专题报道:大型比特币公司无法再使用内蒙古廉价电力

据报道,中国内蒙古20多家未具名的比特币挖矿运营商被内蒙古自治区工业和信息化厅取消了电力补贴。根据区块链记者Colin Wu提供的信息,自当地政府发布了一则打击数字货币矿场的通知后,上述比特币公司即丧失了补贴资格。

区块链媒体CoinDesk近期报道显示,BitmainEbang等业内巨头也受到了该新政策的影响。

在一份据称提供给新闻媒体的文件中,官方要求业内巨头暂停参与该地区能源交易。这些公司无法再从国有能源交易企业——内蒙古电力集团所提供的液体能源市场中获得丰厚的电力折扣。

中国电信内蒙古分公司据称也榜上有名,表明大型电信公司也可能参与了内蒙古的数字货币挖矿活动。

PoolIn创始人/首席执行官Kevin Pan表示,该项政策将会对行业带来一些影响,并可能将电费推高0.014美元/千瓦时。虽然可能显得很少,但对于能源密集型的比特币挖矿活动而言,这将显著增加运营成本。

近期政策变化发生在2019年底内蒙古全区现场检查之后。官方发现该地区一些自称是大数据与云计算的公司只是经过伪装的数字货币挖矿公司。这些公司试图通过伪装成合格实体而取得补贴资格。

这是区块奖励挖矿行业陷入死循环的另一个迹象吗?

自今年比特币数量减半之后,比特币挖矿行业一直在逐步衰退。当直面未来前景时,搜寻区块奖励的矿工们再也不能一味逃避。他们必须决定到底是支持和促进比特币在企业中的应用,还是继续在摇摇欲坠的比特币金融市场上小心运营。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

BTC heavyweights lose access to Inner Mongolia’s cheap power: report

Over 20 unnamed BTC mining operators in China’s Inner Mongolia were reportedly stripped of power subsidies by the Department of Industrial and Information Technology of the Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region. According to blockchain journalist Colin Wu, the disqualification comes after the government issued a new edict cracking down on digital currency mining farms.

Recent reports from CoinDesk indicated that industry titans Bitmain and Ebang were among those listed that felt the new policy initiative’s sting.

In a document reportedly given to the news outlet, officials suspended the industry giants from participating in energy trading in the region. They can no longer enjoy generous electricity discounts that come from the liquid energy marketplace provided by the Inner Mongolia Power Group, a state-owned energy trading firm.

Also allegedly on the list is the Inner Mongolia Branch of China Telecom, suggesting the telecom giant may also be involved in digital currency mining activities in Inner Mongolia. 

Kevin Pan, Founder/CEO of PoolIn, said the policy would have some impact on the industry, likely raising the electricity rate by $0.014 per kilowatt-hour (kWh). While this might seem negligible, it means a significant increase in operational costs for energy-intensive BTC mining activities.

The recent policy change came after region-wide on-site inspections in late 2019. Official discovered that some purported big data and cloud computing companies in the region were just digital currency mining farms in disguise. These firms attempt to qualify for electricity perks by disguising themselves as eligible entities.

Is this another indicator that the block reward mining sector is in the midst of a death spiral? 

The BTC mining industry has been in a gradual collapse since this year’s Bitcoin halving. Block reward miners can no longer kick the can down the road when it comes to their future. They must decide if they will embrace and advance enterprise adoption or continue operating based on the house of cards that is the BTC financial markets. 

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.