美国国会议员希望获得与恐怖主义有关的大规模数字货币突击搜捕的更多信息

两名民主党人要求白宫提供关于近期一次大规模数字货币查封的详情,这笔数字货币与全球最大的恐怖组织之一有关。

国会议员乔希·戈特海默(Josh Gottheimer)和伊曼纽尔·克里弗(Emanuel Cleaver)要求美国内阁报告有关此次查封的更多信息,据悉,此次查封影响了“基地”组织(al-Qaeda)、伊斯兰国组织(ISIS)和卡萨姆旅组织(al-Qassam)这几个恐怖组织持有的BTC

此次突击号称是“史上最大规模查封恐怖主义加密货币的行动”,价值高达“数百万美元”,影响了300多个与恐怖组织有关的账户。

据《国会山报(The Hill)》报道,几名国会议员要求,政府“极有必要”向国家安全、国际发展和货币政策小组委员会的成员提供有关此事的充分简报。

“这是有史以来查封的最大金额的网络恐怖分子融资,所以极有必要由司法部和财政部向国家安全、国际发展和货币政策小组委员会成员提供适当的国家机密级别的简报。”

他们还表示,财政部应该发布一份评估报告,内容需要包括应对此类金融犯罪的处理方法和为了防止数字货币用于恐怖主义融资所采取的措施。

“这样能够让小组委员会深入了解应该采取哪些立法行动,从而为监管机构和执法机构提供适当的资源和工具,继续解决非法使用加密货币问题和打击恐怖组织的金融网络。”

执法机构应该对此消息不感意外,因为近年来,越来越多的恐怖主义组织转为使用数字货币躲避金融处罚。事情就发生在监管机构的眼皮底下,这无疑加重了立法机构的压力,促使其提高数字货币的透明度和管控力度。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

US lawmakers want more info on massive terrorism-linked digital currency bust

Two Democrats have asked the White House to provide further details on a recent significant seizure of digital currencies, which has been linked to one of the world’s largest terrorist organizations.

Lawmakers Josh Gottheimer and Emanuel Cleaver asked the U.S. cabinet to report more information about the seizure, which reportedly affected the BTC holdings of terrorist groups al-Qaeda, ISIS, and al-Qassam.

Described as the “largest-ever terrorist seizure of cryptocurrencies” with values running into “millions of dollars”, the bust affected some 300 accounts linked to the terrorist groups.

In their request, as reported by The Hill, the lawmakers said that it was vital members of the Subcommittee on National Security, International Development and Monetary Policy were sufficiently briefed by the administration on the matter.

“It is vital that Members of the Subcommittee on National Security, International Development and Monetary Policy receive a briefing, at the appropriate classification level, on this action, the largest ever seizure of online terrorist financing, from the Department of Justice, the Department of the Treasury on this investigation.”

They went on to say the Treasury should publish an assessment of its approach to tackling financial crimes of this nature, and of the controls in place to prevent digital currency being used for terrorism financing purposes.

“This will further inform the Subcommittee on what legislative actions we should be undertaking to provide regulators and law enforcement the proper resources and tools to continue to address the illicit use of cryptocurrency and disrupt terrorist organizations’ financial networks.”

The news will likely come as little surprise to law enforcement agencies, with terrorist groups increasingly turning to digital currency in recent years to evade financial sanctions. Flying under the radar of the authorities, the matter is increasing pressure on lawmakers to improve transparency and control in digital currency markets.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]