委内瑞拉军方没收了315台挖矿设备

委内瑞拉玻利瓦尔国民警卫队(Bolivarian National Guard of Venezuela)没收了315台蚂蚁矿机(Antminer)S9 ,这些矿机来自一名涉嫌经营非法区块奖励挖矿活动的个人。这些设备的价值估计约为7.9万美元,该个人因在委内瑞拉经营未经注册的区块奖励挖矿活动可能面临1.8万美元的罚款。

委内瑞拉的区块奖励挖矿

2017年12月,区块奖励挖矿在委内瑞拉合法化。然而,运营商需要向政府注册,并从委内瑞拉国家加密资产和相关活动监管局(Superintendencia Nacional de Criptomonedas) (Sunacrip)获得其发放的牌照。这是委内瑞拉数字货币权威机构,该机构向已获得政府批准的区块奖励挖矿运营商来发放牌照。

这不是政府第一次没收矿机

这不是委内瑞拉政府第一次没收专用集成电路(ASIC)挖矿设备。2019年9月,委内瑞拉警方在两个人的车上发现了9台比特大陆(Bitmain) S9和T10挖矿设备,随后拘留了这两个人。经过调查,警方发现这两个人没有“适当的证件”来经营一个区块链奖励挖矿活动,并没收了他们的设备。

运营商值得冒这个险吗?

当地新闻媒体Criptonoticias称,即使个人拥有政府颁发的牌照,政府允许他们挖数字货币,但这些个人也经常受到当地警方的勒索或威胁。

根据一份报告,许多国家官员参与了敲诈并非法扣押挖矿设备。一位持有政府数字货币挖矿牌照的人说,他接待警方来访的情况并不罕见,警察会问几个关于他的挖矿设备的问题,然后要求他给他们(警察)现金,这样警察就不会没收他的设备。

众所周知,委内瑞拉的政治环境和经济并不稳定。在这种情况下,政府官员腐败并且不正当地拿走数字货币挖矿设备之类的事情并不罕见。

告发警方来访的那位人士还表示,作为委内瑞拉一名持有牌照的区块奖励矿工,无论是否持有政府允许他挖掘数字货币的牌照,他永远都不知道明天或接下来的日子会发生什么。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Venezuela military confiscate 315 mining rigs

The Bolivarian National Guard of Venezuela has confiscated 315 Antminer S9s from an individual suspected of running an illegal block reward mining operation. The value of the equipment is estimated to be around $79,000, and the fine the individual could face for operating an unregistered block reward mining operation in Venezuela is $18,000.

Block reward mining in Venezuela

In December 2017, block reward mining was legalized in Venezuela. However, operators need to register with the government and secure a license from the Superintendencia Nacional de Criptomonedas (Sunacrip), Venezuela’s authoritative body for digital currency which distributes permits to block reward miners in the country that have received government approval.

This isn’t the first seizure

This isn’t the first time the Venezuelan government seized ASIC mining hardware. In September 2019, the Venezuelan police detained two individuals after they found a total of nine Bitmain S9 and T10 mining rigs in their vehicle. After an investigation, the police discovered that the two individuals did not have the “proper documentation” to run a block reward mining operation and seized their equipment. 

Is it worth the risk?

Local news outlet Criptonoticias claims that even when individuals do have a government license that allows them to mine digital currency, they are often extorted or threatened by local police.

According to one report, many state officials participate in the extortion and illegal seizure of mining equipment. One individual with a government license to mine digital currency said that it is not uncommon for him to receive visits from police officials, who ask several questions about his mining rigs and then demand that he give them (police officials) cash so that they do not have to seize his equipment.

It is well-known that the political atmosphere and economy in Venezuela are unstable. When that is the case, it is not uncommon for state officials to be corrupt and do things like wrongfully take digital currency mining equipment.

The individual who reported the visits from police officials also said that as a licensed block reward miner in Venezuela he never knows what will happen tomorrow or the next day, regardless of his government license that permits him to mine digital currency.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.