Calvin Ayre就比特币协会对Craig Wright法律行动的回应发表声明

Calvin Ayre就比特币协会对Craig Wright法律行动的回应发表声明

此声明仅属于Calvin Ayre的个人观点,与他人无关。

Craig Wright不是上帝,他也没有像上帝一样的权利能够控制比特币协会,我知道这可能让一些人难以接受。

上周五(也就是2月26日),总部位于瑞士的比特币协会发表了一份声明,就上周Craig S. Wright博士名下的郁金香贸易有限公司(Tulip Trading Ltd)的授权律师发送的“诉讼前的律师函”做出了回应。这些律师函被发送给了众多比特币的开发人员,包括可以代表BTC、BCH、BCH ABC和BSV协议的开发人员。

发出的律师函中建议这些开发人员协助一件事情,这件事就是在两个持有数十亿美元地址的加密私钥被盗后,Craig在寻求法律上的补救。Craig的法律行动的目的是确立这些开发人员需要遵守的法律义务,该义务要求这些开发人员协助Craig重新获得被盗的BTC的使用权和控制权。

涉及到哪些人

一些观察者对Craig为什么会将“诉讼前的律师函”发给比特币协会提出质疑,质疑的原因是比特币协会是一家监管比特币SV(BSV)协议的全球性机构,而比特币SV(BSV)协议是由Craig设计并给予支持的。Craig与比特币协会的关系似乎有些混乱,那么让我来为大家拨开迷雾。

比特币协会并没有参与Craig的法律行动,但是比特币协会在2月26日发表的声明中,对Craig强制让比特币网络的开发人员一起协助自己追回被盗资产的这一做法,表示支持。

比特币协会同样认同Craig重新引进软件解决方案的想法,这个解决方案本就存在于比特币源代码中,但随后在比特币发布的随后几年里,Craig暂时退出了该领域,然后这些软件解决方案也被移除了。比特币协会认为,这是向人们灌输对支撑比特币的技术的信心,并确保其作为在法治下运行的点对点电子现金系统的使用场景得到更广泛采用的重要步骤。比特币协会计划在此事以及所有事项上都遵循所有相关领域的法律。

何种方式

这里出现了一些著名的、明显已经取得了既得利益的大惊小怪者,他们宣称Craig的法律诉讼行为会损害并且造成适得其反的结果,因为这要求网络的管理者有效地回滚区块链,从而消除自2020年2月Craig的BTC被盗以来在区块中记录的几个月的交易,这会削弱人们对区块链的信心。

但这种说法忽略了这样一个事实,即Craig创建的比特币代码是一个三式(triple-entry)会计系统。严格来说,它只需要通过一次交易就能将被盗的代币归还给合法的所有者,而第二次交易会‘烧毁’账本中现有的账目。与此同时,区块链也能确保将犯罪证据被公开地保留下来。

比特币中不同的分叉版本(例如BTC和BCH)从其代码中移除了这种功能,但对于矿工们来说,在这些分叉中再次嵌入这些工具相当容易。这将有助于将比特币纳入合法合规的技术范畴,并且消除未来遭受法律诉讼的威胁,而这些法律行动,则无疑是由其他数字货币盗窃的受害者们提出的。

何种原因

事实上,Craig已经被迫采取了这种看似极端的法律手段,此事只会巩固比特币协会成立背后的理念——即要成为一个专业的全球生态系统,会需要一个协调机构来确保这项技术能够在法律允许的范围内运行。

我们选择楚格州(Zug,瑞士中部的一个州)作为比特币协会的总部,部分原因是基于我在瑞士的个人经历,在瑞士我有多年的运营基础,以协助管理我众多的商业权益。但在另一方面,我们也考虑到了瑞士拥有严格的监管环境,它为该国赢得了良好的声誉——这可以作为我们合法合规地进行全球运营的理想管辖地。

鉴于瑞士当地的监管机构不仅愿意接受比特币,而且对比特币业务十分熟悉,许多数字货币行业的大部分人都选择瑞士作为自己的总部,这使其成为代表原始比特币协议的比特币协会的理想之地。

我是比特币协会的创始人之一,目前是执行委员会的成员。比特币协会中还有许多BSV社区里颇具影响力的人物,包括主席Stefan Matthews以及会长Jimmy Nguyen。

本协会将于今年晚些时候迎来第二位独立董事,以支持实现协会对透明度和法律合规性的承诺,此外协会将增加一名业内人士,以确保在我们决策过程中考虑到各种各样的观点的严谨性。

虽然Craig是中本聪这一化名背后的真实人物,他早在2008年就发明了比特币,但他并没有加入比特币协会,这一决定从第一天起就旨在证明没有任何一个人能够控制BSV。

Craig想要重新恢复比特币最初设计这一愿景中的一部分内容是锁定BSV协议,这给予了开发人员和企业继续实施他们计划的信心,以确保他们的工作不会被网络上自封的、像神一样被崇拜的人物,在未经与他们协商的情况下就做出的决定所破坏。

如果您想找一个现实生活中的例子来说明为什么上述这一点十分重要,可以看看自20世纪90年代中期互联网被广泛应用后,所有建立在互联网上的东西。只有保证公司发展所依赖的数字化基础设施(即互联网)不会突然改变,互联网上的一切设想才有可能被实现。

Craig锁定BSV协议这一决定,也旨在确保没有任何一个人——包括他自己——能够控制比特币网络。Craig曾说过,如果您无法改变一个协议,那么这个协议就没有‘上帝’。然后,关于这项技术,只需要关注于让最好的公司开发最好的产品,而这正是比特币所承诺的、BSV所交付的。

所以,千万别相信有些人的肆意炒作,他们称Craig的法律行为是为了获得在比特币领域的绝对主宰权。Craig自己已经保证过这样的事情不会发生。他想要的是,自己发明的比特币技术能够完成自己的使命,即成为一款合法的全球支付和数据储存系统。

我在之前的文章中提到过,数字货币的‘西大荒’时期(即没有法规约束的时期)正在快速结束,这就像美国历史上原始的西大荒时期一样。如今,我们或许会回顾那个开拓边疆的日子,把那些粗鲁的并且随时处于战斗准备状态的人们看成是一些形形色色的有趣的无赖,但没有人想要回到这样的社会中:人们可能在输掉一局扑克牌后把对方枪杀,或者随意偷别人家的牛而不用担心法律惩罚。

底线原则:所有的社会都是依法而建的,如果数字货币领域选择成为法外之地,那么终有一天它将和Jesse James(一个活跃于美国南部联邦的火车强盗)、Billy the Kid(美国著名枪手、西部传奇人物)以及Hole in the Wall帮派(几个不法之徒藏匿的帮派)一起,成为历史上的过眼云烟。如果您回忆一下的话,就会发现他们中没有一个人是寿终正寝的,有好结局的。

比特币协会已经选择在这部“大戏”中成为好人派(white hat,西部片中白帽子代表好人)的一员,这也是为什么BSV比那些存在法律纠纷的对手们,在长远的未来会发展得更好的原因之一——当然还有比特币BSV拥有无限的扩容能力与极低的交易费用这些原因。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Calvin Ayre issues statement on Bitcoin Association’s response to Craig Wright legal action

This statement is Calvin Ayre’s personal opinion, and not one of anyone else.

I know this may be hard for some people to accept, but Craig Wright isn’t God, nor does he wield godlike control over the Bitcoin Association.

Last Friday (February 26), the Switzerland-based Bitcoin Association issued a statement in response to last week’s ‘letter before action’ issued by attorneys acting on behalf of Dr. Craig S. Wright’s Tulip Trading Ltd. The notices were sent to a number of Bitcoin developers, including those representing the BTC, BCH, BCH ABC and BSV protocols.

The letters advised these developers of Craig’s pursuit of legal redress following the theft of encrypted private keys to two addresses holding several billion dollars’ worth of BTC. Craig’s action is intended to establish the legal obligations held by these developers by requiring them to assist Craig’s efforts to regain access to and control of the stolen BTC.

The Who

Some observers have questioned why Craig included the Bitcoin Association in this action, given its role as the global body that oversees the Bitcoin SV (BSV) protocol that Craig designed and supports. There seems to be some confusion over Craig’s relationship with the Bitcoin Association, so allow me to unmuddy these waters.

The Association has no role in Craig’s legal action, but the Association’s statement of February 26 expresses its support for his efforts to compel network developers to assist victims of crime in reclaiming stolen property.

The Association similarly shares Craig’s desire to reintroduce software solutions that he included in Bitcoin’s original code but which were subsequently removed during Craig’s temporary exit from the scene in the years immediately following Bitcoin’s release. The Association views this as an essential step in instilling confidence in the technology underpinning Bitcoin and ensuring wider adoption of its use as a peer-to-peer electronic cash system that operates under the rule of law. The Association plans to follow all relevant areas of law in this and all matters.

The How

There are some prominent Chicken Littles with obvious vested interests who claim Craig’s legal moves will achieve the exact opposite, undermining confidence by requiring network administrators to effectively roll back the blockchain, thereby undoing months of transactions recorded in blocks mined since the February 2020 theft of Craig’s BTC.

But such claims ignore the fact that Craig constructed Bitcoin’s code as a triple-entry accounting system. All that’s technically required is one transaction to return the stolen coins to their rightful owner, while a second transaction would ‘burn’ the ledger’s existing entry. Meanwhile, the blockchain would ensure that evidence of the crime is publicly retained. 

Bitcoin’s various forks (such as BTC and BCH) removed this functionality from their code but it would be fairly easy for miners to reinsert these tools. This would help enshrine Bitcoin as a legally compliant technology and remove the threat of future legal actions that are undoubtedly in the works by other victims of digital larceny.

The Why

The fact that Craig has been forced to take this seemingly drastic legal step only reinforces the idea behind the formation of the Bitcoin Association—the belief that becoming a professional global ecosystem requires a coordinating body to ensure the technology operates within legal parameters.

We chose Zug as the Association’s headquarters in part based on my personal history with Switzerland, where I’ve had a base of operations for years to assist management of my various business interests. But we also took into account Switzerland’s strict regulatory climate, which has earned the country a reputation as a desirable jurisdiction for legally compliant global operations.

Much of the digital currency industry has also chosen Switzerland as a home base due to local regulators’ familiarity with and acceptance of Bitcoin, making it the perfect home for the Association that represents the original Bitcoin protocol.

I was one of the Bitcoin Association’s founders and currently serve as a member of its Executive Committee. The Association also features a number of influential figures from the BSV community, including Chairman Stefan Matthews and President Jimmy Nguyen.

The Association will welcome its second independent director later this year to bolster its commitment to transparency and legal compliance, as well as an additional industry figure to ensure a wide variety of views factor into our decision-making process.

But despite Craig being the real-world figure behind the Satoshi Nakamoto pseudonym credited with inventing Bitcoin back in 2008, Craig is not part of the Association, a decision that was intended from day one to demonstrate that no single individual controls BSV.

Part of Craig’s vision for restoring Bitcoin’s original design was to lock BSV’s protocol, offering developers and enterprises the confidence with which to proceed with their plans, safe in the knowledge that their work won’t be sabotaged by decisions made without their consultation by self-appointed network demigods. 

If you want a real-world example of why this is necessary, consider all that has been built on the internet following its widespread adoption in the mid-90s. None of that would have been possible without the assurance that the digital foundation on which companies were developing would not suddenly shift under their feet.

Craig’s decision to lock BSV’s protocol was also intended to ensure that no single individual—including himself—could exercise control over the network. Craig has stated that if you can’t change the protocol, then the protocol has no ‘God.’ The technology then becomes solely about the best companies developing the best products, exactly what Bitcoin promised and what BSV has delivered.

So don’t believe the hype emanating from those who claim Craig’s legal action is intended to achieve an unchallengeable dominance over Bitcoin. He himself has ensured that can never happen. All he wants is for the technology he invented to fulfill its destiny as a legally compliant global payment and data storage system.

I mentioned in a previous article that digital currency’s ‘wild west’ phase was rapidly coming to a close, much as the original Wild West period did. Nowadays, we might look back at the rough and ready figures from those frontier days as colourful rogues, but no one wants to go back to a society in which individuals could shoot each other dead after a losing poker hand or rustle another man’s cattle without fear of legal retribution.

Bottom line: all societies are built on laws and if the digital currency sector chooses to believe that it’s an exception to this rule, it will soon find itself relegated to the pages of history alongside Jesse James, Billy the Kid and the Hole in the Wall gang, none of whom, if you’ll recall, died of old age.

The Bitcoin Association has chosen to wear a white hat in this drama, which is just one of the reasons— alongside unparalleled scaling capacity and ultra-low transaction fees—why BSV’s long-term future appears far brighter than its legally conflicted rivals.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.