BSV Stories for Antigua and Barbuda

BSV故事——第6集:在安提瓜与巴布达建立一个数字天堂

当马可波罗于13世纪末访问中国时,他对纸币在中国处于主导地位的现状感到十分惊讶。他写道,由中国蒙古皇帝忽必烈发行的这些纸票“是一种类似纸的东西,但却是黑色的”,他还指出“无论这个人认为他自己多么重要,都没有人敢拒绝使用这些纸币,否则将被处以死刑。”

如果忽必烈汗今天还活着的话,他将判处更多的死刑。正如纸币曾经彻底改变了古代社会一样,技术与金融领域的创新也导致了社会从实体纸币过渡到数字支付的转变。

英国金融的年度支付数据显示,2020年的现金支付下降了35%,只占所有支付的近五分之一。欧洲与美国大部分地区都处于这种模式。

在线交易带来了许多好处,包括快捷的交易速度与易被盗窃概率的减少。但在有些国家,现金仍然是王道。在拉丁美洲与加勒比地区,只有54%的成年人拥有银行账户,这意味着许多人仍然依赖现金。

东加勒比的安提瓜与巴布达就是这样一个缺乏在线交易通道的国家。我前往这个天堂般的岛屿,想了解金融排斥是如何影响日常生活的,并看看有什么解决方案正在出现。

安提瓜女商人兼店主Zoe Abbott解释说:“我们这里办理银行业务非常困难,所以只要去银行办理任何事情,您得进去、交出卡、付交易费用,很多的这些流程都非常耗时且昂贵,人们会感到沮丧。”

她说的很对。在自动取款机外大排长龙是安提瓜首都圣约翰常见的景象。事实上,我在回家之前支付PCR测试费用时,我不得不开车7英里才能找到一台可用的自动取款机来取现金。医生无法处理国际付款。

很明显,这种对现金的依赖使日常生活变得困难。我们在本国轻松进行的交易,例如购买杂货或支付外国银行账户,在这儿可能会很麻烦。

缺乏数字化只是安提瓜等国家面临的一个问题,这些国家对旅游业高度依赖、高失业率以及低生产率都是很普遍的现象。新冠肺炎疫情只是暴露了拉丁美洲与加勒比在社会经济方面受影响最严重区域的这些固有脆弱性。

但这是安提瓜与巴布达总理Gaston Browne正在努力改变的现状。他告诉我,他希望建立一个“生态系统,以促进我们国家经济的数字化转型,因为我们在寻求旅游业的多元化发展,几十年来旅游业一直主导着我们的经济领域。”

他希望通过建立一个法律框架来指导该国的基础设施,进而实现这一目标。《数字资产商业法案》于2020年通过成为法律,将有助于为希望在岛上建立的数字资产企业创建一个监管框架。

该总理说:“我们正在为技术的蓬勃发展创造机会。与此同时,我们希望确保我们在一个监管良好的领域内运作。”

Browne希望通过为数字货币业务来建立一个安全且能吸引人的领域,他将鼓励科技公司在岛上开店。他们想法是,建立的公司越多,该国的劳动力就越多样化,安提瓜的后代人就会受到启发,发展科技行业就业所需的技能。

他已经看到了他的劳动成果,几家数字货币企业选择在这个热带天堂安家。一个例子是贝叶斯集团(Fabriik),这是一家在金融科技与数字资产市场运营的公司。

另一家位于安提瓜的公司是风险投资公司Ayre Ventures。Ayre Ventures的董事总经理Paul Rajchgod告诉我,政府立法“在这里创造了一个企业可以利用的框架。”

但是,不仅仅是企业看到了多元化的好处。Paul指出,“当公司在这里开店时,就像我们一样,它会在整个经济中掀起涟漪。”

事实上,对发展中经济体的投资已被证明可以提供许多好处,包括提高生产力、发展人力资本和更具竞争力的市场。

难怪总理对被注入安提瓜经济的4000万美元的投资感到兴奋,这个项目叫加拿大广场。这座最先进的建筑于2019年由科技企业家与安提瓜和巴布达经济特使Calvin Ayre创建。它是Ayre集团全球总部的所在地,也是其他多家科技公司的所在地,可容纳多达600名员工。

Browne说:“这是标志性的一步,我很确定它将激发我们的年轻人取得更高水平的成就。”

总理对下一代持乐观态度是正确的。互联网的引入与数字货币的发明一直是安提瓜等发展中国家实现金融包容性的重要工具。

世界银行的统计数据显示,安提瓜公民的人均移动电话的订购数量居世界第四位,为每人1.92部。

虽然这还没有考虑到可能拥有多部手机的公民,但它确实表明许多安提瓜人可以访问互联网。这意味着,虽然传统金融服务的大门可能会关闭,但当地人可以在智能手机上轻松使用比特币等数字货币。

数字货币比老式方法更便宜,对当地人来说也少了官僚主义色彩。将比特币转移到可能没有银行账户的朋友是很容易的,它为西联汇款等传统汇款渠道提供了另一种选择,后者可能非常昂贵。

在媒体行业工作的年轻安提瓜人Samori Joseph告诉我,他对比特币带来的机遇感到兴奋。但是,由于其缓慢且高昂的交易费用,他对它的实用性有一些怀疑。

虽然这是BTC的问题,但最初的比特币BSV并非如此。由于BSV网络内的区块大小没有限制,因此它每秒可以以极低的费用处理多达五万笔交易(2020年BSV网络上的交易费用中位数不到1/50美分)。

在我们生活的这个疯狂且痴迷于“加密货币”的世界中,我们很容易忘记,正如Craig Wright的白皮书中概述的那样,最初的比特币协议是一项真正的革命性发明,它的目的是破坏传统银行系统并且促进金融的包容性。

但是,花时间在发展中国家进行推广,比特币SV可以真正改善普通人的生活,让人们更清楚地看到这项创新技术的价值。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

BSV Stories for Antigua and Barbuda

BSV Stories – Episode 6: Building a digital paradise in Antigua and Barbuda

When Marco Polo visited China in the late 13th century, he was astonished by the dominance of paper money. He wrote about the notes, issued by China’s Mongol Emperor Kublai Khan, as “something resembling sheets of paper, but black” and noted that “nobody, however important he may think himself, dares to refuse them on pain of death.”

If Kublai Khan was living today, he would need to issue a lot of death sentences. Just as paper money once revolutionised ancient societies, innovations in technology and finance have led to a move away from physical cash and towards digital payments instead.

Annual payments data from U.K. Finance showed that cash payments fell by 35% in 2020, accounting for just under one-fifth of all payments. This is a pattern across much of Europe and the United States.

There are many benefits that come with online transactions, including speed and reduced vulnerability to theft. But there are some countries where cash is still king. In Latin America and the Caribbean just 54% of adults have a bank account, meaning many still rely on cash.

Antigua and Barbuda, in the Eastern Caribbean, is one such country suffering from a lack of access. I headed to the island paradise to find out how financial exclusion impacts everyday life and to see what solutions are on the horizon.

Antiguan businesswoman and shop owner Zoe Abbott explains that “banking is difficult here so just doing anything with the bank, going in, having cards, the transaction fees, a lot of that is very time consuming and expensive and people get frustrated.”

She’s right. Long queues outside ATMs are a common sight in Antigua’s capital, St. John’s. Indeed, when paying for a PCR test before my flight home, I had to drive 7 miles to find a working ATM to get cash out. The doctor couldn’t process international payments.

It’s clear to see that this dependence on cash makes everyday life difficult. Transactions that we make with ease, like buying groceries or paying foreign bank accounts can be a big hassle.

A lack of digitalisation is just one problem facing countries like Antigua, where reliance on tourism, high unemployment and low productivity are common. The pandemic has only exposed these inherent vulnerabilities with Latin America and the Caribbean the most affected region in socio-economic terms.

But this is something that the Prime Minister of Antigua and Barbuda, Gaston Browne, is fighting to change. He told me that he wants to build an “ecosystem to facilitate the digitalised transformation of our country’s economy as we seek to diversify away from tourism, which has dominated our economic space for many decades.”

One way he hopes to achieve this is by establishing a legal framework that will guide the country’s infrastructure. The Digital Assets Business Bill which passed into law in 2020, will help create a regulatory framework for digital asset businesses that want to set up on the island. 

“We are creating an opportunity for technology to flourish. We want to make sure at the same time that we operate within a well-regulated space,” the Prime Minister said.

Browne hopes that by building a safe and inviting space for digital currency businesses, he will encourage technology companies to set up shop on the island. The idea is that the more companies come, the more diversified the country’s workforce will be and the more future generations of Antiguans will be inspired to develop the skills needed for employment in the tech sector.

He’s already seeing the fruits of his labour with several digital currency businesses choosing the tropical paradise as a home. One example is the Bayesian Group (Fabriik), a collective of companies operating in the fintech and digital asset market.

Another company based in Antigua is venture capital firm, Ayre Ventures. Paul Rajchgod, Managing Director of Ayre Ventures, told me that government legislation has “created a framework here that companies can take advantage of.”

But it’s not just enterprises that are seeing the benefits of diversification. Paul points out that “when companies set up shop here, such as we have, it ripples throughout the whole economy.”

Indeed, investment into a developing economy has been shown to provide many benefits, including increased productivity, development of human capital and a more competitive market. 

It’s no wonder then that the Prime Minister is thrilled about the $40 million investment into the Antiguan economy that is Canada Place. The state-of-the-art building was opened in 2019 by tech entrepreneur and Special Economic Envoy to Antigua and Barbuda, Calvin Ayre. It serves as the location of the Ayre Group’s global head office as well as being home to various other technology companies, with space for up to 600 employees.

“It’s iconic and I’m quite sure that it will inspire higher levels of achievement among our youth,” says Browne.

The Prime Minister is right to be optimistic for the next generation. The introduction of the internet and the invention of digital currencies have been important instruments of financial inclusion for developing countries like Antigua.

World Bank statistics show that Antiguan citizens have the fourth highest number of mobile phone subscriptions per person in the world, at 1.92 subscriptions per person.

While this does not account for citizens who may have more than one mobile phone, it does show that many Antiguans have access to the internet. This means that while the doors to traditional financial services might be closed, locals can easily use digital currencies like Bitcoin, on their smartphones.

Digital currencies are cheaper and less bureaucratic for locals than old-fashioned methods. It’s easy to transfer Bitcoin to friends who may not have bank accounts and it offers an alternative to traditional remittance channels like Western Union which can be offputtingly expensive. 

Samori Joseph, a young Antiguan who works in the media industry, told me that he’s excited by the opportunities Bitcoin presents. But he has some doubts about its utility due to its slowness and high transaction fees.

While this is a problem with BTC, it’s not the case with the original Bitcoin, BSV. Because there is no limit on block sizes within the BSV network, it can process up to 50,000 transactions per second at extremely low costs (the median transaction fee on the BSV network in 2020 was less than 1/50th of a U.S. cent.) 

In the crazy, “crypto”-obsessed world that we live in, it’s easy to forget that the original Bitcoin protocol, as outlined in Craig Wright’s white paper, was a truly revolutionary invention built to disrupt the legacy banking system and foster financial inclusion.

But spending time in the developing world, where Bitcoin SV could genuinely improve the lives of ordinary people, casts a much clearer light on the value of the innovative technology.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]