Silhouette freedom happy woman enjoying on the hill

2022年将是人们再度觉醒的一年

我想在新年的伊始发出一个对于不祥情况的预警。

社会正在分崩离析。

这些天,我们到处都能看到“分崩瓦解”。我们看到了两极分化,一切都是政治化的。在一个大多数家庭在餐桌上都有“对政治避而不谈”的规定的世界里,我们互相都将对那些发生的事情缄口不言。

整个社会都患有艾滋病或免疫缺陷综合症。这种疾病会攻击人体的免疫系统,使其无法抵御每天都存在于我们周围的病毒与有害细菌。但是社会得了艾滋病对其本身意味着什么呢?社会也会像人体一样:社会的免疫系统已经受损了,我们作为一个全球性的社区,现正在面临着任何针对我们系统的攻击。

在我把这个拟人化的类比做得太过火之前,让我来解释一下……我说的社会,是指文明社会。我不是指任何特定的国家,甚至不是指任何跨国文化的集团。我指的是整个人类社会。那么我们的免疫系统是什么?我指的是我们赖以在现实世界与社会世界中寻求真理的科学和新闻机构。在过去的两年里,他们已经逐步地倒台了并且/或者被贪婪和权力所侵蚀了,我们目前生活在这样一个时代:人们对这些既提供信息,又提供必要制衡的机构失去了信任,这些机构本来是用以确保我们的政治家保持诚实并且负起责任的。

在我们生活的时代,流行病已成为击败对手与增强国家权力的政治工具了,然而基本的人权却被削弱了,而与此同时,相当一部分人正在为此欢呼。我们生活在这样一个时代:人们对种族、文化与信仰的宽容政策已被扭曲成对对立观点报以零容忍的政策,在这样一个环境下,不同意识形态的部落之间不可能进行文明的对话。

在我们生活的时代,个人的崇拜比理性的声音更为强烈,人们更多地是评判而不是倾听。

困扰现代社会的疾病是,人们被模式化为部落主义者,他们拒绝讨论或倾听任何与自己原有观点相反的声音。世界已经失去了对科学方法的掌控,科学方法表明,当您得到新的信息时,您必须始终都十分情愿地改变您原有的观点。人们变得如此分裂,如此部落化,以至于他们强烈地排斥任何与他们部落的群体思维相抵触的观点。

这一切主要都归咎于社交媒体。由于虚假信息泛滥(这是给每个人一个平台来发声所产生的必然结果),社会对信息已经变得不再敏感。我们被过量的信息所淹没,以至于我们根本没有时间或精力去过滤它,所以为了保持理智(不让我们的世界观日新月异),我们发展出了一种应对机制。这个机制就是使我们开始根据信息的来源来判断信息的真实性。只要信息来自于一个值得信赖的渠道,不管它是来自于一个与我们的政治观点一致的媒体新闻渠道,还是来自于一个最喜欢的播客、YouTube创作者、家庭成员,还是一个“具有社会影响力的人”。我们共同将我们的信息收件箱过滤器委托给了那些发送信息的人。

在我成长的那个时代,当我们看新闻的时候,我们被教导要训练我们的“废话过滤器”。我们知道新闻总是带有偏见的。但在这个社交媒体盛行的时代,人们每天几乎只要醒着,就会在其每一个空闲的时间里消费信息,我们的废话过滤器都超负荷了,它的保险丝都烧断了。所以我们将其弃之不用,而是用一个渠道过滤器来代替。因此,我们都容易受到可怕的个人崇拜带来的影响。

现在,您是否将这个消息视为“虚假的”还是“真实的”,都取决于消息传递者的魅力或他在人们心中的声誉,当然声誉是不会轻而易举地被营销或被公关所破坏或操纵的,对吧?我说的对吧?

我们已经摒弃了科学法则,取而代之的是由营销人员、销售人员以及有影响力的人制定的法则。

在我们现在生活的世界里,如果科学家们告诉我们有一颗小行星正朝着地球飞来,我们都会因此丧命,但如果Elon Musk与主流媒体告诉我们这都是假新闻的话……我们会选择相信后者。

我们怎么能让我们所珍爱的一切如此轻易地就从我们手中溜走?

答案是显而易见的。简单的四个字:“紧急措施。”

这四个字抹杀了社会的自由。科学的正当程序被搁置了,药物临床测试程序被跳过或被加快了,行业监管机构被关闭了,任何反对意见都被压制并且被禁言了。George Orwell死不瞑目,我们很快就迈入了大洋洲对抗欧亚大陆的世界,那是1984年式的反乌托邦世界,而大众却没有意识到这一点。现如今,就在最近,言论自由却(科学审查与讨论)受到了审查和钳制。

在“紧急措施”的使用下,您可以获得几乎任何事情的授权,如资金、拨款、奖励、合同、优惠以及权力。惩罚坏人、奖励好人的资本主义自由市场机制被弃之不顾,世界各国政府(都在其各自的法律范围之内)尽其所能地行使极权控制【1】。

2022年,我希望每个人都能记住,你们可以努力地使自己少一点部落主义,对信息与观点持开放态度,多一点包容,多一点倾听,少一点评判。国际社会患有艾滋病,而我不确定有什么方法可以治愈它。但它肯定会以鼓励公开辩论、怀疑与对话的形式,重新建立一个健康的免疫系统。2022年将是清算与觉醒并存的一年。

希望我们能在为时已晚之前,让我们自己从陷入催眠的状态中苏醒过来。

/Jerry Chan

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

2022 the year of reawakening

2022 the year of reawakening

I’d like to start this new year off with an ominous warning.

Society is falling apart.

Everywhere you look these days, we see division. We see polarization. Everything is politicized. And in a world where most households have a “no politics” rule at the dinner table, what is happening is that we stop talking to each other.

Society is sick with AIDS or acquired immunodeficiency syndrome. This disease attacks the body’s immune system, making it unable to defend itself from ever-present viruses and harmful bacteria that surround us every day. But what does it mean for society itself to have AIDS? Exactly that; society’s immune system has been compromised, and we are now exposed to any attacks upon our system as a global community.

Before I take this anthropomorphic analogy too far, let me explain…by society, I mean the civilized world. I don’t mean any particular country or even any trans-national cultural bloc. I mean human society in general. And what is our immune system? The scientific and journalistic institutions which we rely on to seek the truth in both the physical and social world. Over the course of the last two years, they have been systematically taken down and/or corrupted by greed and power, and we are now living in times where people have lost trust in these institutions to both inform and provide the needed checks and balances to keep our politicians honest and accountable.

We live in times where a pandemic has been turned into a political tool to defeat rivals and increase the power of the state while reducing basic human rights, all while a good part of the population is cheering it all on. We live in an age where a policy of tolerance of race, culture, and creed has been twisted into one of intolerance of opposing views and where civil dialog is impossible between tribes of ideology.

We live in times where cults of personality are stronger than voices of reason and where people judge more than they listen.

The disease that afflicts modern society is that people have been programmed to be tribalists and reject discussing or listening to anything that counters their own pre-existing views. The world has lost its grip on the scientific method, which states that you must always be willing to change your views when given new data. People have become so divided, so tribal, that they violently reject anything against the group-think of their tribe.

Social media is mostly to blame for this. With so much disinformation afloat (a necessary consequence of giving EVERYONE a platform), society has become desensitized to information. We are so inundated with information overload that we simply no longer have the time or energy to filter it anymore, so to remain sane (and not to have our world views changed on a daily basis), we developed a coping mechanism. This mechanism is that we start to gauge the truthfulness of information depending on where it comes from. So long as the information comes to us from a trusted channel, whether that be a media news channel that aligns with our political views, a favorite podcaster, YouTube-er, family member, or a ‘social influencer.’ We have collectively delegated our information inbox filter to the messengers that carry the messages.

I grew up in an age where we were taught to train our ‘BS filter’ when we watch the news. We knew that news always has a bias. But in this age of social media where people are consuming information almost every waking free moment of their days, our BS filters have all overloaded and blown a fuse. So we tossed them out and substituted a channel filter instead. And with that, we have collectively fallen susceptible to the dreaded cult of personality. 

Now whether or not you accept the news as ‘fake‘ or ‘real’ depends on the charisma or perceived reputation of the messenger, and certainly reputation isn’t something that is easily corrupted or manipulated through marketing and PR, right? Right? 

We have thrown out the rule of Science and, in its place, enshrined the rule of marketers, salesmen, and influencers. 

We now live in a world where if scientists told us that there was an asteroid heading towards earth and that we were all going to die, but Elon Musk and mainstream media told us it was all fake news…we would believe the latter.

A quote from the recently de-platformed Dr. Robert Malone in his recent podcast with truth seeker rogue podcaster Joe Rogan, said it best, “Remember years back, when we all felt sorry for those who lived in China, who had to endure social oppression, have to live in a society without free speech and have to watch what they say or be persecuted? Who live in a country where the internet is filtered and censored, and only government approved content was allowed? Remember how we were all shocked with the human rights violations, with people being penalized or ostracized depending on their social credit scores? — Wake up people, this is America TODAY.”

How did we let all that we hold dear slip out of our hands so easily?

The answer is obvious. Simply two words: “Emergency measures.”

With those two words, social freedoms were wiped away. Scientific due process sidelined and pharmaceutical clinical test procedures skipped or fast-tracked, industry watchdogs were shut down, and any opposition was silenced and de-platformed. George Orwell is rolling in his grave. How quickly we slipped into the world of Oceania vs. Eurasia, 1984-esque dystopia, without mainstream people realizing it. And now, most recently, free-speech (scientific scrutiny and discussion) is censored and muzzled.

With “Emergency Measures,” you can get authorization for almost anything like funding, grants, incentives, contracts, favors, and power. The capitalist mechanism of free-market penalizing the bad and rewarding the good was tossed to the side, and the governments of the world exercised (to the extent of each’s own laws) as much totalitarian control1 they could muster.

With 2022, I hope that everyone can remember to put effort into being less tribal, to be open to new data and opinions, to be more tolerant, listen more, and judge less. Society has AIDS, and I’m not sure what the cure can be. But it certainly will start with building back up a healthy immune system in the form of encouraging open debate, skepticism, and dialogue. 2022 will be a year of reckoning and reawakening.

Hopefully, we will start to wake up from the hypnotic trance that we have all allowed ourselves to fall into before it’s too late.

/Jerry Chan

***

NOTE:

[1] Thankfully, some governments like Japan and Sweden, either through their own restrictive laws or through enlightened decisions, kept disruptive measures to a minimum

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]