is extremely strict, but is extremely clear: it’s extremely clear of what can be achieved and done and how.”

Nguyen addressed the elephant in the room whenever stablecoins are brought up: the much-publicized failure of Tether to publish proof of its reserve backing. As to the prospect of incoming stringent regulations and what it might require as to providing proof of backing, the panel all expressed commitment to transparency (Dickson is already in a highly regulated industry, so his position is slightly different to the other two panelists). Said Lipshitz:

“The first step is that we’ll be completely compliant with FINRA regulations: we need strong banking relationships and a strong banking guarantee behind the stablecoin.”

“Then, obviously, we will have regular, audited assurances of the backing.”

Groome enthusiastically echoed Lipshitz: “Whatever regulators need, they will get.”

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]