西联汇款欲收购速汇金,瑞波何去何从?

据报道,西联汇款(Western Union)已向另一家瑞波(Ripple)合作的汇款服务提供商速汇金(MoneyGram)提出收购要约。

速汇金举步维艰

速汇金负债高达8.78亿美元,并在新冠肺炎COVID-19疫情期间受到严重影响。在新冠肺炎引发的停业浪潮中,速汇金被迫关闭旗下多家实体店铺,导致汇款业务举步维艰。

虽然速汇金的数字交易额因此增长,但仅占其2020年第1季度汇款业务总额18%。然而,就在Bloomberg爆出西联汇款有意收购速汇金这条消息后不久,速汇金的股价随即飚升50%左右,截至发稿时速汇金国际(MGI)的股价已上扬33%。

瑞波将受何影响?

瑞波持有速汇金9.95%的股份,并且双方曾于2019年6月17日签署了一份为期两年的战略合作协议。

根据当时宣布此战略合作的新闻原稿介绍,速汇金将使用瑞波产品xRapid(一种按需流动性解决方案,通过允许资金从一种货币汇出,并立即以目标货币结算,从而降低对预先融资的依赖)。然而,速汇金董事长兼首席执行官亚历山大·霍尔姆斯(Alexander Holmes)近期的评论却透露,瑞波还没有在合作中找到产品与市场的最佳契合点(PMF)。

霍尔姆斯表示,瑞波没有在第1季度为速汇金带来很大价值。

他说,“从真正开始向市场推出全新产品、扩展服务范畴的意义上说,我认为第1季度的行情较为淡静”。

“随着瑞波不断扩展服务,进行局部调整,双方也在继续磨合,我们希望准确了解瑞波真正的需求、产品特色与体验、以及他们希望如何将产品推向不同的市场。因此我认为,随着时间的推移,目前的状况会发生变化。我们所做的努力在每个季度、每个月都会取得新的进展。”

目前来看,瑞波似乎还在不断进行调整,这样一来不免让人担忧该公司自己都还未确定其产品前景和运作方式。

谁会向合作伙伴付费?

尽管速汇金与瑞波已是合作伙伴,但还不清楚双方将如何为彼此增值,特别是考虑到霍尔姆斯近期的表态。

作为协议的一部分,瑞波须向速汇金投资5千万美元。另外大家也都知道,瑞波还需要每个季度向速汇金支付费用。

2020年第4季度,瑞波向速汇金支付了1,130万美元的瑞波币(XRP)。为合伙关系向合作伙伴付费的情形实属罕见,瑞波因此备受瞩目。如果西联汇款决意收购速汇金,那将会有许多看点,因为瑞波不仅与速汇金存在合作关系,还持有速汇金不少股权。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Western Union wants to snap up MoneyGram—so what happens to Ripple?

Western Union has reportedly made an offer to buy MoneyGram, another money transfer service provider that has a business partnership with Ripple.

MoneyGram is struggling

MoneyGram has $878 million worth of debt and has been hit hard by the COVID-19 pandemic. MoneyGram’s brick and mortar locations were forced to close during the coronavirus shutdown, and as a result, the money transfer service has struggled.

Although this had led to an increase in MoneyGram’s digital transactions, the amount of MoneyGram’s digital transactions only accounted for 18% of its total money transfers in Q1 2020. However, shortly after Bloomberg broke the news about Western Union looking to acquire MoneyGram, shares of MoneyGram increased by roughly 50%, at the time of writing $MGI is up 33%.

What does this mean for Ripple?

Ripple owns 9.95% of MoneyGram and signed a two-year strategic business deal with MoneyGram on June 17, 2019.

According to the original press release that announced the strategic partnership, MoneyGram uses Ripple’s “xRapid product, a solution for on-demand liquidity, which reduces reliance on pre-funding by enabling money to be sent from one currency and instantly settled in the destination currency.” However, recent comments made by MoneyGram chairman and chief executive, Alexander Holmes show that Ripple has not quite found their product-market-fit in their MoneyGram partnership yet. 

According to Holmes, Q1 was not a very active quarter in terms of Ripple providing value to MoneyGram.

“I would say it was a little bit of a relatively quiet quarter, in the sense of really pushing anything particularly new into the market or expanding the service,” said Holmes.

“We continue to flex with them as they continue to expand the service and move some things around, and really figure out what they want, the product to look and feel like, and how they want to take that to various markets. So I think it’ll change over time. I think the results of what we’re doing will vary by quarter and by month.”

From the looks of it, there seems to be continuous changes being made on Ripple’s end. So much so, that it seems like they are uncertain of what they envision the product to look like and how they want it to operate.

Who pays their partners?

Although MoneyGram and Ripple are business partners, it is unclear how the two add value to one another—especially given the recent statement made by Holmes.

As part of the business agreement, Ripple had to invest $50 million into MoneyGram. It is also well-known that Ripple continually pays MoneyGram every quarter.

In Q4 2020, Ripple paid MoneyGram $11.3 million in XRP. It is unusual for a business to pay its partners for the partnership and Ripple has drawn a lot of media attention for doing so. It will be interesting to see what happens with Ripple if Western Union does decide to acquire MoneyGram, Ripple’s partner company in which they have a significant ownership stake in.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.