官方报告显示:澳大利亚公民因数字货币骗局损失了超过1400万澳元

澳大利亚竞争和消费者委员会(ACCC)的一份报告显示,在2019年,澳大利亚公民由于数字货币相关的投资骗局损失了超过2100万澳元(约合1450万美元)。

ACCC的调查结果与全球其他政府机构今年的报告一致——与数字货币相关的犯罪活动数量有所增加

“骗子的作案手段正在向更现代化的支付方式转变,这些方式通常比传统的支付方式更难以追踪。不受监管的加密货币和其他实时支付渠道的匿名性阻碍了人们追回资金或识别骗子”ACCC表示。

某些数字资产的付款具有比其他数字资产更高的匿名性,这使得某些币和代币成为了吸引犯罪的诱人工具。2019年,ACCC总共报导了1810起关于数字货币的骗局——而BTC是这些骗局中最受欢迎的数字货币,在损失的2100万澳元中占了1940万澳元。

根据监管机构的数据,2019年澳大利亚公民因数字货币骗局而损失的金额大约是2018年的四倍。

通过短信平台进行的数字货币诈骗

这些骗局大多通过Discord和Telegram等通讯平台进行,目标是已经对数字资产交易感兴趣的个人。该报告指出,大多数提交的报告是由25-34岁的澳大利亚公民申请的。

“诈骗者往往针对那些已经对投资和加密货币感兴趣的人,”报告称。“与其他投资骗局一样,受害者也有机会迅速获得高额回报。他们以加密货币进行交易,并经常在Discord和Telegram等现代平台上与骗子沟通。受害者会发现交易平台突然关闭,骗子无法联系,他们的钱也消失了。”

从本质上讲,骗子从毫无戒备的受害者那里获得数字货币的付款,然后要么关闭他们用来助长骗局的平台,要么在收到受害者的资金后不久就消失,让人无法联系。

保持独立思考

随着与数字货币相关的骗局不断增加,有必要在此提醒我们的读者保持独立思考。如果一个投资机会听起来妙到不像是真的,那么可能确实如此,并且这很可能是一个骗局。要警惕那些向您承诺低风险高收益回报的个人及平台。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Australians lost over $14M to digital currency scams: gov’t

A report from the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) has revealed that Australians lost over A$21 million (about US$14.5 million) to digital currency-related investment scams in 2019.

The ACCC’s findings are in line with what other government agencies around the world have been reporting this year—there has been an increase in digital currency-related crime.

“Scammers are shifting to more modern payment methods, which are often harder to trace than traditional ones. The anonymity of unregulated cryptocurrencies and other real-time payment channels impedes the ability to recover funds or identify scammers,” the ACCC stated.

Some digital asset payments have a higher degree of anonymity than others, which makes certain coins and tokens attractive vehicles to facilitate crime. A total of 1,810 digital currency-related scams were reported to the ACCC in 2019—and BTC was the most popular digital currency used in these scams, accounting for A$19.4 million of the A$21 million lost.

The amount of money Australians lost to digital currency scams in 2019 is roughly four times the amount lost in 2018, according to the regulator.

Digital currency scams via messaging platforms

A majority of these scams took place through communication platforms like Discord and Telegram, and targeted individuals who already had an interest in digital asset trading. The report noted that the majority of the reports filed were made by Australians ages 25-34.

“Scammers tend to target people who are already interested in investing and cryptocurrencies,” the report stated. “As with other investment scams, victims are offered an opportunity to make high returns quickly. They trade in cryptocurrency and often communicate with the scammers on modern platforms such as Discord and Telegram. Victims will find the trading platform suddenly shuts down, the scammers can’t be contacted and their money disappears.”

In essence, scammers obtain digital currency payments from unsuspecting victims and then either shut down the platform that they use to facilitate the scam or disappear leaving no way to be contacted shortly after they have received the victims’ funds.

Do your own research

With digital currency-related scams on the rise, it is never a bad time to remind our readers to always do your own research. If an investment opportunity sounds too good to be true, then it probably is and is most likely a scam. Be wary of individuals and platforms that allow you to earn high returns with no risk associated.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.