报告显示2020年BTC在暗网上的使用量激增

报告显示2020年BTC在暗网上的使用量激增

据Crystal Blockchain的最新报告显示,隔离见证币(BTC)依旧是暗网实体所使用的金融工具。

这家Bitfury旗下的区块链分析机构近期发布了一份报告,名为《暗网的使用与BTC——加密货币活动报告》(Darknet Use and BTC—A Crypto Activity Report)。该报告通过比较过去三年的暗网活动,分析了整个2020年第一季度暗网实体与数字货币交易所和其他暗网实体之间的互动关系。 

报告指出,“BTC依旧是暗网实体所使用的金融工具”,尽管数字货币交易所和各国政府都在密切监管区块链和数字货币市场,但暗网现金流量仍在不断增长。

使用交易所的暗网实体正在减少

从2019年第一季度到2020年第一季度,从暗网实体向需要身份验证的交易所发送的BTC数量大幅减少,由 14,073个BTC降至 5,455个BTC。

下降的原因可能在于,目前越来越多的交易所要求个人在进行交易之前,必须通过客户尽职调查(KYC)或者反洗钱(AML)审查流程。在进行KYC和AML验证时,用户必须提交个人身份信息。

尽管如此,暗网用户正在避开使用这些身份调查的平台,试图让执法人员更加难以追踪他们的非法活动

“随着更多交易所开始实施反洗钱金融行动特别工作组(FATF)的要求,暗网用户正在试图规避风险,以免这些交易所暴露他们的活动踪迹,”Crystal Blockchain认为,“他们为了掩盖暗网活动,开始倾向于避开交易所,而是使用混币服务(mixing service)来提取加密货币。”

BTC混合器日渐流行

与2019年第一季度相比,暗网实体在2020年第一季度通过混币服务发送的BTC数量激增。

“今年,暗网实体发送给混合器的BTC数量显著增加——从2019年第一季度的790个BTC总量增加至2020年第一季度的7946个BTC,”该报告称,“美元也显示了同样的增长——从2019年第一季度的300万美元增加至2020年第一季度的6700万美元。这表明暗网实体正在加速采用加密货币混币服务。”

该报告显示,在2019年第一季度,仅有1%的暗网BTC是通过混合服务发送的;然而,在2020年第一季度,通过混合服务发送的暗网BTC达到了20%。

暗网收入的整体增长

Crystal Blockchain还发现,暗网实体之间的BTC发送率也从2019年第一季度的10%,增长至2020第一季度的19%,这显示了暗网收入与合作的整体增长趋势。

该增长的其中一个原因可能在于暗网实体之间已经开始实行合作,从而使得外人更难追踪其资金的真实来源与路径。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

BTC use on darknet increases in 2020, report finds

BTC continues to be a financial tool for darknet entities, according to a new report by Crystal Blockchain.

The blockchain analytics arm of Bitfury recently released its “Darknet Use and BTC—A Crypto Activity Report,” which took a look at darknet entity interactions with digital currency exchanges and other darknet entities throughout the first quarter of 2020 in comparison to darknet activity from the past three years. 

The report discovered that “BTC continues to be a financial tool for darknet entities,” and despite digital currency exchanges and governments around the world keeping an eye on the blockchain and digital currency markets, darknet cash flows are on the rise.

Fewer darknet entities are using exchanges

The amount of BTC sent from darknet entities to exchanges that require users to verify their accounts significantly declined from Q1 2019 to Q1 2020, dropping from 14,073 BTC to 5,455 BTC.

The reason for this decline may be because more exchanges now require individuals to go through a Know Your Customer (KYC) or Anti-Money Laundering (AML) process before they can trade. During the KYC/AML verification, users must submit personal identification information.

That being said, darknet users are steering clear from these platforms that require them to reveal their true identities, in an effort to make it more difficult for law enforcement officials to trace illicit activities back to them.

“While more exchanges implement the FATF requirements, darknet users are trying to avoid the risk of unveiling their activity by those exchanges,” said Crystal Blockchain. “To veil darknet activities, they started to prefer mixing services to exchanges for withdrawal of cryptocurrency.”

BTC mixers became even more popular

Compared to Q1 2019, darknet entities sent significantly more BTC through mixing services in Q1 2020. 

“The amount of BTC sent to mixers by darknet entities rose significantly this year — from 790 total BTC in Q1 2019 to 7,946 BTC in Q1 2020,” according to the report. “The same growth was also observed in USD — an increase from $3m in Q1 2019 to $67m in Q1 2020. This indicates a rapid adoption of crypto mixing services by darknet entities.”

According to the report, in Q1 2019, only 1% of darknet BTC was sent to mixing services; however, in Q1 2020, 20% of darknet BTC was sent to mixing services.

Overall growth in darknet revenue

Crystal Blockchain also discovered that the percentage of BTC sent from one darknet entity to another grew from 10% in Q1 2019 to 19% in Q1 2020, which indicates overall growth in darknet revenue and cooperation.

One reason for this increase may be because darknet entities have begun working together to make it more difficult for onlookers to trace the true source and path of their funds. 

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.