美国在查封暗网的行动中缴获650万美元数字货币

近期,在一次最大规模的暗网市场查封行动中,美国政府逮捕179人,缴获650万美元现金与数字货币。在2019年5月开始的一次行动中,美国政府还缴获500千克毒品与63件枪械。

2019年,美国与德国政府端掉了华尔街市场(Wall Street Market——暗网上最大的非法在线市场之一。这次查封让相关机构获得情报,进而开始了一系列后续调查。17个月后,这些调查最终以全球抓捕179人而全面高捷,其中121人在美国被捕,42人在德国被捕,8人在荷兰被捕,另外4人在英国被捕。

欧洲刑警组织新闻发布官Claire Georges告诉《连线》杂志(Wired):“[华尔街市场]向我们供述了查实今天被捕嫌犯所需要的全部信息。”

这场被称为“DisrupTor”的行动(Tor让许多人可以匿名通过浏览器来访问暗网),端掉了不断壮大的暗网网络,这些网络参与了欧洲与美国数万起非法商品销售。

美国司法部在其声明中透露,缴获了650万美元现金与数字货币。在洛杉矶,美国司法部(DoJ)“鸦片犯罪与暗网联合执法”(JCODE)专案组查处了一个向35个州兜售非法毒品的团伙。该专案组还缴获了价值160万美元的数字货币。

此外,相关机构还在全球缴获500千克毒品,其中一半在美国被缴获。一些被缴获的毒品包括可卡因、海洛因、脱氧麻黄碱、摇头丸、芬太尼和氧可酮。

美国司法部、美国联邦调查局(FBI)、美国缉毒局、国土安全部、美国邮政署均参与了上述行动,联手欧洲刑警组织抓捕嫌犯。

美国副总检察长Jeffrey Rosen评论道:“在暗网上兜售芬太尼的犯罪分子应留心‘DisrupTor’行动。其中179人在7个国家被捕——另外缴获了他们的毒品供应与资金——表明不存在在网络空间进行毒品交易的安全天堂。”

对于执法机构来说,上述查封行动是一个重要的里程碑,但也进一步凸显了加密货币——大部分情况下是BTC,在非法在线活动中的使用情况。CoinGeek报道指出,Bitfury近期发布的报告揭示暗网中的BTC使用量在2020有所增加。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

US seizes $6.5M in digital currencies and cash in darknet takedown

The United States government has arrested 179 individuals and seized $6.5 million in cash and digital currencies in one of the largest darknet market takedowns in recent times. In an operation that started in May 2019, the government also seized 500 kilograms of drugs and 63 firearms.

In 2019, the U.S. and German governments brought down Wall Street Market, one of the largest illegal online markets on the dark web. This takedown gave the authorities intelligence that sparked a series of follow-up investigations. Seventeen months later, these investigations have culminated in the arrest of 179 people globally, with 121 being arrested in the U.S, 42 in Germany, 8 in the Netherlands and 4 in the United Kingdom.

“It [Wall Street Market] provided us with all the information which led to the identification of those arrested today,” Europol press officer Claire Georges told Wired.

Known as Operation DisrupTor—a play on the anonymous Tor browser which many use to access the dark web—it brought down a thriving dark web network that engaged in tens of thousands of sales of illegal goods in Europe and the U.S.

In its statement, the Justice Department revealed that it had seized $6.5 million in cash and digital currencies. In Los Angeles, the DoJ’s Joint Criminal Opioid and Darknet Enforcement (JCODE) task force brought down a ring that was selling illicit drugs to 35 states. The task force also seized $1.6 million in digital currencies.

In addition, authorities seized 500 kilograms of drugs globally, with half of this being seized in the U.S. Some of the seized drugs were cocaine, heroin, methamphetamine, ecstasy, fentanyl and oxycodone.

The DoJ, the FBI, the Drug Enforcement Authority, Homeland Security, the Postal Service were all involved in the operation, partnering with Europol to take down the criminals.

U.S. Deputy Attorney General Jeffrey Rosen remarked, “Criminals selling fentanyl on the Darknet should pay attention to Operation DisrupTor. The arrest of 179 of them in seven countries—with the seizure of their drug supplies and their money as well—shows that there will be no safe haven for drug dealing in cyberspace.”

While the takedown was a big milestone for law enforcement agencies, it further highlights the use of cryptocurrencies, in most cases BTC, in illicit online activities. As CoinGeek reported, a recent report by Bitfury revealed that the use of BTC in the dark web has increased in 2020.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.