为什么要用BTC购买汽水?

Centrapay最近与可口可乐阿玛提尔公司(Coca-Cola Amatil)合作,让客户能够在贴有付款二维码的可口可乐自动售货机上使用数字货币付款。这家可口可乐分销商服务地区包括澳大利亚、新西兰、印度尼西亚、巴布亚新几内亚、斐济和萨摩亚。

冠状病毒改变了人际互动方式之际,Centrapay的数字资产解决方案让个人在使用可口可乐自动售货机购买饮料时,减少触摸售货机的次数。目前,贴有付款二维码的可口可乐自动售货机仅接受通过Sylo智能钱包发送的BTC付款。 

“我们打算支持多种数字资产,BTC只是其中第一个,”Centrapay首席执行官杰罗姆·福瑞(Jerome Faury)告诉CoinGeek。“归根结底,消费者需求将决定我们要支持使用哪些数字资产。”

Centrapay打算将来接受使用更多数字资产支付——考虑到BTC在付款方面并非最高效的数字资产,这样做不无道理。

为什么要用BTC付款?

在自动售货机上用BTC购买汽水根本行不通,因为BTC交易费用太贵了。

BitInfoCharts的数据显示,截至2020年6月10日,BTC交易的平均交易费用为1.16美元。这就是说,如果您用BTC购买售价1.75美元的汽水,那么您一共需要支付2.91美元才能买到汽水——这比用现金或比特币SV(BSV)支付的价格高出67%。

Anypay很好地解释了为何BTC是一种缺乏吸引力的支付选项,以及消费者用BTC购物行不通的原因。而且Anypay也指出,原始比特币(BSV)对于消费者来说是更好的支付选项

用比特币付款

根据BitInfoCharts数据称,截至2020年6月10日,BSV的平均交易费用为0.0002美元。

也就是说,如果您用BSV购买售价1.75美元的汽水,购买总成本会是1.7502美元——价格的增幅微乎其微。此外,当您用比特币(BSV)付款时,付款几乎即时到账,这一点不同于BTC,后者需要进行6次确认(用时大约1小时)后才能结清付款。

对于想要在零售商/自动售货机处消费数字货币的消费者来说,BSV显然是更好的选择。BSV付款的结算速度更快,而且交易费用远低于BTC交易费用。Coin.Dance的数据显示,目前BTC的交易费用比BSV高出3136.08倍。总而言之,BSV是更好的付款方式。 

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Why would you buy soda with BTC?

Centrapay recently partnered with Coca-Cola Amatil, allowing customers to pay with digital currency at Coca-Cola vending machines with a QR code payment sticker. The Coca-Cola distributor services Australia, New Zealand, Indonesia, Papua New Guinea, Fiji, and Samoa.

At a time when coronavirus has altered the way individuals interact, Centrapay’s digital asset solution reduces the number of times that an individual at a Coca-Cola vending machine has to touch the vending machine to make their purchase. At the moment, the Coca-Cola vending machines with a QR payment sticker only accept BTC payments that are sent from Sylo Smart Wallets. 

“BTC is just the first of many digital assets we intend to support,” Centrapay CEO Jerome Faury told CoinGeek. “Ultimately, consumer demand will determine which digital assets are supported.”

Centrapay intends to make it possible to pay with more digital assets in the future–which makes sense considering that BTC is not the most efficient digital asset to make payments with.

Why would you pay with BTC?

It does not make sense to purchase a soda from a vending machine with BTC because BTC transaction fees are unreasonably expensive.

Data from BitInfoCharts showed that the average transaction fee for a BTC transaction as of June 10, 2020 is $1.16. That being said, if you buy a soda that costs $1.75 with BTC, you will have to pay a total of 2.91–a 67% mark up from the price you would pay if you paid in cash or Bitcoin SV (BSV).

Anypay does a great job explaining why BTC is an unattractive payment option and why it does not make sense for consumers to make purchases with BTC. And just as Anypay pointed out, the original Bitcoin (BSV) is the better payment option for consumers.

Paying with Bitcoin

According to data from BitInfoCharts, the average transaction fee for BSV as of June 10th, 2020, is $.0002.

That means that when you buy a $1.75 soda with BSV, the total cost of your purchase will be $1.7502—a negligible increase in price. In addition, when you pay with Bitcoin (BSV) the payment is nearly instantaneous, unlike BTC, which will take 6 confirmations (roughly 1 hour) before the payment is settled.

BSV is clearly the better choice for a consumer looking to spend their digital currency at a retailer/vendor. Not only is a BSV payment settled faster, but the transaction fees are significantly lower than BTC transaction fees. Data from Coin.Dance show it is currently 3,136.08x more expensive to transact with BTC than it is to transact with BSV—all around, BSV is the better payment option. 

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.